Kelpie 2nd Gear March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 1. Sorry, I'm no expert in this area so I asked. 2. They seem to share some similar characteristics. Why one is commonly available where the other one required LTA approval? Please enlighten me. Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 (edited) im no expert too but i'll juz share what i know air charger should be those small small gadget stuff u install direct at the throttle body or air intake side. i believe power gain cannot be felt. supercharger is a different thing. it draws power straight from the crank pulley. im not sure how it really work but power gain is abt 30bhp to 40bhp i believe. the advantage of having a supercharger is at the slightest touch on the throttle, u'r off! the reason why many conti cars uses a supercharger is becos the vehicle is very heavy. Edited March 22, 2006 by Ahhan7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 (edited) air charger....i think u mean those by E-ram or ADM ones, driven by DC motor tat drain yer battery. Only diff is it's LTA friendly than add-on superchargers. Edited March 22, 2006 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 yup just think of superchargers as big industrial fans, and the air charger as a mini battery operated toy fan. actually i don't see why superchargers should be illegal, why can't s'pore be more flexible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 becos accident rate in SG very high. IMHO, i think air charger is a waste of time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 air charger and super charger are totally different thing... but its more or less what ah_han had described... supercharger,turbocharger and nitrous are forced induction... but air charger is not... its just another type of "adapter" with fan that connect to ur air filter and TB... the fan inside the air charger will spin making the air that goes in more dense,i think so... but i believe more or less it helps abit...but not totally no gain.... somehow the thing cost ard $600... with this amt,i opted for the AEM CAI...not bad though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 $600 for that bit of gain a bit steep. SC cost abt 5K if im not wrong. anyone can cfm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 well...a waste of time,i wld say its up to individual... some ppl are willing to fork out that big sum for that little gain... but in my opinion,its not worth it leh... nvr tried before...so can't comment much... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 there are no fixed price for SC... got to depend on the brand and car used... i was quoted less than $3k for my civic...its the jackson racing one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 ic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 yup just think of superchargers as big industrial fans, and the air charger as a mini battery operated toy fan. actually i don't see why superchargers should be illegal, why can't s'pore be more flexible lol...like that sg no law liao... SC is considered engine mods...that's why illegal... but the air charger is just another intake mod... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ltcy Clutched March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 yup just think of superchargers as big industrial fans, and the air charger as a mini battery operated toy fan. actually i don't see why superchargers should be illegal, why can't s'pore be more flexible Ha... YOu wannna know why??? Becus we are living in Singapore, a country that even our own life belongs to the government. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 yup just think of superchargers as big industrial fans, and the air charger as a mini battery operated toy fan. actually i don't see why superchargers should be illegal, why can't s'pore be more flexible Eh... superchargers and turbochargers have this thing called the intercooler as well. It isn't enough to just blow air into the engine. They need to compress air so that it's more dense, and hence has more oxygen. Furthermore, when you compress air, it actually heats up, which is what we don't want. The intercooler cools this compressed air before feeding it into the throttle body. More oxygen also means more fuel needed, which means more emissions, hence the need for regulation by LTA. The air charger hardly charges anything on the other hand. It's just a fan that blows air into the throttle body hoping that this will cram enough air into the engine to make a difference. Yes it will help the engine breathe easier at low revs when the vacuum effect of the pistons is insufficient for performance, but it totally ignores the principle of air compression and cooling that super/turbochargers use. Oxygen density increment is insignificant at best. This is why there isn't any need to change fuel injectors or go for emissions test when installing the air charger. So back to your analogy, I think it's more like superchargers are industrial strength turbines hooked up to the most powerful Daikin air-conditioner that you can find, while the air charger is something like a shredding machine for your loose change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 shredding machine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 there are no fixed price for SC...got to depend on the brand and car used... i was quoted less than $3k for my civic...its the jackson racing one... less than 3k? SC is cheaper than TC? thought its the other way round.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 (edited) lol...like that sg no law liao... SC is considered engine mods...that's why illegal... but the air charger is just another intake mod... changing to hi-cams, P&P, enlarged injectors and big bore TB also engine mods.. are they illegal? so from this we can conclude that anything legal does no improve performance (to a noticeable extent). Edited March 22, 2006 by Yc86 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 they used to sell it for ard $4k plus... then this guy told me they going to export it out and ask if i want before they export... then when i went the next time,already export liao... that's why he give me special price... but the gain,i think ard 30plus bhp... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 (edited) PnP and high cam are definitly illegal... but no way to catch mah...unless open the engine and see the cam(s)... but for TB,i dun think its engine mod...more like bolt on same goes for injectors... not really legal stuffs no power lah...maybe minimal gain.... Edited March 23, 2006 by Turbonetics ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...