Dks116 Neutral Newbie July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 (edited) Here's mine One car many views Edited July 27, 2006 by Dks116 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jack_jack Neutral Newbie July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 Quote whoa... a bike can do so much damage huh? Did the biker survive from the accident/ Cars from certain countries are just far too soft. No offence, but car makers saved tons of money by using thin sheetmetals and the excuse that you'll get nice, soft crumple zones to protect you. (I wonder if these crumple zones will sufficiently protect rear passengers when a big-@ss SUV bashes into a hatchback.) A similar bike whacked my dad's W124 Benz years back. No major damage to the car, except for a very loud thump and little scratch which didn't cost much to repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 A tree fallen on lane 1 and 2 of the expressway (blocking lane 1 and 1/2 of lane 2) and i was struck in front from the tree... stop the car with hazard light on, yet the bragger still can hit my car... if there is passenger in my passenger seat, i guess they will be hurt... anyway change my car to a sedan liao... No hatchback for me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 Wah lau Bro, so the insurance company did repair for you in end or scrape off? Si bey jialat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 Wow, you got hit from behind? Quote Let me post ..... my bike accident pictures .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victorco 2nd Gear July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 that crazy... just panel beat back will do the putty up the rest of the scratch then spray paint where need to change ? also not the whole thing out of shape. u need a panel beater a not i got few to recommand to if u need. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dks116 Neutral Newbie July 27, 2006 Share July 27, 2006 (edited) At 1st they (NTUC) insist wanna repair the car although IDAC list the damages 5 pages long . Later when they found out that repair cost will come up to 20k++ , they change their mind n declare total loss Edited July 27, 2006 by Dks116 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 wat happen when they declare total lost? They replace a car with the same age to you or cash payout? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 Cash payout, but you are going to loogi quite a bit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evildoer Neutral Newbie July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 look like a bimbo rear-end u with her bosom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dks116 Neutral Newbie July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 Yup as Nutty said cash payout. Not to you of course but to your finance institution(bank). The loss is quite significant. How they calculate the payout is as follows: Market value of your car at present - depreciation of the time you have used the car. You will have to top up a bit to settle the outstanding loan after that. Quite unfair but i feel its better than repairin the wreck. Imagine the potential problems associated with repairin the damages that may surface later on (Eg. leaks). And these problems will normally surface after the repair warranty is over. Also the car body will never be as strong as it was before the accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Khee Neutral Newbie July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 ok... juz wondering wat happen for total lost... i heard some say tat they will replace a car with the same age... no matter wat accident is a nightmare... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 (edited) I was stationary and hit by a van which overturn to it's side. BM quoted $30K for repair, instead choose to sent to an authorised workshop, manage to get it done for $5.6K. The last quote from other authorised workshop was $10K to $12K. Luckily did my homework, call up all authorised workshop and chosen this particular one which quoted $5.6K and did a good repair job. My friend keep saying that I was lucky that the chassis in dialect "tua gu" was not affected, not sure whether is he bull-sh*ting. If the repair is at $30K, definitely not worth repairing, will definitely write off, coz my COE paid was $31K. I guess $5.6K is very cheap already. Do PM me if you wants to know which workshop. Edited July 28, 2006 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 (edited) It's really unfair Now with new car prices so cheap, those people that purchase during the high peak had better pray hard that they don't kena any accident that would result in total loss else jialat man Edited July 28, 2006 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 Quote Let me post ..... my bike accident pictures .... Wah lau!...you ride TZR is it? Better change to a newer type of bike lah...old type of bike not so safe ...if you want to ride sports bike small c.c then change to a NSR sp or Krr... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 $5.6K to repair this damage is consider cheap Bro, you very heng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blu_g Neutral Newbie July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 wah! the damages look quite serious.. $30K??? OMG! Can buy another OPC liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dks116 Neutral Newbie July 28, 2006 Share July 28, 2006 I dunno abt other insurers but for NTUC INCOME they will just give the cash payout to bank then u settle the outstandin loan with bank n free your log card. After which can scrap the car liao. The replacement thing I also heard before but I don't think they practice it anymore. At least not NTUC. You think can find a car of the exact same model and age to replace so easily? Its like findin a needle in a haystack. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...