Wintersonata Clutched January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 Wow, like that every 3 years got to spend a few $K to change the battery? Additional expenses that eats into any fuel cost savings man... Sian liao... Based on current fuel price of $1.501 for Shell 95 and assuming battery is about $3k... $3k/$1.501 = ~2000L worth of petrol... Can we save more than 2000L worth of petrol within 3 years? Working backwards, can we save 55L of petrol per month (2000L/3*12months)? 55L is about one full tank of a 2L car or 1.5 full tank of a 1.5L car... Possible? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theman Clutched January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 Hi, According to Honda source, the battery for Hybrid is designed for use for 10 yrs, so, do not requrie to replace every few years, even thought the battery is flat, the car can be driven as normal car, and the servicing can be done in the normal workshop (except the battery lah). Have u heard of the car sharing called Honda Diracc, their fleet are all hybrid, has been used for more than 5 yrs already, they are using the 1st generation civic hybrid. But read from article, Prius can save more petrol, coz they bettery power more. For me, i will take Civic loh, coz of the look and space, but FC not as good as Prius. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 Tested both and my findings are as follow: Toyota Prius: Pros: Torquier (400Nm), quieter, quicker, can run entirely electric mode, comfy ride, rear seats foldable, technologically advanced with high powered electric motors and Atkinson's Cycle engine, cool display, cool looks. Cons: Lightweight interior build quality, thin and small seats, no leather option, single CD player, costs at least 10k more than Civic Hybrid. Honda Civic Hybrid: Pros: Spacious and well built interior, firm handling, standard leather seats, good pricing, feels little different from a normal ICE car. Cons: 1.3L engine struggles on full engine load, noisy, hard ride, dont feel special enough. Conclusion: Prius by far the more engaging and entertaining drive, and imo looks so much cooler than the common Civic. However the Civic's cabin is more habitable. But end of the day, its a tough choice cos of the vast price difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djcoolmax 2nd Gear January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 I think the looks of Prius is subjective. Not the most pleasing thing to see on the road but def very noticeable. I would choose the Civic for a more "normal" look... better resale value also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged January 22, 2007 Share January 22, 2007 Oh does anyone who owns a Prius share with us the real life FC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wintersonata Clutched January 24, 2007 Share January 24, 2007 Any owners of honda or toyota hybrid can share their experiences here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear January 25, 2007 Share January 25, 2007 (edited) 'vs' many times liao, no doubt 'H' badge will win[laugh] Edited January 25, 2007 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spyder79 3rd Gear January 25, 2007 Share January 25, 2007 The civic hybrid battery cost ard $1.8k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear January 26, 2007 Share January 26, 2007 Sorry for digging up an old thread... Saw on the newspaper today about the Honda Civic Hybrid 1.3L selling at ~$68k... With advertised fuel economy of 21KM/L... Any bros with feedback is welcome... i also read that.... but it depends on the test conditions that they used to achieve 21km/l... i dun think it can be achieved in local conditions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 People, dont know whether i m rite, what i know is that Honda's hybrid is an IMA system which the electric suplements the "power" from the engine when called for and thats why they tout it as something like a 1.3 engine having a power of 1.8 litre engine but sipping petrol like a 1.0 litre car. That is to say, if u drive like normal, instead of say 10 km/l, u get something like 12 to 14km/l that kind of thing... whereas for Toyota Prius, it is a different system altogether, if i m not wrong, it works like engine being a supplement than the electric being a supplement, look at the Lexus. If u r one looking for hybrid, then i think u should be looking at the green side and in this case, i think the toyota makes more sense. If looks and stuff take the centre stage, i suggest better not hybrid at all and go for something gorgeous, the Si is a better choice! yes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 i also not sure... i never really read throughly into the specs for each car i only know both are hybrids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spyder79 3rd Gear January 30, 2007 Share January 30, 2007 Lexus hybrid road tax is based on the kw of the engine, as for toyota n honda is based on the CC of the engine.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...