How does a ping feel like?

Hyun

when the engine pings, what do you experience? i'm trying to figure out if i've pinging.

i read that it's a "high pitched sound". in that case, you won't feel any vibrations etc? it's just a matter of listening?

i also read that it's related to engine speed. that means we have to rev through different speeds and check for pinging? also, is it load dependent? if it's load-independent, i could set to neutral and rev and listen. if it's load dependent i have to run the car and listen, and while running it'll be more difficult to listen due to road noise.

is it like the sound of 2 pieces of metal knocking together?

so wat exactly u r trying to tell us??that u can hear 2 pcs of metal knocking????my car did just that plus vibrations very bad......changed all 4 engine mounting.seriously,all broke wen my mechanic showed me... [shakehead]

is pinging = engine knocking?

for aircraft i remember when the engine was running due to a weak (lean) mixture caused by vapor locking on a hot day, could hear the engine knock quite loudly "pom pom pom"

considering that it was a 6 cyl 540in3 engine which is = to ard 8.85L engine? [shocked]

kinda like anti-lag but softer...

for car i think u'll just feel the vibration for serious case

Edited by Yc86

> If you are not meddling with forced induction, and pumping at least 95 octane petrol, should not need to worry about pinging. The ecu will automatically retard the ignition timing if it pick up any pinging situation.

i'm using stock FI and following the recommended minimum 90 octane (i'm using 92). so far dun detect any funny sounds but since i've never heard it before, i honestly dont know how to recognise. i'm now more concerned cos it's running on higher than stock boost now, so maybe time to defect to the 95 octane camp ...

You won't be able to feel it much but it can be heard very clearly. If you have a chance, look out for those old Suzuki Swifts, Toyota Starlets etc and they are trying to climbup the mscp in 2nd gear and you tend to hear the "creeeak creeeak creeeak" metallic sound from the engine.

mine's just a yrv. small turbine only lah that's why manual says minimum 90 or 91 octane. so i give it a treat lor, give it 2 more octane make it happy .. so i use 92. :) but now i try to increase the boost so getting a little cautious - considering upgrade to 95. but after going PG, i didn't notice any funny sounds leh .. not as if i would recognise it, or if i could hear it... but .. honestly didn't notice anything strange until now ... and still using 92.

Though I've not experienceed any personally (touch wood)..... I understand that it sounds like crushing paper.

Then again, I've also heard that pinging need not necessarily be heard..... you can data log your car to find out if it is retarding and this wold be a good indication.

For a start, start pumping 98 octane petrol and monitor.

YRV is a very nice car. Must be very responsive with it light weight.

For turbo car, it's normally ok to up another few psi of boost. The ecu and injector should be able to cope. If there's detonation, ecu will retard to protect the engine, but of cause that will reduce the power too.

> you can data log your car to find out if it is retarding and this wold be a good indication.

meaning using the ECU stock function or some extra tool?

You'd need some diagnostic tool that is usually plugged into your ECU's com port (ODBII)????

I'm not sure which workshop does YRV, or has the tool to help you out. You might wanna ask your regular workshop (the one that helped you do your mods) to advise you.

Cheers!

mine's just a yrv. small turbine only lah that's why manual says minimum 90 or 91 octane. so i give it a treat lor, give it 2 more octane make it happy .. so i use 92. :) but now i try to increase the boost so getting a little cautious - considering upgrade to 95. but after going PG, i didn't notice any funny sounds leh .. not as if i would recognise it, or if i could hear it... but .. honestly didn't notice anything strange until now ... and still using 92.

If your boost's been raised, I suggest that you running higher octane. As the other bros here mentioned, slight detonation cannot be heard by ear, moreover with you inside the car. A proper diagnosis or at least a A/F mixture should be checked. At times, you may even need bigger injectors to have enough fuel in the line.

Edited by Cordia_gsr

> A proper diagnosis or at least a A/F mixture should be checked.

meaning get one of those gauges that show the OBDII output A/F figures? or read off the ECU memory?

the workshop thing is Daihatsu, which is run by Sim Tien Seng, the agent. it has duely earned itself the reputation of giving BAD SERVICE. it's almost like you're buying japan's version of Hyundai. (my prev ride was an hyundai; komoko's service was a bit worse.)

Not too sure whether this workshop does YRV or can help to diagnose the problem. You might wanna call them up to check. Seems like they do quite a variety of car makes & models.

http://www.harmony.justcomz.com/justcomz.w...d=Cars+Location

But did you try putting in 98 RON fuel and test out the car? I'm quite sure that will help, if not eliminate the issue.

BTW, what boost levels is your stock and how much have you bumped it up?