Sofarsogood Clutched March 10, 2006 Share March 10, 2006 Well, most people have problem with vibrating steering wheel during high speed travel. But for me, the steering wheel vibrates when I slow down, not gradual slow, but immediate slow down. What could be the cause? Brake pads? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear March 10, 2006 Share March 10, 2006 bro i had this prob as well...yah its due to wear n tear of your brake pads. so its time to get them changed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoner Clutched March 10, 2006 Share March 10, 2006 stepping on the brake to slow down the vechical?? if tats the case, mostly ur brake pads... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sofarsogood Clutched March 10, 2006 Author Share March 10, 2006 Wah, jialat man! My earlier post about noisy tyres; now brake pads worn out.... $$$ burn liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear March 10, 2006 Share March 10, 2006 Another possibility is the brake disc warped Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear March 17, 2006 Share March 17, 2006 Hi i oso have the probem .anyway to confirm what the cause? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear March 17, 2006 Share March 17, 2006 1st step check wheel alignment. Get this right first, then the rest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear March 17, 2006 Share March 17, 2006 Slow down as in engine brake? If you step brakes and this happens, go check on your Disc Rotors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear March 17, 2006 Share March 17, 2006 Hi I already done tat. The only thing i haven done are changing the brake pad and disc rotor. But i dunno which one is giving problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched March 17, 2006 Share March 17, 2006 Well, most people have problem with vibrating steering wheel during high speed travel. But for me, the steering wheel vibrates when I slow down, not gradual slow, but immediate slow down. What could be the cause? Brake pads? I was driving my in law's car, sometimes when braking (not those emergency kind but braking is harder than usual.. ) i feel the steering wheel vibrate too. Are we experiencing the same thing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohks Neutral Newbie March 17, 2006 Share March 17, 2006 could be due to tyres. your symtoms sound like my previous experience with a flat spot front tyre. higher speed ok, but shudder gradually increase as the speed reduces. feel or visually check your tyres to see if there are any abnormal wear, such as a flat spot, not so round, etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear March 18, 2006 Share March 18, 2006 (edited) Maybe, can share where did you do your alignment, and what were the reading b4 the adjustment and after the adjustment. Did they double check your sideslip after the computer adjustment. Edited March 18, 2006 by Sky8807 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 18, 2006 Share March 18, 2006 pop bonnet when engine still running and check if the entire crankcase is shaking inside. if yes, the engine mounting up lorry. check also for any engine knocking sound. btw, r u using the prescribed petrol/ diesel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sofarsogood Clutched March 18, 2006 Author Share March 18, 2006 Hi all, The problem seemed to have disappeared after I rotated my tyres?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear March 18, 2006 Share March 18, 2006 i done it in malaysia cos cheap mah . they said one side alighment out alot. hmmm if not wrong is more than 2.0. so they adjust for me. But before that i already have the vibrating problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear March 18, 2006 Share March 18, 2006 One of the front wheel bearing need to inspected for wear and may need to be preloaded to the right torque. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear March 18, 2006 Share March 18, 2006 Suggest you do another one in Singapore. You will be suprised at the result. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_man 2nd Gear March 18, 2006 Share March 18, 2006 ok will try to bring for a check thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...