Ct3833 Supersonic March 28, 2023 Share March 28, 2023 On 3/28/2023 at 5:25 PM, wyetuck88 said: Yes. That's another choice, but less incline to get a freed. Btw I know baby seat in front row is a big no no cus of the frontal impact and the airbag. But i see those ang mohs put baby sit in middle front seat of honda edix (no airbags in the centre) is it legal here in Singapore? i dont think it is leagal but then think about it, would safety be a more important consideration? especially when you are considering putting your child there. I would think it is ok if you position your pet at the middle but not your child. Just being frank. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 28, 2023 Share March 28, 2023 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyetuck88 Neutral Newbie March 29, 2023 Share March 29, 2023 @Ct3833 On 3/28/2023 at 5:48 PM, Ct3833 said: i dont think it is leagal but then think about it, would safety be a more important consideration? especially when you are considering putting your child there. I would think it is ok if you position your pet at the middle but not your child. Just being frank. Yeah that's what I thought too! Dangerous to put babyseat in front. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear March 29, 2023 Share March 29, 2023 On 3/28/2023 at 9:09 AM, wyetuck88 said: Anyone can share what was the reason why you sell your edix? I am looking to get a used one for a short 3 years drive until COE drops, and wondering if it's still economically viable in today's age. I love the seats and the boot space! Although it's a honda but seems like the parts are impossible to get namely the front shock, the lower control arm are very prone to wear and tear. Aside from parts availability issue, any other issue with its reliability issues? I need a car that can go everytime I turn the key. Been driving a honda stream and it has been a pleasant experience so far. Hi, I drove a 2006 1.7L Edix since 2016, and I intend to drive till 2026. If COE kind enough to drop 50% from current level, I would like to extend COE. My another consideration is Stream and Wish but end up took the courage to choose Edix. Pros : 1. Spacious car for 6 pax (6 single seats with seat belts) - got own "personal" space 2.Good boot size to put groceries/prams (just recently, I put 2 16" foldable bikes + 2 kids bike with one seat fold down) 3.Each of the rear seats able to recline backwards ard 20 degrees for more comfort 4. Front and rear centre seat can adjust backwards around 20cm for extra leg room 5. No transmission tunnel at rear seats. (I loaded my wife 16inch Decathalon bike straight in without folding) 6. All 3 rear seats can fold flat and flush with boot. (ideal for Ikea small furniture) 7. Windscreen is wide, majiam wide screen TV for better visibility 8. Extra aircon vent for middle seat passenger 9. "Head turner" if you have passenger on centre seat. Encounter many curious stares and some would ask if the centre seat is legal. LOL 10. Spouse/gf/bf can sit at front centre seat for added "closeness" 11. Rear seats tend to be higher which makes it easier for old folks to get in and out 12. No 3rd row seats means, in the event of collision..car boot will act as a buffer. Otherwise, 3rd row passengers will substitute as buffer. 13. Front centre seat when not in used, can be folded down to create a giant arm rest cum small table for driver and passenger Cons : 1. Its an old car, so don't expect got VTEC performance, thou engine cover put VTEC, but I don have. 2. Hard to source for parts, even if have stock..usually have to import from Japan or wait for a long time. (Actually Malaysia still got many Edix, so source for parts there could be another option) 3. Heavy car - on slope, good to use D2 to move off. 4. Fuel consumption - Average 10km/litre Personally, I find this car very versatile and super family friendly and cant fathom why Honda did not produce newer generation. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear March 29, 2023 Share March 29, 2023 On 3/29/2023 at 9:30 PM, wyetuck88 said: @Ct3833 Yeah that's what I thought too! Dangerous to put babyseat in front. I place a booster seat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyetuck88 Neutral Newbie March 29, 2023 Share March 29, 2023 On 3/29/2023 at 10:05 PM, Rollagt said: Hi, I drove a 2006 1.7L Edix since 2016, and I intend to drive till 2026. If COE kind enough to drop 50% from current level, I would like to extend COE. My another consideration is Stream and Wish but end up took the courage to choose Edix. Pros : 1. Spacious car for 6 pax (6 single seats with seat belts) - got own "personal" space 2.Good boot size to put groceries/prams (just recently, I put 2 16" foldable bikes + 2 kids bike with one seat fold down) 3.Each of the rear seats able to recline backwards ard 20 degrees for more comfort 4. Front and rear centre seat can adjust backwards around 20cm for extra leg room 5. No transmission tunnel at rear seats. (I loaded my wife 16inch Decathalon bike straight in without folding) 6. All 3 rear seats can fold flat and flush with boot. (ideal for Ikea small furniture) 7. Windscreen is wide, majiam wide screen TV for better visibility 8. Extra aircon vent for middle seat passenger 9. "Head turner" if you have passenger on centre seat. Encounter many curious stares and some would ask if the centre seat is legal. LOL 10. Spouse/gf/bf can sit at front centre seat for added "closeness" 11. Rear seats tend to be higher which makes it easier for old folks to get in and out 12. No 3rd row seats means, in the event of collision..car boot will act as a buffer. Otherwise, 3rd row passengers will substitute as buffer. 13. Front centre seat when not in used, can be folded down to create a giant arm rest cum small table for driver and passenger Cons : 1. Its an old car, so don't expect got VTEC performance, thou engine cover put VTEC, but I don have. 2. Hard to source for parts, even if have stock..usually have to import from Japan or wait for a long time. (Actually Malaysia still got many Edix, so source for parts there could be another option) 3. Heavy car - on slope, good to use D2 to move off. 4. Fuel consumption - Average 10km/litre Personally, I find this car very versatile and super family friendly and cant fathom why Honda did not produce newer generation. Thanks for sharing! Awesome to know there are owners who love edix and still wish to continue if Coe drops! I am still looking for one. 1. For long road trip to KL and genting does the 1.7 feels underpowered with 6 adults and full load at the back? 2. Over the entire period of time u had the car, what parts have you replaced before, how much did you spent in total and do you have to wait long for parts? 