Octopus 3rd Gear March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 Yesterday I went for my regular oil change. Previously using Mobil Delvac MX 15W40, and yesterday switched to cxxxxxe 5W40. I still have remaining 1 liter of Delvac MX, so I asked the mechanic to pour it in to flush out the remaining oil after draining out the old oil..... To my surprise, even when the old oil had been completely drained out, there is still much dirty oil inside the engine. Approximately 80% of the new oil (remaining 1 liter Delvac MX) that went in comes out as dirty looking as the old oil. It is only after the rest of the dirty looking oil had flow out, then the colour gets lighter looking. Having witnessed that, I wonder if the usual drain and refill method during oil change will be sufficient? Perhaps it will be good to occasionally use some fresh oil to flush out the remaining oil inside the engine during oil change? Any thoughts on this? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 dmx is a diesel oil which cleans soot generally better thats why it seems "dirtier" if ks then do full change twice lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 12, 2006 Author Share March 12, 2006 Yes, its a HDEO. But that was my 3rd run using Delvac MX, and from the dip stick its not too dirty looking. At least not as dirty looking as when I was using Havoline 20W50 the last time. The first 2 run using Delvac MX I drain it out after 5k, the last one drain out at 7.5k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 dmx is mineral leh u use 7.5? dmx i use 4k , d1 maybe 7.5k use sch9000 lah hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 12, 2006 Author Share March 12, 2006 Will consider Sch9000 after using cxxxxxe (7 litres remaining) which I bought last year. According to Genie, dmx is good for 10k. Even at 7.5k the oil still looks good on the dip stick. I used it to clean the engine inside, as mine is a COE car. Delvax 1 I saw at the petrol kiosk sells for $23++ for 1 litre, too expensive. Even Delvac MX the price has been increasing. First time I buy Delvac MX it costs $36.++, and now its selling at $46.++. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 dmx where got so ex... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 With regards to engine oil maintenace ... read on a car mag couple of months back on this method call " Flushing-or -something like tat" . In fact some local mags like Hotstuff have these adverts all the time .... - Basically your used engine oil is drain out - a special "clean-your-engine-detergent-oil" is poured into your engine and car run for 15 mins. - after drain out , base on the photos on that mag , the detergent oil comes out looks murky. - fresh engine oil is then poured in and blah lah lah power improve blah smoother engine lalalala ..... Are those detergent oil availiable over the shelfs ? and its it really useful for our baby? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 old engines may want to think twice abt flushing... do a search if u need answers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 13, 2006 Author Share March 13, 2006 dmx where got so ex... That's the price now......$46.++ for a 5 liter bottle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 13, 2006 Author Share March 13, 2006 [reply] With regards to engine oil maintenace ... read on a car mag couple of months back on this method call " Flushing-or -something like tat" . In fact some local mags like Hotstuff have these adverts all the time .... - Basically your used engine oil is drain out - a special "clean-your-engine-detergent-oil" is poured into your engine and car run for 15 mins. - after drain out , base on the photos on that mag , the detergent oil comes out looks murky. - fresh engine oil is then poured in and blah lah lah power improve blah smoother engine lalalala ..... Are those detergent oil availiable over the shelfs ? and its it really useful for our baby? I don't think I'll try that kind of flushing, cos might be harmful to the engine.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ee100 Neutral Newbie March 13, 2006 Share March 13, 2006 where did u get the mobil dmx from, S'pore or M'sia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 13, 2006 Author Share March 13, 2006 Can get at S'pore Mobil petrol kiosk. But the price had increase by $10 since last year when I first use it. Its the one in 5 litre black bottle, and can be use for both petrol and diesel engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie March 13, 2006 Share March 13, 2006 i think i saw Delvac MX at Forklift. didn't take note the price though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 13, 2006 Share March 13, 2006 (edited) Mobil Delvac MX definitely can get less than that. Go to Forklift Enterprise, should be ard $30 for the 5 Litres only. Edited March 13, 2006 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 13, 2006 Author Share March 13, 2006 Really? Thanks for the tips, bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear March 13, 2006 Share March 13, 2006 if want save even more forklift got sell this HDEO , elf throphy performance dx, its 15w40 and CH-4 rated 52 bux a drum 18L use till u song Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 13, 2006 Share March 13, 2006 Indeed use until song. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 13, 2006 Author Share March 13, 2006 Another HDEO, Caltex Delo 400 15W40 also selling for $52 in 18 liter drum at another shop in Tuas area. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...