Felipe 3rd Gear April 10, 2006 Share April 10, 2006 i cant help but feel the mark x is the choice as long as its about 30-40k cheaper. went to view it last wkend w a fren. din test but the v6 sounds pretty fierce. as for badge, well, those who get the is250 might as well get a 320 for a similar price, albeit lower spec. but then since they cost the same, ure not exactly losing out in getting bmw whch gives u shiitloads of image. as for mark x, its a whopping 30k cheaper and its absolutely ridiculous to pay for a lexus which is nowhere near a merc or a bmw in terms of image. drive into sm place near a club and i cant see how the lexus outshines the bmw. so specswise, mark x wins. ok the is250 is a better handler. but wats the point wen its not as fast off the line? overall , the mark x may still be the clear winner and its not like those who buy dare to blow it at the corners. & image, 30k more doesnt justify the image a lexus can give. & the mark x doesnt look tat bad compared to the lexus. its a no brainer at the price ure paying. PI problems?? well, no one needs to noe that buying a jap car, PI or not, esp from toyota is as gd as buying a car that doesnt need warranty. maybe other conti brands better not get PI. but so many of my frens get PI jap cars and none have issues. of cos after 4-5 years, if issues crop up, tats another matter lah which happens to any car anyway. just my thoughts ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 10, 2006 Share April 10, 2006 the price alone will decide which car to buy. So, rich guys(or those who want to look rich) buy lexus, not so rich guys(or dont really care about looking rich) buy markx lor. Its like buying a Tag Heuer watch & expecting to get the same respect as a Patek. No way, cannot be compared. To each his own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear April 10, 2006 Share April 10, 2006 ure rite abt that. so if sm1 wants to get a mark x and bmw...its pretty clear. just tat i dont quite see a clear distinction between lexus and higher end toyota models. a patek is in a different league of its own from a tag, ala bmw and toyota. lexus and toyota...hmm...actually my point is those who spend it on the is250 for image y not go for the bmw instead at the same price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gh05tss Neutral Newbie April 10, 2006 Share April 10, 2006 It might be just a word - Fanboy. For me I will go for the Mark X coz this is the 1st car from Toyota I think it really CMI, Can Make It. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched April 10, 2006 Share April 10, 2006 (edited) http://www.autozine.org/html/Toyota/Mark_X.htmlNice IS250 vs Mark X writeup ......it say the BMW 5 series, & Audi A6 are tops in this class where Mark X is. But the Alfa 166 is rate same as Mark X.........sheeeesh. Edited April 10, 2006 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched April 10, 2006 Share April 10, 2006 can i ask sumting? why ur signature got this: Vit4wd ah vit4wd, let me share with you my favourite phrase...'人聪明就好,不要太聪明' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gh05tss Neutral Newbie April 10, 2006 Share April 10, 2006 Look for the thread regards to ExxonMobil solo fare hike, look under member Vit3wd, u will have a good idea abt it. Promise the Mod Gad not to talk abt it anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinesenew Neutral Newbie April 11, 2006 Share April 11, 2006 Did you compare it with the new JDM Camry? I parked next to one Silver one a few days ago.. it looked nice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear April 11, 2006 Share April 11, 2006 Then please for goodness sake, don't ever talk about it anymore. It's seriously getting tiring to sift through a thread only to find a whole exchange not-so-subtly hinting at the past. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gh05tss Neutral Newbie April 12, 2006 Share April 12, 2006 For goodness sake is the reason why I not bring up and for goodness sake don't ask Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanr 1st Gear April 12, 2006 Share April 12, 2006 cool,bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gh05tss Neutral Newbie April 12, 2006 Share April 12, 2006 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 12, 2006 Share April 12, 2006 mmmm....kinda agree wif wad u said too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetycar Neutral Newbie April 12, 2006 Share April 12, 2006 the price alone will decide which car to buy. So, rich guys(or those who want to look rich) buy lexus, not so rich guys(or dont really care about looking rich) buy markx lor. Its like buying a Tag Heuer watch & expecting to get the same respect as a Patek. No way, cannot be compared. To each his own. ======================================================= LOL......... Eh... You