Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 both are fully synthetic oil. but shell helix is 5w-40 and mobil is 5w-30. using shell now and haf about 1/3 bottle left. wants to change to mobil 1. can mixed both oils together? thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 simple terms... Better not cos different viscosity!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Author Share February 22, 2006 aiyo den how ar? muz stick to shell all the way ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 Can drain out Shell and pour in the mobil 1 on your next servicing lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 Can mix lah..... Another way is to change to Mobil 1 and keep the 1/3 bottle of Shell for topping up inbetween OCI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Author Share February 22, 2006 okie okie thank you for all ur replies. let me be guinea pig and mix and see what happen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 Fyi.... I've been mixing quite a fair bit.... Mixed 2 quarts AMSOIL 10W-40 with Mobil 1 0W-40..... no problems... Mixed 2 quarts of Mobil 1 0W-40 with Mobil 1 15W-50 also no problem..... All because I had left over. Now I've just bought cxxxxxe and have left over M1 15W-50.... might mix again. But maybe not as I intend to do shorter OCI for cxxxxxe. M1 seems too good/expensive to use for short OCI. Most likely will buy more to make up a complete fill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Author Share February 22, 2006 (edited) eh... M1 4w-30 got someone selling 1 carton (6 bottles each 1 litre) for $60 Edited February 22, 2006 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 30 weight is too thin for me... thanks for the feedback. But should you see at least 40 weighted Mobil 1 and going cheap, let me know hor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Author Share February 22, 2006 okie no prob. anyway thin or thick got wad diff ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 (edited) can mix la.. i intend to mix this for my next servicing 200ml Mobil Delvac 15w40 1600ml M1 10w30 1000ml RP 5w20 dunno any chemical conflict or not Edited February 22, 2006 by Cyberet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Author Share February 22, 2006 eh... urs sounds more like rojak to me leh. indian rojak or chinese rojak? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 I cannot use too thin oil as I like to wack my ride. Higher temps are experienced and my oil is usually badly sheared & comes out like water during my 10K oil changes. If using thin oil to start with... if it breaks down further, my engine might not get sufficient protection till the next OCI. Also, thicker oils give quieter running engine at the expense of FC... but I can live with that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 (edited) ang mo rojak aiya got left over mah, so mix all in la thick ah.. thick and slimy and gooy thin is.. thin, water, and slippery galant can use 30wt i think Edited February 22, 2006 by Cyberet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 (edited) u running turbo charged car, of course la NA seldom gets so hot unless u track normal driving takes about 20mins for the oil to reach operating temperture Edited February 22, 2006 by Cyberet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Author Share February 22, 2006 thick ah.. thick and slimy and gooy thin is.. thin, water, and slippery ----------------------------------------------- sounds like something u produce if u do to often and if u do it once awhile Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 22, 2006 Author Share February 22, 2006 so means, thinner oil will be abit better FC but noisy engine? i dun really wack my ride so i think its alrite. moreover i always change at abt 7k instead of 10k so galant 5w-30 no problem hor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 20 mins for oil to reach operating temp? Wah... so long ah.... It takes about 3 mins of slow/easy driving (about 5km at below 2k rpm) for my oil temp to reach about 80 and about 5 min (~ 10km) to reach 90 deg. If wack from cold start (which is not advisable), then I think it'll be much , much faster. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...