HID

Kchinbeng

Last few weeks i had email to LTA whether they approved aftermarket HID and this is their reply to me. And i also dun know is it good news or bad news leh [dizzy]

Our Ref: LTA/CSV/F20.032.00010400/1

Date: 14-MAR-2006

Tel: 1800 CALL LTA (2255 582)

Fax: 6553 5329

Dear Mr Koh,

WAY TO APPROVED HID

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 339017

Thank you for your feedback of 07-MAR-2006.

2. We would like to inform you that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) does not engaged in the type approval of motor vehicle accessories. We will however be concerned if the installation of such accessories adversely affects the safe operation and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle.

3. We require every headlamp fitted on the vehicle to be capable of showing a white light to the front of the vehicle. The intensity and alignment of a headlamp must be within the specified limits. The lamps must bear approved markings to show that they comply with international standards, such as those adopted in the European Union countries, Japan and the United States.

4. As far as we are aware, authorities world-wide do not allow the retrofitting of the High-Intensity Discharge (HID) headlamp system on vehicles which are not originally designed with the system. Vehicles that are originally fitted with the HID headlamp system are allowed because it is purpose built by the vehicle manufacturer to ensure that it is safe. For example, the HID headlamp system is designed with dynamic levelling so that the lamps do not cause glare or distract other road users.

5. Vehicles that do not originally come with factory fitted HID headlamp system are not allowed to be retrofitted with the system. Converting the existing headlamp to HID headlamp system would require the whole headlamp assembly, including the electric system, to be replaced. This is because the reflectors and lenses are very different. As the current flow into the HID bulb is very high, the wiring in the headlamp system may not be capable of handling the level of current HID bulbs will draw. This can create serious fire hazards and cause extensive damage to the headlamp assemblies and wiring.

6. If you intend to install HID headlamp system on your vehicle, it must be duly certified by the vehicle manufacturer that it is safe to do so. Every headlamp fitted on the vehicle must be of a design recommended by the vehicle manufacturers and properly installed according to their recommendations. Vehicle manufacturer would have to endorse the design and installation if any modification to the headlamp system is made. The headlamps must also be properly aligned after replacement to ensure that they do not cause glare and distraction to other road users.

7. In view of the above, we would appreciate it if you could provide us with the detailed technical specifications of the HID headlamp systems in order for us to advise you specifically. You may forward the information to the Vehicle Engineering Division of LTA at 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701.

8. If you need further clarification, you can contact my colleague, Mr Lim San Teng at tel: 6553 5448 or Mr Han Hang Kwang at tel: 6553 5263.

Yours sincerely,

(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)

EU AI MING

PRINCIPAL TECHNICAL OFFICER

VEHICLE ENGINEERING

VEHICLE SERVICES

In simeple terms, it means aftermarket HID will never get approved, only factory fitted are allowed. What's new? [sleeping]

How bout those vehicles that comes with optional HID feature? New cars nowadays allow buyers to choose whether or not to have the HID option. If initially I buy the car w/o HID and then 2 years down the road I want the HID, then I buy stock HID and convert myself. Is this considered legal? Anyone knows?

Wonder one matter, if you are allow to choose car with or without HID, will they change the wiring to save cost? What I meant here was, they have a batch of car for HID and another batch total stock headlamp, with stock wiring. Hence if stock items to revert to HID with all wiring still cost a bomb

4. As far as we are aware, authorities world-wide do not allow the retrofitting of the High-Intensity Discharge (HID) headlamp system on vehicles which are not originally designed with the system. Vehicles that are originally fitted with the HID headlamp system are allowed because it is purpose built by the vehicle manufacturer to ensure that it is safe. For example, the HID headlamp system is designed with dynamic levelling so that the lamps do not cause glare or distract other road users.

den i guess most of the mercs, BMW, Lexus comes with aftermarket fittings cuz i dun see how they dun cause any glare. at least from my experience

6. If you intend to install HID headlamp system on your vehicle, it must be duly certified by the vehicle manufacturer that it is safe to do so. Every headlamp fitted on the vehicle must be of a design recommended by the vehicle manufacturers and properly installed according to their recommendations. Vehicle manufacturer would have to endorse the design and installation if any modification to the headlamp system is made. The headlamps must also be properly aligned after replacement to ensure that they do not cause glare and distraction to other road users.

we will make it so troublesome for you until u wun even bother to install HID.

2. We would like to inform you that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) does not engaged in the type approval of motor vehicle accessories. We will however be concerned if the installation of such accessories adversely affects the safe operation and exhaust emission characteristics of the vehicle.

We are not going to approve anything so that we still have the choice to catch u if u wan. For eg: Foglamps.

This is IMHO........ [laugh]

1. Based on their reply, it means if you want to play safe just buy it from the distributor and let them chop you like carrot head. If lagi kiasu/kiasi, get them to write you a certified letter loh.

2. Funny, it is just like telling you can't buy illegal CD whereas almost every household have some. I doubt many people bought original ones.

Regards,

Since HID r nt allow when u're mod-ing the current headlamp.. SO wat if i/we change to angel eyes whereby it's a HID oready? (Change the whole headlamp)

I'm in a dilemma, cos my fren kena caught by ROV n send to inspection.. Licence plate illegal (Stick on) nv fail, angel eyes nv fail.. Onli muffler fail.. End up paying $500 n change the muffler to stock n inspect again.

Edited by Katou

For sure i noe is tat, if ur car is T.C (Illegaly).. u can ask workshop to send to inspect ur car for u.. Sure pass! [sly]

So i tink those minor mod, wont affect much too..

For Mercs without HID, there is still a switch that allows one to adjust the height of the halogen lamb projection, based on the loading of the car (i.e. driver, driver + passenger, or driver + rear passenger).

I normally adjust so that the beam is clearly down towards the road.

I think Mercs with HID will also have that, but not so sure about "auto levelling". There is an option for intelligent HID that points in the direction of our steering, though. That option might perhaps come with auto levelling.

I saw my frd from car who diy his own HID

less then 2 mths his wire became harden n some left copper wire left.

As he using his stock wiring.

So best to change all the wiring if HID fitted

Y save such a wiring $$$$ as u already had pay so much for HID [nod]

does anyone ever notice that we never passed our headlamp test during inspection n yet we pass the whole inspection? i asked the inspectors, they say it's normal due to the alignment of the headlight. no car could ever pass this test, even the new cars.....so how to catch headlamp mods?

if you choose the HID option, the whole headlight assembly will be based on HID, so it's not just a matter of plonking in a HID bulb, or you can just get those cheapo white bulbs...

I know, I mean if I will to get the stock HID kit complete with ballast and lamps etc and install them in workshop outside, is this consider illegal? Coz my car does comes with HID option to start with, just that I did not opt for it when I buy the car.