What else to look out for when upsizing ?

Tploh

I plan to change stock 175/65-R14 to 195/50-R15.

Besides knowing both are 4xPCD100 and the diameter changed is within +/- 3%, what else do I have to look out for ? ( e.g. off set, J )

Thanks !

Edited by Tploh

Well, I recently just upsize my 185/65R14 "Kah Motor Rim" Dunlop LM702 to 195/55R15 RM Rim Yokohama ES501 (I want GR80 but they don't have my size).

Pickup: Old > New (New tyres draggy)

Braking: (Dry) New > Old (maybe just because it's new)

Braking: (Wet) New > Old (maybe just because it's new)

Hump: Old > New (Old not so jumpy)

Crusing: New > Old (New more stable)

Cornering: Old <> New (Old has smaller turning radius but New is more stable)

Steering: New > Old (new more responsive)

FC: New = Old (no noticable change)

Noise: new > Old (maybe just because it's new)

Comfort: New > Old (maybe just because it's new)

Also, my Dunlop LM702 is already > 2 yrs & > 50K.

I plan to change stock 175/65-R14 to 195/50-R15.

Besides knowing both are 4xPCD100 and the diameter changed is within +/- 3%, what else do I have to look out for ? ( e.g. off set, J )

Thanks !

how deep is ur pocket ...

Hi Tploh

You are not suppose to up the size this way.

Well check the specs in your car's manual.

If I'm not worng, the appropriate size should be 195/60/R15.

But when I use the tyre calculator, it shows a 5.5% difference leh :

Tire Size Comparison

Specification Sidewall Radius Diameter Circumference Revs/Mile Difference

175/65-14 4.5in 11.5in 23.0in 72.1in 879 0.0%

195/60-15 4.6in 12.1in 24.2in 76.1in 833 5.5%

195/60-15 is too much, should be 195/50-15.

Actually the right size to upgrade from 175/65-14 should be 185/55-15. If it's not available then should be 195/50-15.

Is it for a Jazz or City?

Edited by Fcw75

Specification Sidewall Radius Diameter Circumference Revs/Mile Difference

175/65-14 4.5in 11.5in 23.0in 72.1in 879 0.0%

185/55-15 4.0in 11.5in 23.0in 72.3in 876 0.2%

195/50-15 3.8in 11.3in 22.7in 71.2in 889 -1.2%

195/55-15 4.2in 11.7in 23.4in 73.7in 860 2.1%

I am using 195/55-15, upgraded from 175/65-14. No problem for the past 2 years.

Edited by Fcw75

Then what was the width of your rims before and after ? i.e. when 14" rim = 6" width. 15" rim = 6.5" or 7" ?

Thanks in advance.

Sorry bro, I oso not sure. The before was steel rims from KM, the after is OZ superleggera. Not sure what's the width. But the offset for the OZ rims is 37+.

sorry to lobang your thread. MCF do not allow me to start thread coz I have too little post.

I dented one of my rims in an accident and it is pretty unsightly. Thinking of changing just this one, same model since the rest are less than a yr old.

Does anyone know if it is possible to buy just one rim?

Please help.

Or you can "repair" that specific rim - Yew Lip is frequently mentioned in this forum.

Thanks for the comparsion..

But I think it maybe better if you compare both using the same tire choice. THis way it may be more accurate (on the different between a 14" & 15").

Need to highlight the following:

Pickup - ur car izzt <1.5L auto? Maybe the tire might be too big for your engine. Thus u feel the pickup department is lacky. Furthermore the type of tire also affect pickup.