Hyun Neutral Newbie February 12, 2006 Share February 12, 2006 while the topic is hot on steamboat subs, sub grills etc, how about this: u guys got any experience where when u corner or accelerate, ur sub fly, hit something and got damaged? how did u anchor the sub and how come it fly? btw, thanks bros for the recommendation, i found the velcro that on each of the male-female pieces there is adhesive. it was sold at beach road Army Market for $5 per 36 inch though the aunty gave me 40 inch. not sure if it's a carrot head price. i used 4 strips of velcro each about 9-10 cm long in a square shape to anchor the sub to my plastic boot floor. when removing the sub, the velcro surfaces are very sticky but the adhesive, being weaker, comes off the plastic surface. but when driving it looks secure - sideways movement seems quite difficult - the adhesive can tahan. but not sure if it will lose strength over time - will monitor the situation. p.s. velcro also useful to stick things like HU remote control - i used small strip, anchor remote control cheaply, so no need to buy the steering remote. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 NPNT!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 yoyo, maybe u can try 3M velcro tape.. tat time my friend buy 2 strips for like $5 (kena con i tink), but DAMM sticky.. if u want, next time give it a try lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan0507 Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 try to put two anchor bar at left and right size of yr sub box Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 It is very sticky but will give way after some time...esp if under heat (dashboard area etc) Used it b4...damn expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 I screwed mine down but have to remove 2 screws if accessing spare tire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 use bicycle hook lah, the one used during SOC to hold ur SBO. heheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 i prefer screwing it in lol but heard of a lot of ppl using velcro too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Author Share February 13, 2006 woah like that one fine day it dries up and detaches... if we dun realise, the sub might just be flung around causing damage ... that's it, must quickly grill it down for protection ASAP ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 my velcro sticks to my boot carpet really well.. want to take out for cleaning oso hard.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Author Share February 13, 2006 u mean the velcro plastic hooks hook onto your carpet directly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiakia Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 while the topic is hot on steamboat subs, sub grills etc, how about this: u guys got any experience where when u corner or accelerate, ur sub fly, hit something and got damaged? how did u anchor the sub and how come it fly? btw, thanks bros for the recommendation, i found the velcro that on each of the male-female pieces there is adhesive. it was sold at beach road Army Market for $5 per 36 inch though the aunty gave me 40 inch. not sure if it's a carrot head price. i used 4 strips of velcro each about 9-10 cm long in a square shape to anchor the sub to my plastic boot floor. when removing the sub, the velcro surfaces are very sticky but the adhesive, being weaker, comes off the plastic surface. but when driving it looks secure - sideways movement seems quite difficult - the adhesive can tahan. but not sure if it will lose strength over time - will monitor the situation. p.s. velcro also useful to stick things like HU remote control - i used small strip, anchor remote control cheaply, so no need to buy the steering remote. My installer used a piece of plank (wood) below my sub , but under the carpet. i.e the sub is above the carpet which is above the plank. The plank must be large enough to support the 4 mountings of the sub. and the sub is securely screwed into the plank. Good luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 yup.. i onli have the male side of the velcro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 SO PPLE Own up.... now...! Whos' flew before?!! I nvr heard of it anyway... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 actually, i got one friend, b4 he changed to his current ride, he was drivin a zng SIR, he told me once he wack his car until his woofer flip over and when he checked, it was upside down.. hahahaha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 if you try taking the bends down 99 bends at about 80 - 90 km/h your woofer confirm fly one. don't ask me how i know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie February 13, 2006 Share February 13, 2006 (edited) This are the 2 solutions i have that is easy to DIY... I am using solution 2 never tried solution 1 for sub Solution 1 can also be improvised to have 2 L brackets...but that mean 2 more screws... edit..the diagram should read...should really stick well to ur boot's carpet. Edited February 13, 2006 by Darkness ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...