Kelvinw Neutral Newbie May 22, 2006 Share May 22, 2006 as a newbie in ICE, i'm not able to figure out what is best, and the best will out of my budget as well. So, a decent level system which i affortable will be my choice. actually i am not going to install in Sg as i will bring my stuffs back to KL to install for my Civic, so buying from any shop will be fine, just considering the price qoute will be my choice. Huh.. i also thought that Leader Auto and Hock Hin are the main dealer, now come one more Audioedge? so, which of them is main dealer/distributor? talk about RCA cable, i have ever heard that got ppl or even the ICE installer DIY make the RCA cable for their system, just wonder can i do it as well (i'm an electronic base student and know soldering well), I buy good quality RCA connector and cable, can it be done? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie May 22, 2006 Share May 22, 2006 AE is another installer... Do you know whats good cable & connector? You have silver solder? You know how long you will need for the RCA/ speaker cable length for your car? No? Then buy ready made one la or ask ur installer to sell/recommend you lor... simpler right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bloggs Neutral Newbie May 22, 2006 Share May 22, 2006 Wah sooo serious?? Easier to buy off the shelf la!! If you so on want to DIY, can even consider putting together your own amp joking hor!! Anyway, for RCAs just look out that they are well shielded to prevent noise lor. think no need to spend too much on it...i feel the normal ones and the expensive ones not so much diff. (pls dun flame) my humble opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bloggs Neutral Newbie May 22, 2006 Share May 22, 2006 ohh..speaking of Alpine, Anyone has comments on the W200? looks pretty cool with the touch screen, DVD, 24 bit...anyone using? Sorry to hijack haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 W200 = One of my bro just installed in his new civic. Very chio for a double din hu. Tried playing pirated dvd and it works as well, sound quality and imaging is ok. Prefer W200 to the 310 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 (edited) no...la just trying to let him know what are expected onli ma... Anyway, for our friend ref, gd cable : Canare Kimber Van de Hul Audision Soundstream Monster cable EFX ETC.... gd connector: Switchcraft Neutrik Alps EFX ETC.. Length for most car: 5M Solder: Any solder with 4~6% silver content.. veri X 100+ At Least, my ear can catch the diff in sound produce by diff cable grade and type... hv to listen la , no point get good components when ur ear cannot hear the diff.... Edited May 23, 2006 by Fff0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bloggs Neutral Newbie May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 haha ok.... lucky for me cant tell the diff, so no need to spend $$. For you dont know if it's a good thing or bad thing. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bloggs Neutral Newbie May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 wah!! dont wait liao....can play pirated!! SQ and imaging not soo impt. Region 9 is the most impt!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 hey.. hey.. I'm sure most pple can catch the diff... side by side comparison or change ur long existing setup maybe u will feel the diff... For me: no $$ so doesnt matter... can onli envy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinw Neutral Newbie May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 thanks again for the valueable informations. looks like DIY RCA cable is not a good way and may mess out the system. but i still don have the idea that the so call best cable u suggested, it will hit to how much of cost ler? let say 5M for standard usage to connect from HU to amplifier located at rear boot. can roughly arrange the below from the top expansive to cheaper and the price range, Canare Kimber Van de Hul Audision Soundstream Monster cable EFX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie May 23, 2006 Share May 23, 2006 difficult to say le... cause got many models... in ea brand... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinw Neutral Newbie May 24, 2006 Share May 24, 2006 or let say like this, if i would have a budget of S$100 to get a 5 meters RCA cable, which good brand i can consider for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie May 27, 2006 Share May 27, 2006 I tink none of the abv... cause u will need at least 1 pair of RCA leaving you with 50 for each. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear May 27, 2006 Share May 27, 2006 Stinger expert series RCA cables.. heheh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie May 28, 2006 Share May 28, 2006 (edited) yo, 1 more thing to note: how abt the sub RCA cable? How abt spker cable? Power cable? Edited May 28, 2006 by Fff0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinw Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 (edited) y i need of one pair of RCA cable? do i able to use only 1 RCA cable signal to juice the 4 channel amp? that mean one stereo input to 4 channel amp to amplifier to 4 channel output for front comp and sub? Edited June 11, 2006 by Kelvinw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvinw Neutral Newbie June 11, 2006 Share June 11, 2006 do i need RCA cable for sub? i thought the sub input is from amp's output which is use of speaker cable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fff0 Neutral Newbie June 12, 2006 Share June 12, 2006 Hi, Depends on ur HU, lets say 3 preout (High, mid, low) if u plan to install an active system. High - 1 pair (pos & neg), tweeter. Mid - 1 pair (pos & neg) for mid driver, 6.5/5" one low - 1 pair (pos & neg) for sub If passive setup, then 2 pair enuff liao.... sub and front. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...