Mrmurano Neutral Newbie February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 never like mitsubishi cars. i think they're not really very good and thier designs are not very amusing too. sorry to mitsubishi fans but, this is my point of view... the colt plus is super ugly, having a bulged out boot. the new mitsubishi colt is so small, people would rather get the honda jazz or the nissan latio sports to it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 Quote I could steer the Colt's wheel with my pinkie.. with JUST my pinkie... When i told my friends about the Colt Plus' light steering they were saying can't be as light as (insert car with light steering here). And when i let them try they were shocked. That's how light the Colt Plus steering's like. There's ZERO roadfeel and feedback. Really. Sometimes I exert too much force in turning and the car swings a little too fast. Cos it's tooooo light. Perhaps it's built for kids or something. Maybe in some remote country, 5 year olds can legally drive. THAT'S how light it is. Really. 1. Quite easy to address, you may wish to change to a larger low profile 17" wheels to your colt. The steering will become heavier. I also like cars with heavy steering. It gives me greater sense of security and control. 2. So far, IMHO, the Sonata 2.4L has the lightest steering among the big cars. Honda City can't be worse than Colt. Another car that can challenge Colt is the Picanto. By the way, you probably have not tried the smaller Korean cars. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cordia_gsr Neutral Newbie February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 I would agree that a wider contact tire and rim should improve the feel of the steering. Or if you want to add on more, get sport suspensions in and it will help as well. But it's costly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie February 5, 2006 Author Share February 5, 2006 Yea you're right. Never tried a korean car before. Actually don't really like korean cars personally. But will try one (not buy) soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 tot mits had a couple of nice ones like the galant and old 2 dr colt. the new cvts are really not that great. dont mention evo lah, thats another world altogether. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alvariom Neutral Newbie February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 I drive the colt...I agreed that the A pillars are causing a lot of problems with vision....i had a near miss on a few ocassions!! The steering is very light cuz they used rack and pinion electric power assist as opposed to hydralic....that translates to lighter and easier steering...good for one hand steering. My rack and pinion malfuctioned few months back then....and the steering was very difficult....should have sold you the car then since you like this type of stering so much :) People paid good money to have this on the BMW 5 series (aka servotronic) and you complain about it? I test drove the current BMW 3 series and found that the hydralic steering not to my liking! To each his own in driving preferences! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 the new mitsubishi colt is so small, people would rather get the honda jazz or the nissan latio sports to it. ------------- eh... get ur maths right. the colt is wider then jazz by 40mm. and i dun think latio/ swift is any taller. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hilander4650 Neutral Newbie February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 (edited) Quote What is the other car in the family? Take a look at my avatar loh. Anyway, my wife and i have driven a variety of cars (on a very frequent basis - not one-off) like the Ford Focus, Mazda3, BMW3series, Toyota LiteAce Van, Suzuki Swift, and of cos the alfa, and the colt's steering is by far the lightest and the one of the least feedback and road-feel. The "button" pedals need a little bit of getting used to too. change to bigger rims and tyres lor..can try 16 inch rims.. guranteed u can feel the feedback and roadfeel.. Edited February 5, 2006 by Hilander4650 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ashuras Neutral Newbie February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 When I 1st started driving the colt hor, I felt that the steering is light and not so stable at HIGH speeds (I like the light steering at low speeds). Now I'm getting used to it and am loving it, kekeke. Actaully, can feel the road one... it's like 'fly by wire' thingy. Very sensitive, machiam like playing computer game, keke. Precise control. Damm shiok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memoryresident Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Hmnnn..I'm driving the CPT dun have the problems mentioned in the above posts. Tested both cars b4 I bought it. In fact I feel that my other car, Vios, has ligher steering. Overall the CPT's a pretty good ride. Initially didnt like the design...found it ugly but the black CPT I got came with Ralliart kit so not that ugly. Haha. I have no problems with the A-pillar..but find the C-pillar (is that wat we call the 2 pillars on the rear windscreen?) a bit too thick. I'm using ultra long rear view mirror thus i can see everything from left rear passenger window to the right. At times a mini bus can be concealed by the