Tploh Clutched February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 (edited) I plan to change stock 175/65-R14 to 195/50-R15. Besides knowing both are 4xPCD100 and the diameter changed is within +/- 3%, what else do I have to look out for ? ( e.g. off set, J ) Thanks ! Edited February 17, 2006 by Tploh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teddi Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 Load rating. The rating should be higher than your stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 not necessarily true example : check out the stock load rating for kangoo and see if can find any aftermkt here with that load rating Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched February 18, 2006 Author Share February 18, 2006 But does off-set and Rim width (6, 6.5 or 7) matter ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear February 19, 2006 Share February 19, 2006 if urs is 14 inch steel rim, width should be 5.5, if 14 sport , 6 inch for 15 inch sport should be 6.5 ur offset should be 10 less than ur original rim offset Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orpheus Neutral Newbie March 2, 2006 Share March 2, 2006 Well, I recently just upsize my 185/65R14 "Kah Motor Rim" Dunlop LM702 to 195/55R15 RM Rim Yokohama ES501 (I want GR80 but they don't have my size). Pickup: Old > New (New tyres draggy) Braking: (Dry) New > Old (maybe just because it's new) Braking: (Wet) New > Old (maybe just because it's new) Hump: Old > New (Old not so jumpy) Crusing: New > Old (New more stable) Cornering: Old <> New (Old has smaller turning radius but New is more stable) Steering: New > Old (new more responsive) FC: New = Old (no noticable change) Noise: new > Old (maybe just because it's new) Comfort: New > Old (maybe just because it's new) Also, my Dunlop LM702 is already > 2 yrs & > 50K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear March 2, 2006 Share March 2, 2006 I plan to change stock 175/65-R14 to 195/50-R15. Besides knowing both are 4xPCD100 and the diameter changed is within +/- 3%, what else do I have to look out for ? ( e.g. off set, J ) Thanks ! how deep is ur pocket ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoom99 Neutral Newbie March 2, 2006 Share March 2, 2006 Hi Tploh You are not suppose to up the size this way. Well check the specs in your car's manual. If I'm not worng, the appropriate size should be 195/60/R15. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear March 2, 2006 Share March 2, 2006 u send the msg to the wrong guy ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched March 2, 2006 Author Share March 2, 2006 But when I use the tyre calculator, it shows a 5.5% difference leh : Tire Size Comparison Specification Sidewall Radius Diameter Circumference Revs/Mile Difference 175/65-14 4.5in 11.5in 23.0in 72.1in 879 0.0% 195/60-15 4.6in 12.1in 24.2in 76.1in 833 5.5% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 2, 2006 Share March 2, 2006 (edited) 195/60-15 is too much, should be 195/50-15. Actually the right size to upgrade from 175/65-14 should be 185/55-15. If it's not available then should be 195/50-15. Is it for a Jazz or City? Edited March 2, 2006 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 2, 2006 Share March 2, 2006 (edited) Specification Sidewall Radius Diameter Circumference Revs/Mile Difference 175/65-14 4.5in 11.5in 23.0in 72.1in 879 0.0% 185/55-15 4.0in 11.5in 23.0in 72.3in 876 0.2% 195/50-15 3.8in 11.3in 22.7in 71.2in 889 -1.2% 195/55-15 4.2in 11.7in 23.4in 73.7in 860 2.1% I am using 195/55-15, upgraded from 175/65-14. No problem for the past 2 years. Edited March 2, 2006 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched March 2, 2006 Author Share March 2, 2006 Then what was the width of your rims before and after ? i.e. when 14" rim = 6" width. 15" rim = 6.5" or 7" ? Thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 2, 2006 Share March 2, 2006 Sorry bro, I oso not sure. The before was steel rims from KM, the after is OZ superleggera. Not sure what's the width. But the offset for the OZ rims is 37+. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vi_vi Neutral Newbie March 3, 2006 Share March 3, 2006 sorry to lobang your thread. MCF do not allow me to start thread coz I have too little post. I dented one of my rims in an accident and it is pretty unsightly. Thinking of changing just this one, same model since the rest are less than a yr old. Does anyone know if it is possible to buy just one rim? Please help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tploh Clutched March 3, 2006 Author Share March 3, 2006 Or you can "repair" that specific rim - Yew Lip is frequently mentioned in this forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear March 6, 2006 Share March 6, 2006 Thanks for the comparsion.. But I think it maybe better if you compare both using the same tire choice. THis way it may be more accurate (on the different between a 14" & 15"). Need to highlight the following: Pickup - ur car izzt <1.5L auto? Maybe the tire might be too big for your engine. Thus u feel the pickup department is lacky. Furthermore the type of tire also affect pickup. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...