must be a young chap ya?? I think that's not the point we're driving at pertaining to the conclusion of Choice. For your info... I'm sure a lot of Bros here and in MyCarForum can afford much more than a Lexus.... Hee... Some Wise Man also chooses a 2006 New Camry instead... Cheers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 13, 2006 Share April 13, 2006 LOL n u must b a v old man not to know power of imaging & branding placement. Its like comparing Creative & Apple MP3 players. Apple invests alot in branding & marketing, whereas Creative needs a complete image change(they are too Singaporean in mentality liao).. share prices dropping everyday.. read the securities analysts equity forecasts, they lost out just on bad marketing, product placement & public perceptions that its a backwards 80s idealogy company with no interest in produc design reinvention & new initiatives spearheading. This is my own opinion lah. To a certain extent, risks have to be taken to achieve certain targets in life, be it financial or personal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeje008 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2006 Share April 16, 2006 (edited) One bro here stated that the image of Lexus is in no way near the beemers and the mercs. Is that just you personal subjective opinion? To me, the Lexus has already achieved an image very close to the beemers and the mercs. In fact, when thinking of the IS250, many buyers (and I really mean MANY) will have the beemer 3-series immediately come into mind as a contender. Nobody even talks about the Merc C-Class anymore, when it comes to choosing between the IS250 or the 3-series. My personal opinion is that in 10 years (or less), Lexus will do what the BMW had done to Merc over the last 10 years or so - becoming an ever-stronger competitior, then surpass the BMW's sales figures. The image of Lexus is now unsurpassable by any other Jap cars. Again, this image thingy is just my personal opinion - and as I had said, is very subjective. And as one bro had put it, buying cars is more often than not an emotional decision and cannot be compared spec-to-spec. To reinforce my point, if you want to compare spec-to-spec, the BMW 323 (and not to mention the sibei-underpowered 320) is a much worse car than the IS250. So going by the system of spec-to-spec comparison, are some of the bros here suggesting that the potential buyers of 323 (or 320) should buy the Mark X rather than the BMW 323 or 320? C'mon, there are much more factors other than on-paper specs that rule a car-buying decision. My point is, when one is at the level of buying a Lexus, his other choices will could well be a beemer or merc. Yes the on-paper spec of a Mark X might be sligtly better, but I doubt a Lexus buyer will even want to look back at a Toyota. I had seen both the interiors of the Mark X and the IS250. I really cannot comprehend why some bros stated that the Mark X's interior is better than the IS250. Yes the interior of the Mark X is good, no doubt. But just look at the attention paid to the detailing of an IS250. You mean to say that the leather, the trim of the Mark X is better than the IS250? C'mon. And one bro actually said that the panels used in an IS250 is not that good (as compared to dunno-which-car)?! Wahlao I really doubt if you had really viewed the IS250. Bros who had not seen both the Mark X and the IS250 - please make some time to see them both. I dare say there is a clear winner in the IS250. And as one bro had put it already: if I want to buy a Lotus Exige, are some of the bros here suggesting that the Toyota Celica should be a better choice "because they share the same engine that churns out 190 horses - somemore the Celica is bigger and more spacious"? Duh... Edited April 16, 2006 by Jeje008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edrollbrick Neutral Newbie April 16, 2006 Share April 16, 2006 Interrior of the Mark X at best is Ok. But the IS250 is much better made, every detail is properly looked at. Only the transmission tunnel put me off. OItherwise, would have ben my top choice. BMW3, the car to competer with, still a very good choice for most especially when the car is less than 3 years old. Do belive reliability will not be able to beat the Lexus/Toyotas The merc C, well the new one will be something to look at, too bad it won't be here till some time mnext year, otherwise will be a definte option to consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeje008 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2006 Share April 16, 2006 Yes bro. I do agree that the transmission tunnel is a bit too high (and big), making the IS250 more of a 2+2 rather than a 2+3. But it's really very driver-oriented, and the driver and the front passenger should be very happy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...