DIY absorbers change

En0203

i oso dunoe why i can whack till the car liddat....anyway now i drive safely liao...if not i burn more holes in my pocket again...Btw no doubt my car is onli abt 3yrs, another factor could be permanent wear n tear due to high mileage....i juz clocked 137,000km last night...

hmmm dont' know ler.. probably due to high mileage [sweatdrop]

my car also redline always but nv see anything failing. i still think nissan cars are tough [thumbsup] or should i say japanese cars, how u kill also they won't die one [shocked]

Sunny shocks are quite cheap

yup, that's why gotten mine changed all 4 at only SGD$250, could be cheaper if i go for 3rd party one [nod]

wow...$330 is quite cheap oso hor...is he toking abt Sunny shocks?

Sorry, not Sunny. Its for Corolla. Front shocks absorber are Toyota Original (also KYB) and rear shock absorber are purely KYB (w/o "Toyota" wordings on the packaging) . All parts are made in Japan. nod.gif

Until now still good, but recently I discovered that regular mantenance of the shock absorber helps alot. I used silicon spray to spray at the sliding metal portion on the shock absorber after jacking up the car, and the difference are noticeable.smile.gif

For example, I know some road humps at certain places when going over even at very slow speed my mud guard will touch the humps. But after such silicon treatment, its no more touching the humps even at slightly higher speed. Also feel my ride absorbs uneven road condition slightly better.thumbsup.gif First treatment lasted almost 2 months time, before I used the silicon treatment again. I'm thinking if whether those lithium grease spray would last longer?...rolleyes.gif

[reply]

Sunny shocks are quite cheap

yup, that's why gotten mine changed all 4 at only SGD$250, could be cheaper if i go for 3rd party one nod.gif

Aiya, but yours only included parts costs, right? Mine consists of both parts and labour costs, that's why slightly ($80 more?) expensive....

i changed 2 rear ones for abt 150

I think the costs for rear and front shock absorber are different.....forgot which one costs more...

By the way, anyone of you noticed that the front end of the car's is lower that the rear? I noticed this when jacking up the car to service the shock absorber with silicon spray..... I wonder if this is sign that front shock absorber is failing or its just that the front end is heavier so its slightly lower? confused.gif

[reply]

oh i see i see thought u DIY, then it should be about the same price i guess nod.gifthumbsup.gif

No lah, me not as technically incline as you, can DIY. sweatdrop.gif But I remember that some special tool/jig are required to keep the spring compressed when changing the shock absorber? Did you utilised such tool/jig?

[reply]

ya there is a tool like that. it was supplied together with the shocks i bought nod.gifthumbsup.gif

Wow, that's good.thumbsup.gif But if for my case, even if such tool is provided I still don't know how to change my shock absorber...blush.gifsweatdrop.gif