Does Bikers deserve better respect?

Typhoon125

Other than in asia, i have never seen a m/cycle go between 2 moving cars... Personally i go out of my way to make sure a m/cyclist is safe, but that move is just plain dangerous coz if the driver doesnt notice the m/cycle in his blindspot... well lets just hope for the best for the m/cyclist

I believe as road users we shld all lookout for others on the road. [flowerface]

I'm still riding at this moment, I oso have the habit of going in between 2 cars and I always find it dangerous though especially if any one car decide to change lane without checking. [jawdrop]

The only thing could do is to anticipate any sudden moves and if really not comfortable than slow down lor. [sunny]

Most bikers here cut in between cars, drive on the white line (which is very dangerious), So i don't think so, they should give more respect to the cars.

The main issue for most riders is that they like to ride in between lanes. My advice to my rider friends is that,

"Please ride in the center of the lane, just like how you will drive a car. You have the right and you are much safer."

I remember a few days ago i was driving behind a rider riding in middle of our lane. At the red light, he stoped in front of me - in the middle of the lane too. So he behaved like how a car should be driven. For that, i respect him.

I drove past him, gave him a thumps-up, and i can see his smile underneath his helmet.

Took delivery of my 600cc, 183kg, 98 BHP, bike last week! Really put a GRIN on my face during the weekend. [sly][sly] , Fun factor is very good! So decided to ride yesterday to office. In the morning, at the tampines traffic light junction, i came from behind and stop in between a white altis on my right and a cab on my left. Was half a bike lenght in front of the altis.

Altis inch forward to be side by side with me and closed his gap between us. He was so close I can rest on feet on his bumper. I did nothing to upset him. Dont think he exited with me along PIE. Light turn green and he sped off and cut into the centre lane. On the next traffic junction decided to stay behind. Was tempted to let him smell smoke but decided not to. Been riding since 1988. Honestly, not much changes when it comes to the safety of bikers from other road users.

I drive too, but when i ride, it's very different, when a roaduser is filtering right, chances are they will let me go first if i am driving but if I am riding, most of the time, they can see me coming, but they just go ahead. Hope I am wrong but there are alot of other incidents from vans to bus to cars and trucks.

I am neutral, but let me know, why are there drivers whom feel that bikers deserve less respect?

1. IMHO, no car drivers like a bike to squeeze their way through or compete for space on the same lane.

2. Can't they just ride like a car, keep to the center of the lane? Squeezing their way through is illegal but staying within lane is good practice. Anyway, TP also do that, who is to be blamed?

Regards,

Hi Typhoon,

I believe it works both ways on the respect issue.

For safety, a driver has responsibility to ensure that the rider is not endangered by his driving.

HOWEVER, as much as a driver tries, the car is bigger than the bike, it would be as much as the reponsibility of the bikers as well as the drivers to ensure that they do not put themselves in danger. While the bikes can think about dodging the car, the car cannot dodge a bike.

Being a driver yourself, you do have the benefit of both perspectives. Have you had harrowing experiences with bikes squeezing past you on BOTH sides while you're travelling at about 60? What about the riders who insist on being in front of the entire column of cars at the traffic light just to slow down the heavy traffic even more eventually? What about riders who insist that travelling on the inside of a turning lane is a given right, while drivers are faulted regardless when the unfortunate happens in a side collision?

My appeal to all riders, NO ONE wants trouble, NO ONE wants to get hurt. Please help US to help YOU make the road a safer place.

[:)]

Bro, i give my views on this topic ok?

Well i drive every morning along thomson road which everyone knows is alway heavy with lots of traffic. Therefore, you will see everyone is tailgating each other or the most 1 car or 1/2 a car's length from the car infront.

What really puts me off is bikers that like to zig zag here and there. Especially those that suddenly cut in between lanes and into the lane i am travelling on. As there is not enough space infront for them to cut, they will tend to jam their brake to slow down due to the speed that they came behind from. This results in me having to jam my brake as well. If not i will kiss their tyres!!

