Reason for changing to 3M Nomad Car Mats or equivalent

Glyuen

hiya

The mats are great [thumbsup] ! Worth every cent i paid for... i have no regrets getting the mat for my MPV, custom cut to fit all the way from front row to the boot for nearly $200. Why? coz they're dam easy to clean.

like what one bro here says, if u got kids and they throw up on the mat, no worries - they're waterproof, so your car floor will not get affected. Just take the affected piece out, run some soapy water over it then rinse with plain water, smack it upside-down hard a couple of time over a concrete surface, wipe-dry the smooth bottom area that is in contact with your car floor, then put back into car straightaway!!!

i cannot imagine the factory carpets getting vomit over them... will be a nightmare to clean...

Also, they trap fine sand and dirt inconspicuously, so you don't have sand rolling around or need to clear the mat so often.

I'm basically using the car alone and have no small children to worry about vomitting... in this case does it make sense to spend the money?

i mean traps dirt.. cleans easily and saves many hassels u clean lesser too. why not? maybe not the boot area but the back 3 pc and frnt 2. should cost too much.

Do you guys take out the original mat when putting 3M mat?

Or you just lay it over the original one?

I did the latter coz I dun wanna stuff my storeroom with the original mat

well, it's a choice based on your usage pattern, e.g. do u or your passengers eat/drink in the car? if you enforce clean habits in your car, and you have regular interior maintenance (either elf or pay to do) of course no need to spend money on the mats... but if you cannot control your passengers, then it'll make your life easier to have those 3M or 3M-like type of flooring... [thumbsup]

Edited by Bigtoothpick

I'm basically using the car alone and have no small children to worry about vomitting... in this case does it make sense to spend the money?

My orginal mats is almost 5 it is still good as I am single no kids to mess it. I don't think I will change the mats unless they go.

Edited by Princey_anne

My last original 3M last me almost 5 years before the driver side torn due to my shoe heel friction but the rest of the mats was still in very good conditon

i kiasu, put 1 additional leftover piece + an old 3M Nomad mat under pedals... think i put somemore cannot operate pedals liao [laugh]

is it only 3M mats which are able to trap dust better?

tot those imitation ones cannot do it as well as 3M...

I think it depends on which imitation types u get - they can range from quite low quality (usually thin and therefore don't trap dirt well, or not durable) to quite good ones. The shop i went to specializes in such carpeting - they do for all applications including offices, factories etc. U can have a large variety (types and colours) to choose from. The one i'm using is 3-M replica, not original, mid-range price. It is printed "Made In Japan" at the bottom so far works very well.

Where did you get it from? And how much it is? May want to get them too.

Edited by Dtnlb

i got from Princeton Marketing, located somewhere in Toh Guan. I lost the contact info liao. They brand their material as Lune Mat, but actually they seem to get from diferent sources/factories.

Price-wise, depends on what u choose. And mine was MPV, had 3 rows of carpeting plus boot.. came up to just under $200 if i remember correctly.. i actually spent a bit more than i had planned but no regrets leh.... washed vomit twice in less than 1 year [:|]

Edited by Bigtoothpick