Vipertoledo Neutral Newbie March 30, 2006 Author Share March 30, 2006 Hi Viper Excellent work of art - I'd hate myself for hating it Thanks Check out the inside and make a guess ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched March 30, 2006 Share March 30, 2006 Ahhh... good ol' Ah Mann.... Use to have a Super Dynamics tip on my old ride Was tempted to get one for my current ride few months back Nice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tashi Clutched March 30, 2006 Share March 30, 2006 cool man! That looks like some kind of mini PC installed? With an AV controller (the aluminum blue glow thingie, I have one of those for my Mac too), and the mini PDA keyboard. Very interesting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vipertoledo Neutral Newbie April 1, 2006 Author Share April 1, 2006 Yeap, its a car pc running WinXP for movies, navigation, mp3, etc. I've also written an app that provides live traffic and weather information consolidated into a neat format. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched April 1, 2006 Share April 1, 2006 Saw your car pc setup at vag forum damn ... makes me wanna setup one as well... any tips? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vipertoledo Neutral Newbie April 1, 2006 Author Share April 1, 2006 Well, the first tip is the expectation of the amount of $$$ to spend. $3 to $4k is about right. Second is to see if your dashboard has enough space to fit a 1-din motorised touchscreen LCD. If you have a integrated factory audio, it might be possible to source for a replacement plastic adaptor so that you can take out the factory unit and put in a 1-din or 2-din adapter. If the second point is not possible, likely you can't do the project properly and its a no go. If you can get the necessary 1-din space, then you've overcome the biggest hurdle. The next is to decide what combination of car PC to get. There are quite a number of choices. To have a good feel, try out http://www.cartft.com and http://www.mp3car.com as good starting points for research. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched April 1, 2006 Share April 1, 2006 Whoa! That much? Was thinking about $1k would have done it (just the pc alone) Currently have 2 din slots, 1-din slot occupied by a Pioneer in-dash touch screen, have checked out cartft.com ... will look at mp3car.com ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skodarr Neutral Newbie April 3, 2006 Share April 3, 2006 Fingers' itchy liao leh ... Very impressive . Will like to have those in my ride too . But pocket still not deep enough though ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tashi Clutched April 4, 2006 Share April 4, 2006 hi bro LS If you are talking about the miniITX profile boxes on cartft.com, try do a Google search for miniITX profile boxes, some are REALLY small! Also, more choices for those. However, because the CPU is "lighter" using the VIA chips, you can consider running Linux or FreeBSD instead. There are some interesting public domain or open source apps that can work in similar manners too, especially since I think you are really hands-on and dun mind tweaking. Keep us posted if you should and do that? bless tashi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie April 4, 2006 Share April 4, 2006 Thanks Check out the inside and make a guess Sweeeeettttt.....where's the USB port and iPod jack? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vipertoledo Neutral Newbie April 4, 2006 Author Share April 4, 2006 There are 4 USB ports in the boot and 13 ports in the front glove compartment. No pic yet. I'll take one later. Er... sorry no IPOD jack as the carpc has an 80GB harddisk with MP3s and movies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eugh Neutral Newbie April 6, 2006 Share April 6, 2006 Can I have a ride or better yet... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched April 6, 2006 Share April 6, 2006 brother, you making me dizzy........... drooooool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 19, 2006 Share April 19, 2006 bro care to share where u get tat kinda car plate design??? am interested ...thx in advance..! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 19, 2006 Share April 19, 2006 mmm...super dynamics....did at Man Exhausts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 19, 2006 Share April 19, 2006 Bro, has your Project A4 hit the tracks yet??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vipertoledo Neutral Newbie April 19, 2006 Author Share April 19, 2006 Fong Kim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 19, 2006 Share April 19, 2006 icic...btw ur car plate, whr did u get tat kinda number plate frm?...been looking high n low for it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...