Kwongwing Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Anyone has any idea where the Techron Concentrate is available? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spchee Neutral Newbie May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 I have tried but I find the new V-power gives more ummp.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear May 4, 2006 Share May 4, 2006 how abt the Vortex Platinum....same grade as vpower lei....oso premium de... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddude Neutral Newbie May 17, 2006 Share May 17, 2006 Switched from SPC98 to Caltex Silver for about 2 weeks +. Have to say, engine is MUCH MUCH quieter(at high rpm) and mileage is better :) Cefiro 230JK here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elantrahatch Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 Same here. For some reason, my car hates SPC. Every other petrol is ok but SPC is a no no. Imagine that on a normal full tank i can travel about 470km but on SPC, at most, 430km. Engine noisy is also another thing.. Probably psychological becos it's 'SPC'... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddude Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 I confirm not psychological :) The noise is significant! The difference for me between Caltex and SPC is only about a dollar + after discounts. So I guess I'll stick to Caltex for a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zepil99 Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 never try SPC before. only try Shell and Esso. My car confirm dun like Shell. it takes about 0.5 second more to start up every morning cold start. if the engine is warm, say drive out for lunch and park like 30-45 mins, will be ok like normal. my car is just 6 month old Mazda2 SP. shell 95 and 98 both takes longer to cold start the engine. Going back to Esso 98 after this tank of Shell 98. Initially thought give shell another chance, looks like a bad mistake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 maybe spc petrol never add so much additives... ir caltex got techron, shell got FMT... SPC got..? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elantrahatch Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 don't know leh but i am sticking to Mobil for now. Shell reward system cannot make it... especially that I never pump Vee-power... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 caltex rewards also not bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W33tc Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 Somehow SPC also not so good for my car. . I use mostly Caltex or Shell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elantrahatch Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 yeah, it's not bad. but for my car, caltex burns too fast... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W33tc Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 I use Caltex because engine seemed smoother and quieter. As for Shell, I think I get slightly better mileage.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 hmmm...would recommend this to my fellow Cefiro friend... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
O2asis Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 ir caltex got techron, shell got FMT... SPC got..? FMT is just a fancy name for upper cylinder lube. Properties that FP60 has :) Not to mention that FP60 has other properties that both techron and shell additive doesn't have. Near ester product that also have lubrication properties, anti-oxidation, ability to lower emission, ability to remove water, etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 agree with caltex smoother and quieter engine;p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Credor Twincharged May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 I oso having the same problem. Shell .. better FC than Caltex..but dislike their pt system. .that y change to caltex BUT... Caltex.. quiter engine but seem to burn faster(poorer FC). So probably will go back Shell...cos other petrol brand station not so near my place. Sigh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Velocityred Neutral Newbie May 18, 2006 Share May 18, 2006 i concur. caltex has the smoothest ride. but their Gold tend to burn way faster than the Silver. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...