Why aren't/can't all cars Turbo?

Spade

there's nothing wrong with being the same... in fact in everybody was the same, then all traffic should flow smoother... no idiotic picanto hogging the road when the light turns green. Why do you think there are jams? To simply state, "everyone will be the same anyway..?" is suggestive of the ego, and/or the desire to go faster than the next individual. I'm speaking collectively here, again there's nothing wrong with the ability of everybody to take off at 6 seconds when desired to do so, i mean if they wish they can keep it down to 10 by not performing a wide open throttle, but that's up to them. 10 seconds is not good enough for a lot of drivers out there... it seems like so many are still asking how they can make it faster. My estimates are that 6 seconds are good enough for just about anybody. There'll be almost none of that my balls are bigger than yours nonsense. Of course you'll still have your 1001hp Bugattis and 3 second Zondas... but I'm talking about general public here.

Think about it, if every car in the world came at 6 seconds and is ok in FC... would anybody complain? I'd like to hear from people... my car is too fast... that is a good complain. Most of the time I hear the opposite...

vtec = lift, another set of cam inside.

it cost alot more than a basic engine.

they must design it also, honda will not allow other to use their stuff.

till now, only toyota vvtli, mit mivec work like vtec. but design all diff.

else honda will sus them.

sorry lemme take back what I said about turbo with regards to a blown turbo - yes, like all cars, something blow must go and fix, eg tyre, engine, crankshaft, turbo. I have driven turbos around, not blown ones... so yes I have not driven a turbo with a blown turbine.

with regards to turbines spinning constantly, hmm... i believe there must be a system or controlled process that bypasses this constant spinning. maybe not? anyway I still this that a turbo is a great system and better than using Nitrous Oxide. Small turbos... little lag so no big issue. Big turbos are not for pickup but for racing. I'm not talking about racing.

sorry about my ignorance on such issues of the disadvantages of turbos... I want to highlight the advantages.

how about LPTs and VTECs?

in reference to aesthetic design

I'm talking about shape... not type of material, amount of material, not material similarity. Why don't these pacific rim manufacturers take design cues from proper looking cars?

cost more? honda just using their marketing to BS you into buying their extra cam.. come one now, it's an extra piece of metal and various parts that've been fashioned by a robotic arm in a factory that uses no lights. cost of research = overcome by the sales and revenue into their gigantic bank accounts. cost of producing that extra set of cams? labour = zero, done by the robotic arm, material = USD$3 ?

of course inflated by bank loan, government tax, export/import duties, COE, ARF, and the greatest margin of all, your friendly neighbourhood dealer smiling to the bank when he/she tells you, "Honda good!", yes...

people always take my words the wrong way. Bro, I'm talking about shape. please exclude material out of the discussion.

Another great thing about supercars - nobody wastes money to mod those things [laugh]

A friend asked me before "do ferrari owners do volt-stab and grounding?" [laugh]

I'm pretty sure those wires inside ferraris and zondas are made of gold or at least silver. Imagine chucking some thick copper wire inside... [laugh][laugh]

I can't imagine someone putting solid gold wires into a Toyota for grounding. Same concept as why not all cars come with turbos. It's not needed. Besides, turbos are hell to cool down, so unless you have Veyron-levels of engineering in the TC car, going for an extended road trip in a TC car is likely to be a headache after a while... A big powerful NA engine is still the best (let's leave W16 quad turboed Veyrons out of the picture....)

Can you imagine a Ferrari Enzo raised to the height of say, a Toyota Vios off the ground? Looks fugly dude. And believe me, nobody is going to want to pay through the nose for hydraulic or air-matic suspensions simply to have that kind of shape and still look decent and still be able to go over speed bumps.

thanks for your clarification bro! [thumbsup] ok.. so no turbo is good. then my question is - are all WRXs / SAABs unreliable and cannot drive for long distances? Howabout the Legacy GT, S15 and the R34? are these very bad cars?

if you look at my list, I was comparing apples to apples, car types to car types... I didn't compare a Ferrari to a Vios.

I don't know about the rest, but WRXes have problems enduring an extended drive up the NSH. Evos have even bigger problems. These cars need to rest to cool down their intercoolers after a while.

