Colt Plus: Hint of Regret

Spas

Don't like the steer with 2 fingers ah? Kekeke....

I once showed a passenger how to do a U-turn with 1 finger =P

Damm shiok leh.

This kind of steering, very nice for city driving lah. Effortless.

Still remember the 1st car I drove... the 1st Honda CRX, no power steering, ... *sweat*. LOL

Such a huge contrast.

I thought now the latest Jap car has auto parking feature. Leave the car to do the parking for you, don't even need a finger.

Regards,

i still dun trust tt technology.

Haha...last year ntu students came up with the same tech, but on the day tt they showcase their project to the professors, the car keep on reversing into the other cars and onto the kerb! [laugh]

I see liao also [sweatdrop]

Dunno if the japs mastered it, but i bet one day it will just Cuck up and you will find your airbag deployed [:p]

"The colt's fine. Think my wife and i are used to it. We call it the "button" car. Throttle like button, brake like button and steering like never there. It's still a cute little car. Not exactly the most economical in terms of fuel "sippage" though."

How much are you getting for the FC btw? Heard its ard 12-13km/L...

Hi, just test drove the Colt Plus just a couple of days ago, I like it even though the steering is light and the pedals are "button" like? The power is sufficient and I view it more as a utility vehicle, it would be one of a consideration. For a driver's kind of car, these cars just won't cut it as it's more for city driving than Sepang.. .

Since we're on the topic of colt plus...

I just realised that the insurance for this car is darn high!

Fine i may be 28 w/ 0% NCD...

But 1900+ for insurance is crapp...

same here. tested n booked one last week.

personally find e light steering fantastic. y need so much feedback? not racing mah. wasted it doesnt come w BMW 5 series steering features.

pedals r great, allows for great control like wat a fellow MCFer had said... caress e pedals [sweatdrop] better than corolla's pedals which are 'so high up'.... got to raise my whole foot during driving, coz got ankle problem. still remember those days when one hv to mod e pedals so tt they r 'softer' n 'lower'... those were e EG6 days [lipsrsealed]

Good choice! IMHO.. thumbsup.gif I think the power is pretty good for it's use to move around traffic and at the same time I like the DOHC layout plus all the storage space... Right now, it's high on the list.. other consideration is the JAZZ but the power ratings is wanting as I am only considering CVT/auto etc.. but the Colt's triptronic is wicked! sly.gif add 10 pts to that! nod.gif

It is eletrical assist steering non hydraulic. the lightness is due to the effect of ECU. I believe tat when your car speed increases, the ECU will reduce dependency and allow you to hv a better grip. Very common approach among Jap cars.

I dun agree. Electrical assist is suited more for "city" driving hence the light steering.

What u had mentioned is power steering with variable assist. My dad had a high end conti car with this option fitted as standard. As the car travel faster the steering has a more resistant feel. I driven it b4 and one must drive quite fast to feel it though.

For A-pillar, it is not as bad, but you hv to learn to make use of the small triangle also and not conceal it with a big sticker. tat small triangle allow you to watch out for kerbs as you corner in on your right side.

Also due to the lowered bonnet, best you stand next to the car, at seat position and gauge how far is the front of your car, eg 1.5m. so f it is 1.5m, remember tat distance hard. You'll need it.

A-pillars ar design to absorb frontal crash/roll & protect the front occupant of the car. So over the years u've seen these A-pillars getting thicker is for safety reasons. My dad's car and my own car also have these thick pillars.

I could steer the Colt's wheel with my pinkie.. with JUST my pinkie...

When i told my friends about the Colt Plus' light steering they were saying can't be as light as (insert car with light steering here). And when i let them try they were shocked.

That's how light the Colt Plus steering's like. There's ZERO roadfeel and feedback.

Really. Sometimes I exert too much force in turning and the car swings a little too fast. Cos it's tooooo light. Perhaps it's built for kids or something. Maybe in some remote country, 5 year olds can legally drive.

THAT'S how light it is. Really.

Sounded freaking dangerous to me.

I drove the Ford focus before and one thing I like about its handling is the roadfeel. Steering not very light....just enough. My current Optra also the same.

Why not this way bro....lower your tyre pressure a little. Or check if it was overpumped. If you lower your tyre pressure by 2PSI, I think you can feel the steering a little heavier.