Vit4wd 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Correction Bro...I used to own 2004 XLI G9 Manual, currently driving a Vios. From my Personal experience....G9 definitely has better insulation & more comfortable ride comparing to Vios. I find so too. Both G9 Corolla and Vios shares same 1NZ FE engine, but the Vios engine sounds very harsh and noisy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Have you considered the Nissan Sunny EX saloon which is same price as Vios? 100% Japan manufactured too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Yes, I agree with you. The Octavia is now cheaper than the Altis and you kill 2 birds with 1 stone. Conti car safety and Jap fuel economy with German reliability Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 In fact, I'm asking you these becos there's a bro in another forum who is super pro altis. When I mentioned "thai made", "ah pek" and altis not a luxury car, he whack me left right center Sadly, narrow minded people like these are aplenty. After spending so much $$$ on their cars, they cannot accept criticisms on their car. They only wanna hear the good things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Hi Sunray, Definitely no offence Like you, I cannot convince myself to get an overpriced made in Thailand car, because of its brand. If you need to substantiate the fact that the Altis is nothing great to shout about, this piece of pictoral evidence should be v helpful to u. http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...g=altis;#983934 Paying a premium for a product with dubious quality. I feel that Toyota is over-emphasizing the VVTi technology with the VVTi emblems stuck deliberately on the current Toyotas. Many people fail to realise that European car manufacturers have perfected the variable valve timing technology as early as the 1980s. Does BMW go around making its technology known by pasting VANOS emblems on its cars? BTW, are u driving a Sunny? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear February 17, 2006 Share February 17, 2006 Hi, That is the local motoring community in Singapore. In Europe, motorists are very open to criticisms on the cars they have. They learn to appreciate the beauty of what other car manufacturers offer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 Though I mentioned EX sunny is 100% jap made and somemore it's cheaper than vios let alone altis, but people in other forum argued that vios and altis still jap made but "assemble in thai only". They asked me can you find a jap car that is everything totally jap made? If they said like that, no point for me to carry on arguing with them. Just like the chicken and egg thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 In fact most people like to hear good things. But the true hard fact is usually and normally, more crude than we can expect of. Anyway, I can't change their mindset. They're free to think whatever they like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qtm550 Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 that is why i never buy a toyota vios or tortis... too damn common on the road.... too confusing....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 Heard about altis poor workmanship before but haven't really seen it myself. But most people still either naive or ignorant, or simply turn on to a blind eye when people challenge them the quality of altis. May be they think that driving a jap car must drive a "toyota" and VVTi is a must have engine technology. Some even said "toyota" cars can give you a better resale value. By the way, think VVTi works well in vios only but not altis (feedback from my vios and altis friends). Hey buddy, I thought I'm the "lone ranger" in the war with the super pro altis guy out there in the other forum. At least most people here share my sentiments. Guess I'm not in the wrong camp here. Yes, I'm driving the FL EX sunny. Any comments besides poor FC and lack of power? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 (edited) Think "too common" is not a good reason for not buying. The good thing about common vehicles on the roads is: plenty of spare parts, easily available and their price is relatively cheap. But it may not apply to "good resale value". If you want to sell your "common" vehicle but your price is too high and though I want to buy it but I can always get from the rest of the "common" vehicles which may offer a better price than you. So what "good resale value" we're talking here. Can anyone enlighten me? Edited February 18, 2006 by Sunray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kng_jy Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 my 2c views: vios = pros: value for money, can be chio if add bodykit, FC good Cons: too mani on the road liao, see until pek chek altis = pros: compare to vios, better class & image Cons: quite a bland n ah pek car leh, quite common as well, if i were u, i'll consider, suzuki swift, ignis, honda city, jazz, edix, This Ah Pek Altis is what i havin now that a good look Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunray Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 Your "dummy" turbo charger looks good. But does it really work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 ok, i'm driving an altis. yes the Quality or workmanship is not exactly good. in some areas, its poor. but to be fair, i've also seen poor workmanship in sunny and Latio. What i'm not happy with altis is, there's some parts where the problems don't lies with workmanship. its the product manufacture defects. once i take a photo of it, i'll show you guys. Altis is a no frills cars. Can bring you from point A to point B without having to worry about car problem happening along the way. (Unlike my previous Wira!!! ) interior is comfy and spacious enough. Compare Vios and Altis. if you're 1.75m tall and above, please take altis. dun want you to hit your head everytime. if you don't want your rear passengers who are 1.75m tall and above to hit their heads, Please take altis. don't want you to feel that you're living in the David and Goliath world (ok, that's exaggerating. ) the headroom and legroom for Vios is really very tight... Altis noise insulation is much much better than Vios. Vios FC (15km/l) is better than Altis (Mine is doing abt 11.5km/l) if you're on the road very often, and FC is a big factor to you, then take Jazz. its abit more ex than Altis, but the cost saving from petrol is sure to be more than the addition $ fork out. work out your sums carefully before you make a decision. These days, once you buy a car, you'll probably have to stick with it for the next 5 years or more! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 Hi bro, Glad that you understand what I am trying to elucidate. I am offering another viable option for those who are looking at a mid-sized saloon under $60k. There are some Altis owners who simply cannot tolerate criticisms on their rides. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie February 18, 2006 Share February 18, 2006 hahhahaa have to try to understand them also lah... they spend $60k on the car... machiam their baby... then kanna criticise sure feel abit boh song mah it's like telling them they made a $60k wrong judgement. I just want to be objective. for the good of the masses. for those who haven't got their ride, its best for them to know as much as possible what they are getting into. Pity this thread didn't start earlier... or else i may consider Skoda... looks like an viable option.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Used Neutral Newbie February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 i like Altis decide to buy altis, according to www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/pricelist.php?MAK=Toyota, Altis 108BHP and top speed 175km/h , but vios 109BHP and top speed 180km/h , and 10k cheaper than altis, surely FC better than altis, should I go to which one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitlan Neutral Newbie February 22, 2006 Share February 22, 2006 Vios: Pros: Better pick-up Slight better FC 12-13km/l(AT) 14-15km/l(MT) Slight stiffer suspension when cornering Cons: Poor sound insulation Cramp rear passenger seat Altis: Pros: Much better sound insulation compare to vios Smoother gear change Smoother comfortable ride Cons: Very soft suspension Pickup not as good as vios Conclusion: Altis will offer a more comfortable ride but sacrificing the sportiness in engine but there is still the super ECT which can compromise a little Vios will be a harsher ride but it has a slight better handing and responsiveness as compares to Altis for the once in awhile boy-racer in you but compromise on comfort eg engine/road sound, space softer & lighter body ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...