NA engines meanwhile can chug on for much longer distances before needing to rest.

cost more? honda just using their marketing to BS you into buying their extra cam.. come one now, it's an extra piece of metal and various parts that've been fashioned by a robotic arm in a factory that uses no lights. cost of research = overcome by the sales and revenue into their gigantic bank accounts. cost of producing that extra set of cams? labour = zero, done by the robotic arm, material = USD$3 ?

of course inflated by bank loan, government tax, export/import duties, COE, ARF, and the greatest margin of all, your friendly neighbourhood dealer smiling to the bank when he/she tells you, "Honda good!", yes...

it is not just another piece of metal & various parts.

it`s compicated.

if really so easy & cheap, y after honda, only mit & toyota do it? they dun do it on all their cars. mit only lancer MR have it. toyota only celica ss2, corola sport( not avaible in spore).

The fact remains that the shape of a Ferrari Enzo is not suited to be even as high up as an Integra. It really will look out of place.

Besides, think of the practicality. Even the Integra, the S15s, can all be driven on the road day in day out with minimal fuss. Try driving a Lotus Elise or better, a Lamborghini Diablo. You'll grow sick of trying to park it after a few tries.

The last thing is, Ferraris are built to have a certain sort of character. So are Lambos, Porsches, and all the exotics. That's why they're exotic. That's why they turn heads. If the entire world started driving Hondas that look like Zondas tomorrow, Pagani would probably end up re-designing the car (and sue-ing the pants off Honda) and you'd be back at square one.

huh... sry but ur post is alittle immature [rolleyes]

1. u don't need a turbo, naturally everyone wants to cut cost.

all piston aircraft should have turbo also (though alot of them have), cos the air is less dense up there, but no. instead they just operate at a lower altitude. one less moving part = one less part that can go wrong..

2. 0-100 under 6sec? then the accident rates must be very high.. crossing the road everytime would be a game of life and death. and your odds of making it to the next meal is just 1 in 10.

3. might as well say ALL CARS MUST BE SUPERCARS, if u can't afford then don't drive. anything that is is less than 7l, doesn't have a V6 and above, clearance of more than 3 inches, or has more than 4 wheels should not be allowed on the roads..

btw "NICE", is an opinion. what's nice to someone may be ugly to another.

how u stop ppl from buying cars? u rule the world? [rolleyes]

Edited by Yc86

this statement I'm about to make is a statement to myself too... I guess the reaason is marketing.. it's almost never due to cost. marketing is what provides you with "choice" - choice to buy A, B, or C. when in fact it all costs the same.

A - cost same same C but marketed to you and me as top stuff. VTEC, MIVEC, VVTi... ask some pple in the forum here, it's basically a more efficient form of engineering, but don't quote me on that... I'm clueless because I'm no engineer. Mass production has equalised everything to produce a good car... they just want to sell CRAP to us that's all.

it is the same as food - some of the best food is found in hawker centres / coffee shops. So why do people go at eat lower grade stuff from high end restaurants?

Is the base cost of producing engine oils the same? Yet why are they so different in price?

Is the base cost of producing petrol the same? Yet why is Singapore so costly in petrol price as compared to our neighbours?

nice... hmmm... in general concensus a head turner would be considered nice by anyone... why do you think it turns heads? the majority of things generally considered nice is considered, nice by everyone. EG. Ferrari... I can't think of anyone male or female who would say that the car looks like crap, darn ugly, wouldn't want one if given free... bro... no, I don't rule the world, but the car manufacturers do.. so those whole rule the world should at least have a thought on make all cars look nice enough the be considered nice by the general concensus... no quirky pieces of crap like the pig snout WRX or the UGLIEST piece of butt ever - the PT Cruiser... whoever designed that should be caned!

vtec, mivec, vvtli, all got bad torque curve compare to car of similar CC.

their peak torque are around the region of 6000+rpm.

1st they dun make it for all cars becos it expensive + complicated + patent issus, but u dun believe.

second, actually how many ppl really wan to rev to 6000rpm for peak torque?

petrol price is expensive becos gov tax high, they dun wan so many cars on the road. causing owning a car = expensive.

heheh... if i can turn crap into gold and make ppl buy, i will make millions in profit.. who cares what they use it for [laugh]

there are some who dun like the EG look, too flat lah.. look like c0ckroach.. so low kena crushed by MPV they also dunno.

also hav ppl dun like ferrari.. why pay so much for something with 4 wheels.. ride so low, only can sit 2.. suspension so stiff can feel every grain of sand on the road.. blah blah