Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 6, 2002 Share January 6, 2002 (edited) Lightspeed has some bad experiences with Pin Liang while many are singing their praises. Anybody else visited and used Pin Liang's services got comments? Edited January 6, 2002 by Admin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched January 6, 2002 Share January 6, 2002 (edited) Well.. here's what happened 1st time was when my ICE had something wrong, sound came out from one speaker sometimes... loose connection or something ...As I was nearby...decided to let them have a look...drove there, stopped my car..they watched me park... Talk to the guy that something wrong with my ICE.. opened up my boot and then he told me he won't check 'cos not installed by him..asked me to go back to my installer and he just walked off. 2nd time (Don't even know why I went back 3 times! ) Went there to look for some shoulder pads and wanted them to help me fix my mud flaps bought from JB. Ask them if they fixed... asked him 3 times before he replied NO TIME without even looking at me or asking me to come back another day. I understand they might be busy, but pls be polite. He just walked off and got friendly with a middle aged man who just drove up in a Civic. 3rd time when there when my EL speedo was loose thus causing my needle to get stuck at 4000 rpm...went there (as usual nearby) and asked them to help me check. Told me to go elsewhere. Asked them where. Replied dunno. Was very pissed. And then he just walked off. 3 times I was there they showed me black face, were rude to me and didn't provide any help NOR service in a sense. Sorry. I would think that they wanna do my business when they see my "ah beng" car. But instead they didn't even bother to even talk nicely to me. Maybe I got small boy face thats why. But I've never experienced such thing with ANY other shop, especially when they see my "beng" car sorry Pin Liang supporters... but I don't think I'll go back there again unless they have something I really want which no other shop has. Edited January 6, 2002 by Lightspeed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched January 9, 2002 Share January 9, 2002 Depending on who you approach. The shop is run by 3 brothers. The big brother does finance and does not entertain customers. The 2nd brother is the problematic one, the youngest brother is the one who wear specs. Can't remember their names. Why I know about this? My brother used to work for them a few years ago, and I go there quite often to pick up my brother. I have only one good thing to say about Pin Liang, their workers are good at doing side moulding, and sunshade firms. They are pretty skillfully. As for ICE installation, I've not tried before. Generally I think the bosses like to "choose" jobs. Let me share my experience. I have bought a set of front fog lights for my car, and asked Pin Liang to install. The youngest brother suggested me to get the aftermarket switch, but I refused. I brought 2 original switches instead : 1 is for my rear de-froster, the other is the hazzard light switch. The guys went ahead to do up the wiring for the fog lights, etc, but they left the switch unwired. I was left like a fool, going around to get people to attend to the switch. In the end, I myself dismantled the switch to figure out how to do the wiring myself! In conclusion, I believe they prefer to do those standard and straightforward installations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Overboost Clutched January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 The reason.... You guys buy a product outside and want them just to install it. They do not make profit from the product you bring in. Hence, they would rather entertain clients who walk in, perhaps buy a set of speakers, make extra $$ from the sale in addition to labour charges. Snobbish it may seem but that's how these people do business. They don't really think of long-term and the opportunity that you will come again. There are so many of these shops so don't worry, just be weary!!! Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 One reason that installer be it Pin Liang or any other shops ain't really keen to install stuffs that are not bought from their shops. One reason is what Overboost has mentioned. The other is that they do not have the warranty of the product that you brought in. Say you buy a amp from A shop & go ask B shop to install. Now let's say that B shop charges you $40 for the installation. Simple ? Yes if the amp does not goes kaput....what happen if it goes kaput in say 4 months time ? You go to B shop right ? Now B shop have to check for you (need time & time is $$) and say its the amps fault. U go back to A but A says that B damaged it and does not give you any compensation......so where does that leave you the comsumer ? You will be stranded in nowhere land. A & B will not compensate you. Now how you take the situtation will determine who is the asrehole in this case. Will it be A or B ?? Due to reasons, installer rather install stuffs that they have warranty on. At least they can turn around & claim the supplier. They may install stuffs that they dun have provided that you are already their client. If not I doubt they will do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seven11 Neutral Newbie January 10, 2002 Share January 10, 2002 The asrehole is you, the person who buy from A and install at B. A & B will not compensate you. Now how you take the situtation will determine who is the asrehole in this case. Will it be A or B ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Ahhh....that is correct. but you will be surprise how facts will be twisted when the "victim" makes a complain....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Hmm.... ok lar... Just didn't have a good impression the few times I was there lor... Perhaps its my fault for being the "axxxxxxe" ? hee hee..... But the people there just dont seem friendly to me... Went to this other place at Paya Ubi called Class Auto... I didnt do anything there...but they talked to my buddy and me for hours.... ...Which eventually led me back to them to fix some lights Thats what I call doing business Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched January 11, 2002 Share January 11, 2002 Sometimes can't be helped. The spare parts shop just does sales, they do not install! But I need to add that Pin Liang is "always" busy, especially on Saturdays! And there's no such thing as making appointment... The asrehole is you, the person who buy from A and install at B. A & B will not compensate you. Now how you take the situtation will determine who is the asrehole in this case. Will it be A or B ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nesta Neutral Newbie January 10, 2006 Share January 10, 2006 ya, agree... doing business involve having some EQ as well,plus some PR! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie January 10, 2006 Share January 10, 2006 got my HU and speakers installed there...thou their workmanship is good but the way they interact with ppl are Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazster_t Neutral Newbie January 10, 2006 Share January 10, 2006 I've visited them to ask for opinions as well. They were kind enough to spend some time with me. Each installer got they're way of doing biz.. some are willing to talk and share... some are down right rude.. (esp if they won some kind of IASCA, AMMA etc award), some seem cold to you at first but later warm up.. So long as you know wat you want.. then go for it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie January 10, 2006 Share January 10, 2006 yea i knoe..thou they are quite rude...after the guy installed my HU the guy at least still borther to teach me how to use my HU.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie January 10, 2006 Share January 10, 2006 If u want good price at pinliang just look for the two aunties ...one shorter one and one with OrKi (mole) tell them you are a friend of the Big Size Mehslee (Mercedes) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched January 10, 2006 Share January 10, 2006 Another really old thread ... but service for PL is still the same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 10, 2006 Share January 10, 2006 Their worksmanship is OK but the price is ex man. I was quoted $480 for a Pioneer subwoofer there. In the end, I installed the same thing at Autotrend for only $350 + GST. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 well..in fact i go there to fix my HU itz coz the boss is my uncle's fren...end up still pay more den outside...haiz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie January 13, 2006 Share January 13, 2006 yea..well when he quote u the price must keep on brainwashing tat guy den he'll cut...worst come to worst if he dun cut..just walk off lor...lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...