Darrenlee Neutral Newbie March 20, 2006 Share March 20, 2006 Hi, I have some questions on buying a car from a direct owner. 1st time car buyer so ive got these queries and hope i can get some help here Assuming the car is 32k and I wish to borrow 25k from the bank. What are the procedures I have to go thru for the transfer? (eg LTA, Bank, Insurance) Do advise me thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 20, 2006 Share March 20, 2006 Very simply.... Car owner will not transfer car to your name unless they get payment... and you'll not pay the $$ to them till you get the car under your name. If it's buying in full cash... it'll be easier.. but buying through finance... then the approval part comes in... so would be slightly more complicated.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackzafi Neutral Newbie March 21, 2006 Share March 21, 2006 Actually, it is not very complicated. The most impt thing is the financing bit. You should make sure that the bank is willing to lend you the money before even signing on the dotted line, so the 1st step is to check with the banks. They will be able to advise you what documentation proof is needed. The insurance and LTA parts are straight-forward. For insurance, just go down to any of the your preferred insurers with a copy of the vehicle's log card, or i'm sure many of the MCF members who are doing insurance can help you. As for LTA, you can check via onemotoring.com exactly how much is the transfer fee (to be borne by the buyer). All you need is the vehicle's registration no. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear March 21, 2006 Share March 21, 2006 i got my car from owner directly. i went thru a car finance agent to get my loan, LTA, insurance.... He also took care of ex-owner's outstanding finance as well. He's a very nice guy.... so far the nicest car financing guy i came across..... honest and no hanky panky stuff..... i had to made a deposit first (not much; few hundreds only), so that ex-owner cannot anyhow sell the car to another buyer. And this deposit is retained by the car finance guy.... and i will be able to get back my deposit if my loan application is rejected for any reason. So it's pretty fair to both parties. Everything is written on the buy/sell agreement form. Try calling him: Ken Tung 8113 3145 (Chicago Motor) Tell him Nelson refer you to him. I hope he still remember me . No worries, even if he forgot about me, he will still give you good service la. I am no way related to this guy. No commission or any other favours gained by me. Just a happy customer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie March 21, 2006 Share March 21, 2006 saw their advertisment in sgcarmart... their new car interest rate is only 3%.... i calculated it is $1700+ saving as compare to $800-$1k rebate from house loan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darrenlee Neutral Newbie March 21, 2006 Author Share March 21, 2006 how much agent fees did u pay to him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orange1971 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2006 Share March 21, 2006 I dun think you need to pay him any agent fee, as a matter of fact when I brought my car from direct owner, I demand the finance company to waive off administrative fee (abt $200) The guy will get his loan commission from finance company Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darrenlee Neutral Newbie March 21, 2006 Author Share March 21, 2006 which finance company did you loan from and whos the dealer that settle your loan/lta/insurance for you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orange1971 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2006 Share March 21, 2006 the finance company will settle for you everythings, lta transfer, insurance......my finance is Hanly Enterprise.....go to them direct, they dun have to pay commission to people more than happy to waive off admintrative charges........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darrenlee Neutral Newbie March 21, 2006 Author Share March 21, 2006 is the interest rate they charge fixed to the market rate or do they offer more attractive rates? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie March 22, 2006 Share March 22, 2006 i think usually better... if not, other will go bank wat... easier to pay up also... for most bank, u can use internet banking to pay or Giro... why not u call up the contact in this page... yesterday i still can see the chicago ad in sgcarmart... today no more liao... maybe the rate change... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie March 23, 2006 Share March 23, 2006 http://www.sgcarmart.com/ads/chicago/chicago.php Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikonll Neutral Newbie February 20, 2009 Share February 20, 2009 anyone had direct owner purchase recently? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phang79 Neutral Newbie February 21, 2009 Share February 21, 2009 Check with the agents first. They usually offer much better rate compared with going to the bank directly. The savings from the interest can be offset against the service fee of the agent. Work out the sum and see if it's worth it. Direct bank rate is usually 3.5%, can get 2.5% from agent. If the price is same, let the agent settle all the paperwork and you can relax one corner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rugged Neutral Newbie June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Anyone with bad experience in buying from direct owner??? I got a 5 years old ride, break down in few days time, repair fees very expensive, what should I do??? Any legal advise? anyone with experience guilding me, very very sian.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 u buy car never bring for inspection? legally it's caveat emptor applies... once transaction completed, you don't really have much recourse ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...