BMW320i Neutral Newbie January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Quote honestly from day 1 till this day, my 5 has NO, I repeat NO issues which is why am totally reluctant to change her for some time to come But you still did ? GS300 was it ? 410NM ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 still a far cry from the E39 la...even find the E60 very 'empty' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Lower end BMW are made in South Africa but I know that the 320 are still made in Germany. Quality wise from a friend who has 2 3 series...one 318i and a 325Ci...the quality on the 318i is a bad compared to the 325Ci which is made in Germany. But generally most BMW are well made. I am driving a E34 and 2 years already...car still have not given me much major problems...parts that have been changed are due to wear and tear....which is very normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Your 320i should be a 6 cylinder what....2.2L have around 170bhp not 150bhp. 150bhp are the figs for the 2.0L engine. (the old 2.0L 6 cylinder) 325i should be doing around 194+ bhp and not 200bhp. Torque for the 2.5L is around 245Nm. Enjoy your new ride...and welcome to the Roundel club !! Now get your figs to type out... www.bmw-sg.com/forums and welcome to the family !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Wouldn't waste time on the E60 520. Fuel Guzzler I heard. or otherwise .... consider Audi S6 Than again don't think they bring it in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 eh bro OT...u goin Sepang...need a Walkie? Can pass u mine...and If I goin, I lompang u? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Audi...regardless, not to my liking..honestly..the handling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 www.bmw-sg.com/forums Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 errhmmm...ghostridder....the 320i sold in singapore is a 2.0L 4 cylinder in line engine leh. But of cos if PML decide to upgrade to a 6 cylinder 2.2L engine at no additional cost, well I guess I would accept as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Quote Just 1 word, SW_Y. Would you like to buy a vowel ? Not reallly suay, but more of generic problem. Look at the big gaps in between the door gaps of the 'Tom Yam' Thai Altis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azrielsc 1st Gear January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Forgot to mention that my car was made in Germany. SA & German BMW cars are basically the same, just different place of manufacture. It doesn't really play a part in the quality of the assembly as BMW is very stringent about their QC. If it breaks, it breaks. If it doesn't, it doesn't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 26, 2006 Author Share January 26, 2006 (edited) thanks everyone for your advice. ya, would prefer the german one than the african one, whether or not they claim to have stringent qc.. (similarly for jap cars than tomyam ones, no offence meant). they are not the ones on the ground manufacturing it, and the qc is only at certain checkpoints..bound to have somewhere missed. felt the depreciation a bit too much to swallow for new ones. recently saw a couple of 3yr old 318 e46 going for an average of 85k. (imagine how much the previous owner lost...they bought at 150k?) so after calculation, yearly dep. only about 7+k another thing is the maintenance and parts, people also told me it cost an arm/leg. existing/past owners..how true is it? Edited January 26, 2006 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 (edited) If you can, try test driving the E46 320 before buying. The M54 BMW sraight-6 engine is truly a gem. Buttery smooth 2.2l 6-cylinder engine with 170bhp. The E90 320 has an upgraded version of the the old 318 4-cylinder engine. Good, but a league away frpm the 6-cylinder. Cost of parts are not much different any car. Maybe a bit more, but not by much. However, you cannot simply go to any workshop and expect them to know about the car, for example, I dropped by autobacs and decided to change my wipers, and after 45 mins and going through 5 sets of wipers, they realised they did not have a single one that will fit a BMW. There are quite a few independent workshops around that specialise in BMW cars. The labour fees are much cheaper than PML and their quality of work is excellent. Common problems are pretty small, nothing major. However, there are always lemons. Bring the car to BMW specialists like Juzz 4 Carz or BVO for an assessment before buying. If you have a relationship with them, they won't even charge cos you will bring the car to them for any work anyway. Otherwise, it's $80 well-spent. Remember, 320 and 318, BIG difference. Edited January 26, 2006 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonnybravo Neutral Newbie January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 Quote Interested in E46 318 or 320 bmws of about 2 yrs.But keep hearing from ppl that old beemers even from 3yrs are no-no, cos they are plague with leaks, electronic and radiator/air-con problems. Heard that the even current E90 320 are also giving owners headaches.. Understand that they are manufactured in Africa instead of Germany..is it the cause of the quality problem? Anyone can share experiences? Aiyah, which car doesn't have problems... Conti cars and Jap cars all will have their own set of problems... sometimes even identical problems. My car got so much freaking problems and so does my dad's car... BUT the main difference is that Conti cars are much much more expensive to repair than Jap cars. soo...... If u can afford it, why not? =) Jon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 Quote eh bro OT...u goin Sepang...need a Walkie? Can pass u mine...and If I goin, I lompang u? Eh...I place a booking for the walkie liao !! Sorry but if no one put my aeroplane...my cab ride is full liao. Got some guys coming along...sorry !! U going too for Feb ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 Quote errhmmm...ghostridder....the 320i sold in singapore is a 2.0L 4 cylinder in line engine leh. But of cos if PML decide to upgrade to a 6 cylinder 2.2L engine at no additional cost, well I guess I would accept as well Eh brudder, the E90 320i is a 4 cylinder machine...but the E46 320i is confirm a 6 cylinder striaght 6er !! You sure you not getting a rebadged 318i passed off as a 320i ? I dunno from which year but Yr 20XX - 318i = 2.0L inline 4 engine with valvetronic (stand to be corrected) 320i = 2.2L inline 6 with Dual Vanos Remember to check the log card hor !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 oh....I am a newbie to beemers. I guess u r right then. PML doesnt have the 318i anymore. OK I was reading the brochure this mrng over my coffee. 320i = 4 cyl-in line 2.0L 325i = 6 cyl-in line 2.5L 330i = 6 cyl-in line 3.0L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 27, 2006 Share January 27, 2006 That should be the E90 (current model) line up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...