Moonstar Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 (edited) Recently, i notice a lot of water slipping from under my Lancer carriage. After i reverse park my car in the MSCP, i can see a watery trail from behind my car until the MSCP entrance. This has been happening for the past 1 month liao. Everytime i park the car, i see a watery trail behind. It doesnt come in single drips, but like a slighty open water tap...........quite a lot of water. Sometimes, a pool will form underneath. Its always the same, whether its after driving 10 mins or 1 hour. Can any bros advise me whats wrong ? I took my ride on 14 Oct 2005. Just did 5k servicing last month. Edited April 18, 2006 by Moonstar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 good to check if your radiator is leaking, or if a coolant pipe is leaking. do you monitor your engine temp. levels? my 5 year old lancer last time radiator busted exactly same symptoms. but yours quite new... could be something less serious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonstar Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Author Share April 18, 2006 (edited) Im a bit novice in terms of car maintenance. Does the radiator contain water? It cant be condense water from the air mositure via air-con right? Cos its awful a lot of water to leak. The engine temp is still normal....even after 2 hours of driving. But the water trail is always there. Want to find my car is so easy....just follow the water trail. Edited April 18, 2006 by Moonstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evildoer Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 its due to the air con sys...even my 3 month old civic leak like a bitch in heat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonstar Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Author Share April 18, 2006 Does that mean...the air-con is spolit or it needs servicing ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 as long as your engine temps are okay then shouldn't be a radiator leak. it could be because of a lot of condensation around certain parts of your car then.... but do check your coolant levels/engine temp. levels to be sure... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 It's aircon condensate. Look underneath. You should see a rubber tube sticking out from which the water drips. To test, drive without aircon and see if there's water when you come to a stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evildoer Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 (edited) no...condesation of vapour turn to water... bentwy seems to know wat he's toking about... usually leak occur on wet weather....try checking for leak on a hot dry weather.... if still have...then go for a check up... or u can switch off air-con and drive for about 30 mins...then check Edited April 18, 2006 by Evildoer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 (edited) If it is radiator, the fluid will be colored. See what color it is. Yes, use your finger and dip to find out. Feel if it is oily. If it is red and oily, then it is ATF. If it feels watery and colored, it is coolant. If it is brown-black and oily, it is engine lube. If it is water and colorless, it is A/C condensate. Edited April 18, 2006 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Hi, As mentioned by those member's feedback to your post. Try to check for all those water contained stuff for leaking. Radiator, Spare coolant reservoir, sprayer's tank. That is what I can think of which contain water. If you suspect you air con got problem. step 1: Try to drive as normal without switching on your air con and see if the same problem occur. If still got water... than must be one of the water tank is leaking or the seal of the water pump is faulty. But usually, this will causes temp to increase. Step 2: Switch on the air con and drive as per normal. Stop the car without switching off the engine and air con. Lift up the bonnet to check on the air con piping. The piping is wet or have water mark, that is normal. If you observe that the air con piping turn whitish, that means it's NOT normal. Because it was frozen. The hugh amount of water on the floor is usually from the defroze from the air con piping after you switch off the air con and turn off the engine. For step 2, Sent it to a air con specialist to check on the thermostat. The thermostat control the air con temperate in the cabin and it should sent a signal to the compressor to cut off or to stop when the temperature when it hit at a certain cooling point and turn on the compressor when the temperature raise up to certain point. Example: Cut off at 10 deg.C, turn on at 15 deg.C. If this mechanism is faulty. Wrong signal will be send to the compressor and causes the compressor to over work. That's why the cooling is keep on supplying to the cabin. It could be vice versa. If your car is still under warranty. Send back to C&C and get them to check and replace the necessary stuff. I know a air con specialise in Jurong area. Their checking is FOC and usually will advise what is neccesary to be done. If you don't stay in west area. Than try to locate a air con specialise around your area to get them do it for you. For a traditional thermostat will not cost more than $100. That usually are used on older type of cars. Most new car uses electronic thermostat and it could cost more than $100. Good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moonstar Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Author Share April 18, 2006 Wah-say....didint know a water leak can ballon into so many possibilities. Thanks for the advises. I will check tonight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecity Neutral Newbie April 18, 2006 Share April 18, 2006 Unless it's really only the water tank lor. Water tank cheaper mah. But must see wat water tank hor. Radiator not cheap hor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...