c-pillar. FC's pretty good too. Initial 2 tanks got 11-13km/L but on average been getting around 10km/L the past 3 mths I've owned the car. Suspension for the CPT is hard. Think they might had used harder springs on the CPT. The rear is still torsion beam type suspension. Hard springs and rear torsion beam sus does not = to comfy ride. Sat behind once when my uncle was @ the wheel..didnt really enjoy the journey. Only thing good is that the CPT handles pretty well. Heard torsion beam type suspension helps to keep the "backside" in line. Another gribe is the electric tail-gate. Think the engineers were rushing 2 meet deadline. Yes, can open and close the tailgate using remote. Yes, can auto close the tailgate by pressing the button on the underside of the tailgate. But...there's no way for the driver to open the tailgate when he's in the cabin with key in ignition. 1/2 fuxk job. The C&C mechs and sales engineers' explaination that by making the tailgate only open from outside, helps to prevent accidental opening of the tailgate. That reasoning does not make sense to me. So they saying the Lexus engineers made a mistake on the RX300? Saw a lady open her tailgate from inside the RX300 cabin. $72k for the CPT...it's neither cheap or expensive. The CVT's "sports mode" is pretty fun. 0-100km/hr is true to paper specs of 8.4s but have to know how to launch the car. So far no (not much) regrets on getting it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 (edited) Spas so u happy or unhappy over yr new ride, I confused leh The steering u described sounds like electrical assist steering. I know what u mean bcos I felt the same when I test drove a few Jap cars including LEXUS (opps disclaimer: me not LEXUS basher just stating my honest opinion ). I know power steering is good to people who enjoy more laid back kinda of driving but I seriously wonder why the japanese made this type of steering technology, and wonder if they did some pre market test before launching it. I also read a number of websites in USA and quite a lot of feedback on this type of steering as yr COLT. It is easy to move the steering n probably good for new drivers who just got their driving licence as it makes the car easy to manage. But I find that it gives me the 'dont know where my car is going feeling' and felt very uneasy when car is picking up speed. I tested the GS300 before I bot my car, and one reason why I didnt get that car was bcos of the steering felt. I could drive the car with one hand holding steering, or more accurately just wrap 2 fingers around the steering n easily move it. My wife who also test drove back to back after me said the steering is like gonna come off like that and dont give the car the feeling of 'kick'. Since I am also the type of driver who doesnt drive with 2 fingers on teh steering, hence we didnt get that car or a car like the COLT. Wah u bot without a test drive? Salute ! Edited July 6, 2006 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Quote Upgrading of rims and suspension within the warranty priod is a NON NO for C&C cars - They void your warranty OMG.Just like another LTA.... F!@# u C&C haha. Must be they scared to scratch ur aftermarket rims, sure make them compensate until they close shop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Quote never like mitsubishi cars. i think they're not really very good and thier designs are not very amusing too. sorry to mitsubishi fans but, this is my point of view... the colt plus is super ugly, having a bulged out boot. the new mitsubishi colt is so small, people would rather get the honda jazz or the nissan latio sports to it. Eh... galant leh? Steering also very sporty, u need to be a real man to turn it u know Nowadays, Japanese designers all like the slick look, no longer have the muscular/muscle car look like the contis.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanr 1st Gear July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ashuras Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 Don't like the steer with 2 fingers ah? Kekeke.... I once showed a passenger how to do a U-turn with 1 finger =P Damm shiok leh. This kind of steering, very nice for city driving lah. Effortless. Still remember the 1st car I drove... the 1st Honda CRX, no power steering, ... *sweat*. LOL Such a huge contrast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 (edited) Hmmz... have you thought abt adding a resistor to the power supply running to the power steering motor??? I'm pretty sure that would void your warranty though. Alternatively get the OE variable resistor changed to something with higher resistance at the start and goes up at the same rate as the OE resistor. Edited July 7, 2006 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie July 7, 2006 Author Share July 7, 2006 Why are there so many replies to a post i wrote at least 5 months ago. Hahaha. Suddenly it was revived. The colt's fine. Think my wife and i are used to it. We call it the "button" car. Throttle like button, brake like button and steering like never there. It's still a cute little car. Not exactly the most economical in terms of fuel "sippage" though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 oops... heheheh... it was in the wee hrs of the morning, didn't check the date of ur post. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...