W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 The reason why Borneo Motors can offer such rebates, cash discount, loyalty discount is because the price of the car has been grossly marked up. On face value, it seems that Borneo Motors is quite generous with the discounts. Even with such discounts, I am confident that BM is still making a handsome, if not, an obscene profit. Out of curiousity, how much is the OMV? Markups for the entry-level Lexus, BMWs, Mercs or Jags are all pretty much in the same obscene ball park ~$30K per pop. For that matter, Saabs and Volvos also make indecent profits (vs OMV). But the difference is that BM gives ~$12K loyalty credit to Lexus owners, while PML and C&C don't, as their discounts generally apply across the board. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 (edited) the same engined Mark X 2.5 V6 (costs about $88k or $95k g'teed COE) thereabouts, you gotta check classified for prices lah! Edited March 7, 2006 by Fluffy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 yeah...saw it in Taiwan...very chio esp the front end....nice nose, headlights....projector i think.... Both models have projector headlights. But the high-end model c/w HID. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 Bro... no offense but you're starting to sound like a Lexus sales person with your constant bashing of BMW... LOL Anyway, whats the OMV? The price is pretty low. Obviously they intend to market it at $120,000+++ right from the start. Those discounts are sweeteners (is there such a word???). Having said that, I have to agree with you that the IS250 is a better buy compared to the 323i lah. But thats just based on price alone. Don't start talking about the drive and handling Yes agree that the IS250 is a better buy than the 323i. I have test driven the 323i E90 just. Frank opinion - not very much impressed, as I feel its not too far off re handling than my current IS200. Just marginally better round the bends of South Buona Vista Road when really pushed. Have not tested the IS250 yet, but from UK mag reviews, most reviews have pitted it against the higher 325i. On handling, at speed, round wet bends, the IS250 took some of the edge off the 325i in a couple of reviews. However, the 325i was generally rated better on other things like power-to-weight, early-developed torque and cabin space etc. BUT this is the 325i that we are talking about. ~$50K more costly than the IS250. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 Mark X is a damn nice car but what's with that super duper high hump in the centre of the rear floor? Even if it's for the shaft, oso no need so high rite? Looks like only a midget can sit in the centre sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 (edited) What Car? Review of Lexus IS ( 3 of 5 stars only) http://www.whatcar.co.uk/car-review-full.aspx?RT=749 ON THE ROAD Performance (4 of 5) There are two engines available. The V6 petrol has to be worked hard to extract maximum performance, but it pulls cleanly away from low revs and is punchy enough for swift and assured overtaking. The 2.2 diesel is the most powerful four-cylinder diesel in its class and is gutsy and flexible. Ride & handling (3 of 5) The IS turns in swiftly, grips keenly and is unfazed by mid-corner bumps. It Edited March 7, 2006 by Fluffy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 lexus are nice, but id still get the Merc or Bimmer coz they have more character. To me, Lexus cars are quite lifeless. They work perfectly but to the point of being mundane. They work so well with no sound that it makes ure mind wander & hope for something more soulful. Sorry bro, I cannot disagree more with you on 'lifelessness'. Perhaps for the larger Lexus models, designed for a smooth, quiet, magic-carpet ride. E.g. LS430. The IS200 has got more soul at high RPMs than my previous E46 318i. Its exhaust note at high RPMs is something the BMW 4-potter just cannot match. And with that, comes its character. As for my Merc, its got its own signature banshee howl from the Kompresser at high RPMs, but as with most supercharged engines, it flattens off very quickly by the time you reach anywhere near 5,500-6,000 rpm. Its like premature ejaculation to me ... if you know what I mean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 bro, cannot just take the clean price of $50k diff and compare, need to put in all the stuffs from both cars and work out the 'dirty price' lah. the IS250 doesnt come with for eg. the I-Drive. And anyway, this is only one of the many things there. Bear with me all, since I am gonna work out a big spreadsheet for comparing my prospective buys, I will share it when its done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 Mark X is a damn nice car but what's with that super duper high hump in the centre of the rear floor? I think it doubles as a foot