Spas Neutral Newbie February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 Bought the Mitsubishi Colt Plus and got it just a week ago for the family. A good second car to drive around on those trips where you need four doors and a big boot to move things/people around. Bought it at a steal, and so far I still think i made a good buy though my wife and i do have a few peeves about it. Paid an extra $3,000 for ralliart kit, replace rear drum brakes with brake discs and other stuff that i can't remember... First most major problem we have with the car: Super Light Steering. I think the power steering is excessive. There's no weight or feedback in the steering completely. My PC gaming momo steering wheel is heavier and has more feedback that the Colt's steering. It's bad and dangerous. There's so little road-feel to the steering. And Second is the "button" feel pedals. The accelerator and brake feel like mere buttons. There's no distance between the pedals and the floor. Foot just "press" the acceleration and it's floored liao. Pedal leaves little room for braking too. It's a little easy to brake too hard, causing the car to jerk. Though we got used to it after just a day of cruising around. Third peeve is the HUGE A-pillar. If you're an inexperienced driver, you may miss an oncoming vehicle "hiding" in your left or right A-pillar (the "beam" that's next to your sideview mirror). The driver is seat in such a way that it's easy for him to be blocked nby the A-pillar. Not safe. Good thing my wife and i have experiences in quite a number of different cars to find it an adaptable problem. Wondering whether other Colt drivers feel the same way too. We've no complains about the lack of power or acceleration, since having paid a bargain basement price from C&C we don't expect super performance. Though I must say there are other 1.6litre cars out there that are quicker. We like its: fuel economy, spaciousness, cute looks and mp3/wma head unit. From the problems we've illustrated, you guys should be able to tell that my wife and i did not test-drive the car before buying it. Haha. Oh well, thought this type of car no need test drive one. But we still have no regrets. But we do have questions. Are there Colt drivers out there who have solutions to its "light steering"? Do u guys face the same problems with its huge A-Pillars? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 Light steering is dangerous i agree, no feel at all... i think honda city also ultra light steering. Really ultra light! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ashuras Neutral Newbie February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 What is the other car in the family? I don't drive the colt plus but drives the colt instead. Don't find the steering light leh. I think it's pretty good. Love the brakes and accelerator too! Very sensitive, I can handle the car easily with great amount of control.... minute force (almost like a caress) can be use to make drives very very smooth. If u are currently driving another car that requires a lot more force to handle, u will find it a problem to adjust to the relatively much more sensitive controls of the colt though. As for the blind spot with the A-pillar.... hmmm, never had a problem either. But I have heard of other colt owners complaining about it though. So I think it's a genuine issue. (but I don't know why it didn't really affect me... I moved my head too much? kekek) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie February 3, 2006 Author Share February 3, 2006 What is the other car in the family? Take a look at my avatar loh. Anyway, my wife and i have driven a variety of cars (on a very frequent basis - not one-off) like the Ford Focus, Mazda3, BMW3series, Toyota LiteAce Van, Suzuki Swift, and of cos the alfa, and the colt's steering is by far the lightest and the one of the least feedback and road-feel. The "button" pedals need a little bit of getting used to too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 It is eletrical assist steering non hydraulic. the lightness is due to the effect of ECU. I believe tat when your car speed increases, the ECU will reduce dependency and allow you to hv a better grip. Very common approach among Jap cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 For A-pillar, it is not as bad, but you hv to learn to make use of the small triangle also and not conceal it with a big sticker. tat small triangle allow you to watch out for kerbs as you corner in on your right side. Also due to the lowered bonnet, best you stand next to the car, at seat position and gauge how far is the front of your car, eg 1.5m. so f it is 1.5m, remember tat distance hard. You'll need it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 bro, yer avatar spook wheel.....the center logo look like the "Abarth" signage....... Issit an italian ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 how is the road noise and wind noise? is the sound insulation good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacfm Neutral Newbie February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 The Colt has the same problem with the steering as well. But I'm getting use to it. Problem is that if you were to drive another car, you will feel that the steering is heavy. Does the colt plus have the same problem with the air con switching the air circulation mode to let air in automatically? The Colt has it and i find it such a pest! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 noise? no extra charges, it's thrown in for free. heh... there r plenty of pple out there who would dig into their pocket to operate mufflers etc just to get the noise. count yourself lucky. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 its the aircon bug, tell C&C to fix it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie February 4, 2006 Author Share February 4, 2006 Yea. I know that the steering becomes "tighter" at higher speeds, but STILL the super light steering really is a pain. Electric assist kinda is irrelevant when the steering has no feedback or roadfeel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie February 4, 2006 Author Share February 4, 2006 Cabin noise level is pretty good. Pretty quiet for a small-sized japanese car. The rear suspension's pretty harsh though. Really like the electronic-boot lah. Press one button it closes itself. Kept playing with it. Wife had to tell me to stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie February 4, 2006 Author Share February 4, 2006 My colt plus doesnt seem to have that aircon problem. Everything's fine. The head unit's pretty good too. Wish the subwoofers were better though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 heard u converted mistress liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 not converted but back to old italian mistress, no more japs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 u got it from sin ming right? i was there this morning at sin ming Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazytec Neutral Newbie February 4, 2006 Share February 4, 2006 all cars have plus and minuses.... the A-pillar is common to many cars, the brake is indeed is bit 'sensitive' for the colt and the steering being light is good for one hand driving and parking ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...