3. Is the Aircon able to reach the middle rear seat? 4. How is your fuel consumption? 5. Booster seat is not baby seat right? Many thanks in advance! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear March 30, 2023 Share March 30, 2023 1. Yes. Underpower ! Went to Malacca with 4 adults and 2 kids with luggage. Cruise at 100km/hr is recommended. 2. Replaced gasket in engine due to leaky lub oil problem, also changed suspension, ball bearings, lower arm bush etc. So far, spent approx 5K from 2016 till now. (my mechanic told me, he receive my call he v scared coz he need to spend some time calling his lobang who got the parts. LOL) 3. Yes. I flip the 2 centre aircon vents all the way up to channel air to the rear. Front passenger and driver got the 2 side aircon to enjoy. 4. Fuel consumption - Average 10km/litre 5. Had placed baby seat in centre front seat before. Verdict, can do but sort of block ur view when U look at rear mirror. Booster seat for bigger kid, just nice.. FYI only, driver airbag is designed to protect both centre passenger and driver. Youngest Edix on the roads are born in 2008..hence be prepared to fork out $ for wear and tear like item 2, and repair and waiting can frustrate you. There is also the 2L Edix which uses the K20 engine which might be slightly more powerful but afterall, its close to 15 yrs old, so dont expect got super performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 30, 2023 Share March 30, 2023 Good car to test hot date. If your potential girlfriend still on the left you will be sleeping alone that night. If she sit in the middle Ho Seh Liow! 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyetuck88 Neutral Newbie March 30, 2023 Share March 30, 2023 On 3/30/2023 at 8:46 AM, Rollagt said: 1. Yes. Underpower ! Went to Malacca with 4 adults and 2 kids with luggage. Cruise at 100km/hr is recommended. 2. Replaced gasket in engine due to leaky lub oil problem, also changed suspension, ball bearings, lower arm bush etc. So far, spent approx 5K from 2016 till now. (my mechanic told me, he receive my call he v scared coz he need to spend some time calling his lobang who got the parts. LOL) 3. Yes. I flip the 2 centre aircon vents all the way up to channel air to the rear. Front passenger and driver got the 2 side aircon to enjoy. 4. Fuel consumption - Average 10km/litre 5. Had placed baby seat in centre front seat before. Verdict, can do but sort of block ur view when U look at rear mirror. Booster seat for bigger kid, just nice.. FYI only, driver airbag is designed to protect both centre passenger and driver. Youngest Edix on the roads are born in 2008..hence be prepared to fork out $ for wear and tear like item 2, and repair and waiting can frustrate you. There is also the 2L Edix which uses the K20 engine which might be slightly more powerful but afterall, its close to 15 yrs old, so dont expect got super performance. Icic, sounds like parts replacement is going to take time to source, how long are each down time to get parts fixed? Malaysia have some parts in stock, but they are all situated so far away. Did you have any issues installing the baby seat onto the middle seat? Is it standard mounting points? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear March 30, 2023 Share March 30, 2023 (edited) On 3/30/2023 at 6:58 PM, wyetuck88 said: Icic, sounds like parts replacement is going to take time to source, how long are each down time to get parts fixed? Malaysia have some parts in stock, but they are all situated so far away. Did you have any issues installing the baby seat onto the middle seat? Is it standard mounting points? I usually go to mechanic in morning, he troubleshoot..make a phone call check stock. If have then within a day, deliver the parts then can install. Longest wait time so far is 3 to 4 days. One more thing, Edix seems don't have OEM parts. My mechanic often tells me, brother, I order original part for you hor..from japan. Depend on the baby seat size..Edix don't have ISOFIX points, just the regular seat belt. Well, my experience tells me, try not to place baby in centre front seat, as some of them have itchy hands, will attempt to reach out the gear knob or pull your hair while driving! Edited March 30, 2023 by Rollagt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyetuck88 Neutral Newbie March 31, 2023 Share March 31, 2023 On 3/30/2023 at 9:21 PM, Rollagt said: I usually go to mechanic in morning, he troubleshoot..make a phone call check stock. If have then within a day, deliver the parts then can install. Longest wait time so far is 3 to 4 days. One more thing, Edix seems don't have OEM parts. My mechanic often tells me, brother, I order original part for you hor..from japan. Depend on the baby seat size..Edix don't have ISOFIX points, just the regular seat belt. Well, my experience tells me, try not to place baby in centre front seat, as some of them have itchy hands, will attempt to reach out the gear knob or pull your hair while driving! Actually order from Japan can fix within 3-4 days is very fast liao! I thought it will be like 2-3 weeks down time. Were the parts more expensive then normal Honda parts? I see for baby hands grabbing the gearknob I think still ok, cus need to depress a button to shift gear right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear March 31, 2023 Share March 31, 2023 On 3/31/2023 at 2:13 PM, wyetuck88 said: Actually order from Japan can fix within 3-4 days is very fast liao! I thought it will be like 2-3 weeks down time. Were the parts more expensive then normal Honda parts? I see for baby hands grabbing the gearknob I think still ok, cus need to depress a button to shift gear right? I mean Spore got parts but have to wait 3 to 4 days..touchwood, so far have not encounter have to order direct from Japan. LoL For babies' notti hands, more like distraction to the driver unless the kid is well behave..otherwise, pull the front centre seat backwards so that the kid cant reach. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wyetuck88 Neutral Newbie March 31, 2023 Share March 31, 2023 @Rollagt ahh okok, this lack of ready parts is putting me off 😞 alright time to rethink about it. Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...