So i do feel bikers deserve better respect but do majority of the bikers respect other road users in the first place. I am sure they don't teach bikers to travel in between cars and zig zag here and there. They can overtake by all means if they signal and check their blind spots rather then just cut into the lane thinking that the car behind him would slow down.

Correct me if i am wrong but i feel most mentality of bikers are that bikes are small so we do not have to wait in line with the cars if there is a jam and can squeeze thru.

Not pinpointing any bikers but i feel we should all drive and ride safe.

bro, I consciously look out for bikers and give way to them. But there are also many bikers who don't respect themselves swerving in and out dangeorously.

It's like an everyday affair.

Yesterday, I was halfway filtering. The bike behind me also filter and speed up next to me. If I take things for granted, I wld have bang into him. Why can't he just let me finish filtering?

This morning PIE, another biker ride in and out of lane 1 & 2 at 70. both cars at lane 1 & 2 cannot overtake him safely. Lane 1 short-tap him, he stare like the cars are in the wrong.

I feel there are more bad riders than good ones out there.

Sometimes I just feel that I value their life more than they value theirs. shakehead.gif

Sometimes I just feel that I value their life more than they value theirs.

I share this feeling. [shakehead]

The problem is no Bike will be booked for squeezing through lanes conveniently in this country. When I ride, I will try to keep to the center of the lane. Knowing both sides of the coin, I know biker is a very fragile animal on the road.

Regards,

Took delivery of my 600cc, 183kg, 98 BHP, bike last week! Really put a GRIN on my face during the weekend. [sly][sly] , Fun factor is very good! So decided to ride yesterday to office. In the morning, at the tampines traffic light junction, i came from behind and stop in between a white altis on my right and a cab on my left. Was half a bike lenght in front of the altis.

Altis inch forward to be side by side with me and closed his gap between us. He was so close I can rest on feet on his bumper. I did nothing to upset him. Dont think he exited with me along PIE. Light turn green and he sped off and cut into the centre lane. On the next traffic junction decided to stay behind. Was tempted to let him smell smoke but decided not to. Been riding since 1988. Honestly, not much changes when it comes to the safety of bikers from other road users.

I drive too, but when i ride, it's very different, when a roaduser is filtering right, chances are they will let me go first if i am driving but if I am riding, most of the time, they can see me coming, but they just go ahead. Hope I am wrong but there are alot of other incidents from vans to bus to cars and trucks.

I am neutral, but let me know, why are there drivers whom feel that bikers deserve less respect?

Hey! I respect bikers even though I dun ride a bike. Cos I feel that the biker is more vunerable as compared to a driver in a car, truck, bus etc.

I would always give way to bikers not bcos it's more difficult to push the signal button on the bike. One mistake is all that takes for an accident to happen.

Sure. There will be reckless bikers but same go for drivers too.

For those ppl u've mentioned most likely have ego issues.

So dun do things onto others if u dun wan the same being done to u.

Something similar happen to me on filtering also.

I was on a single lane entering to PIE. Everyone was behind queueing to enter as it was a heavy traffic. When i see a chance, i start moving out. All of a sudden, a bike appeared out from the queue and i nearly knock him down. And he even horn at me as he pass me.

i respect bikers provided they take care of their safety..

i've seen bikes that don't on headlight, no tailight.. suddenly pop out from behind when i see clear through my mirror and checked blindspots etc.. quite dangerous..

but most of the time, i tend to give way to them.. they are quite vulnerable.. [:/]

Yes, that's the thing I hate about bikers.

I've signaled, filtered 1/2 half way into the lane, the bikers which was 2~3 car length behind will speed up in front of me! This happens 90% of the time.

The was once when I was in a car park, reversing 1/2 way into a lot, this no brain biker chose to squeeze behind me causing me to jam brake [hur] There was so much space in front of my car yet his doesn't want to ride infront and by squeezing behind, he is actually going against the traffic direction [rifle]