rest Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 I think it doubles as a foot rest for those who miss their "1 leg on chair" sitting position perfected at HDB kopitiams is it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 err.. i still want a piece of mind lah. Thats y Germans make the best cars, character with reliability. Peace of mind has to go with reliability, and it this category, I think Lexus comes up tops, or at least in the top 10% of all cars built in the world. Germans make the best car? I am not too sure about that, after having owned a German-made VW, African-made BMW and German-made Merc over a period of 10 years. For character AND reliability, I will vote the IS200 over my GTi, 318i or Kompressor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 ok since this is a LEXUS thread, lets talk good things abt LEXUS What actually makes the LEXUS generally a quiet car? The big engines they place in the chasis, well at least thats what the BM SEs always say....got power, so no need too much petrol to push car forward, so quiet loh ...is that really why? I think it is the NVH R&D that Lexus has put into their cars from the very start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 The IS200 has got more soul at high RPMs than my previous E46 318i.Its exhaust note at high RPMs is something the BMW 4-potter just cannot match. And with that, comes its character. Alamak... wrong comparison lah bro. 6 pot versus 4 pot??? Unfair man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 mmm, sounds familiar W120K. That day the Lexus SE also keep telling me and repeating "reliable" , now I can hear it in my dreams Oh BTW, can those bros refresh me if u just saw the IS250 at BM as I cant recall. Does it come with GPS[probably not?] and auto headlights control[ie on/off] and runflat tyres? Also, for the std version, whats the stereo brand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 since when was life fair anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear March 7, 2006 Share March 7, 2006 That what I meant. Before I bot my 320i, I went ard asking for opinions over several forums, and got a lot of feedbacks. However, most of the feedback came back was somethg like "if BMW, the 325is better bcos its 6-clylinder. 320i is 4 cylinder" well thanks, I know that, That wasnt my question....I was asking for "how does the old 4 pot fair. now that the 4 pot is an improved version[the one I potential was buying], can current 320i [E90] owners give some feedback". and still all I get is "the 4 cyl is underpowered, 6 cyl stronger". Thats why I have reasons to believe half the responses are from non BMW owners who acted like they owned BMWs. In fact someone even sent me a PM telling me to get the LEXUS 3.0L......give up! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 Hahaha ok bros, my mistake and apologies for calling the 320 a joke, but as far as I'm concerned, I wouldn't buy one, especially the 4cyl 320. Believe me I love BMWs esp the Inline6s, but the E90 is just a major let down to me in many aspects, not least of all its dowdy looks. I'm a performance orientated driver, hence you can understand why in the same price range, I would personally consider buying the 320 over the IS a "joke". The badge means nothing to me at this level, anyone who knows anything about cars would respect the driver of the IS for choosing it over the 320, and these are the opinions which matter to me. Cheers I think I am aligned with you on this. Badge prestige means little to me, after having 'savoured' the ownership status of such marques - without being or sounding elitist here. To me, I am in the market for medium-sized cars, with good styling, handles well and has a super-smooth silkened engine. And perhaps ('unfortunately') for me, I will only settle for a 6-cylinder RWD car and no less. That's just a personal preference. So there goes the entry-level Mercs, all Audis and the 320i. I could consider the C240 or C280, but wife wasn't impressed with interior wood trim - "too ah-pek" in her own words. But we could get the Avant Garde trim though. 323i or 325i ... OK, but feel that IS250 gives me better value for money, or money for BHP. I also prefer the IS styling. Again, personal. BTW, the lower-end IS250 does not come with wooden trims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear March 7, 2006 Author Share March 7, 2006 (edited) Alamak... wrong comparison lah bro. 6 pot versus 4 pot??? Unfair man --------------------------------------------------------------------------- Just comparing cars that I have owned and really driven day-in and day-out lah. True honest-to-goodness owner experience being shared here. Am not putting down any make, but giving credit where credit is due ... even if it is to an Asian (i.e. Japanese). Edited March 7, 2006 by W210k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...