Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear February 2, 2006 Share February 2, 2006 Many German makes with onboard computers that calculate the interval to next servicing would tend to indicate about 25K apart servicings, including Merc and BMW. However, according to some, this is to lower the cost of free servicings that are usually offered for 1st 3 yrs. Although no great harm will come to the engine, some still say it's best to service every 10K or so given our hot start/stop driving conditions. One Brabus tuner from overseas also stated that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black320 1st Gear February 2, 2006 Share February 2, 2006 I guess since you already pay so much , you would pay more to mantain it, otherwise 'investment' would go to waste Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 True, but for topicalised sg mercs, the listed servicing interval is about 10k, so we have people complaining about the exhorbitant labour costs C&C charges. If its every 25k, its still digestable, cuz its not as often, like what bmw320 mentioned. no matter rich or poor, not many like to be carrot heads everytime, even if its a few petty dollars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 C&C recommends 10K, which corresponds to the tuners from UK and Germany that regularly drops by our shores to offer the delights of Brabus and MKB tuning... However, the Merc onboard system recommendation is the same as what's recommended by PML for Beemers, i.e. 20K to 25K. I'll rather play safe and change the oil & filter. Anyway, I just checked my servicing bills. It's only 200+ for 1st, and $300+ for 2nd servicing (with Kompressor cleaning + air filter change). No big deal, and will be cheaper if done outside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear February 3, 2006 Share February 3, 2006 If C&C did not charge so heavily for labour, i'm sure it could be lesser, but on the other hand, yup, its still affordable in the sense owners still can have their golf games etc. The decision is just between hassle free maintanence schedule or some calculative cash savings Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 6, 2006 Share February 6, 2006 The 323i would be nice but PML doesnt know when it will come in, so I ve settled for the 320i. Will all brothers pls burn 3 joss sticks and pray that my car will be 'obedient' Anyway I opted for the std car instead of the AA version...ie 'upgrade' ! And you guys know what. I enquired on V kool and was told by PML only the Mirage package can be attached to the 320i as the others are too dark n does not pass LTA requirements. Then v kool told me its better to install 'UV protect 70'. is this another example of PML not nothing what they are talking ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black320 1st Gear February 6, 2006 Share February 6, 2006 I think PML has a deal for Mirage , thus can offer you cheap or as freebie. Mine is on Mirage Car is jet black. Think dark enough... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 6, 2006 Share February 6, 2006 not freebie leh...its $950 PML say for Mirage. I called V-kool n they say it may be a bit too dark for the car and not so nice worr, so they say why not pay $1,050 get the UVprotect 70 which is LTA compliant. Its ok lah, I think I sent to Vkool myself better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 6, 2006 Share February 6, 2006 Tuning your BMWs ! Heh any brothers here got lobangs or have tuned your engines? Am not looking for fittings externally to beng my new car. Just read a lot in UK magazines that normal BMWs have been tuned by AC Sh, Hartage and Hamann and increased the BHP by 20 to 50 or even nearly 100 bhp ! are there professional shops here who do that...PROPERLY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear February 6, 2006 Share February 6, 2006 (edited) HAHA!! Lai liao! Once you start, you cannot stop my brother... The sky is the limit, for 6-cylinder BMW engines at least. Mods for the 4-potter are significantly lesser. Basic things you can fo are CAI, chip, pulleys. Not so basic are turbo, engine swap... Exterior got plenty of body kits, wheels, suspension, exhaust, big brake kit, carbon fibre bonnet/roof/bootlid/engine cover/strut bar ... Interior got steering wheel, trim, pedals... As the E90 is a relatively new car, the aftermarket mods are not as established as the E46 ones. Most famous BMW specialists here are Juzz 4 Carz and BVO, both at Sin Min. They do fantastic work. Ex-PML mechanics. Prices are much more reasonable than PML. I suggest you pop by bmw-sg.com and have a look. You will find all the answers you need. Edited February 6, 2006 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 6, 2006 Share February 6, 2006 hahaha.....ok thx u. But I just want some added power, hopefully it can be done with out too much noise added as a result. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...