Skylander Neutral Newbie January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 Hi just some comments and questions. I noticed that you quoted $1500 for your audio setup, isnt that a bit expensive? . Unless of course you are changing to those got screen watch dvd one or those very high end speakers. Correct if i am wrong, but putting in 4 way amp, front component speakers, rear coaxial would not cost so much? I was quoted putting in amp (forgot wat brand) and front component (Rockford Frosgate) was about $580 (installation charges come free, they say). Is that a reasonable price? Rear coaxial was at about $200+. Then add in another sub-woofer for about $300+ (reasonable?). If want to connect ipod, forget about those Belkin or similar type where they use the FM radio freq to connect. I experienced from 2 of my friends using that and the quality is very bad. What is the pre-amp that you mentioned? I only know the aux in your radio can do it but i do not think the stock HU in the toyota got aux. My stock Blaupankt HU (Miami Beach CD52 i think) got aux but need special connector and must get from authorised dealer, so i intend to change the whole HU. Was quoted Sony HU (dono what model got mp3 front aux etc... but no multi cd changer) at $239 and got trade-in somemore at $50 bucks for my HU. So cost is about $189. Just my 2 cents worth. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 Hi Tyming, See Skylander's post which should rightfully be addressed to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyming Neutral Newbie January 23, 2006 Author Share January 23, 2006 the HU i am interested is already S$600+ range...... I just use the audioedge promo as a guide only.. and I think prolly the 1500-2000 will get a reasonable set up or might as well don't change at all. Is just a guide that i think I am willing to spend. I have not worked out what I may want to get for S$1500-2000 range. If I got that kind of budget, I will join the ICE meet-up in this forum to get the bros to recommend. Meanwhile I think someone mentioned here that getting a preamp which have an aux for me to insert the ipod around the $100 range which is about S$40 more than the Belkin FM. So for now, I may just spend a cheap pre-amp with my OEM HU stock until it breakdown, or if I got the budget from 4D I may upgrade the whole system. The FM transmitter is no good...so I am not going to get it. Now I only hope the preamp can worklah. Hey is Malaysia is cheaper to get a cheap pre-amp? Going back Malaysia for CNY thought of installing it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 King's Way Auto Accessories Eunos, Tel: +65 6743 9993 Nam Huat Auto Accessories Jurong East Street 31, Tel: +65 6566 2080 Pin Liang Enterprises Zion Road, Tel: +65 6733 6433 Wee Heng Auto Air-Con & Accessories Upper Serangoon Road, Tel: +65 6281 673 These few are my recommendations: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 It depends on what you want and getting right? Not necessary getting a DVD player and LCD screen will land you $1,500 to $2,000.. For some $1,500-2000 can't even get a HU Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 yo man.. brand is very important.. some brands are cheaper than others...u'll be surprised. i guessed tyming is aimin for something that's above average.. some pple are willin to shell out thousands just got a set of speakers.. u'll be surprised.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 heya, come for the meetup lah.. i'm carrying a range of ICE products too, let me work something out with your budget lah.. cheers man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 haha.. u sound as though i come bad guy like tat. wah lau.. *pout pout*. hahaha.. eeh. when ur F1 comin.. heh.. your exile gonna have company soon.. heheh.. you mean you not the bad guy meh eh F1??? you finally pushed him over the edge ah so you know what to do liao hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 wah you change setup until signature also disappear liao har Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched January 23, 2006 Share January 23, 2006 Bro KW may be joining my "exclusive" club..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skylander Neutral Newbie January 24, 2006 Share January 24, 2006 Apologies guys as i am still new to ICE. Just installed amp (lastar 4400) with front component speakers (Rockford Fosgate FNX2614). I agree with mojoe and headshok comments. It all depends on what you want to get and the money you are willing to spend. But, out of curiosity, is there a $1500 HU w/o those lcd screen??!!! Did some research before i went and changed. Was advised somewhere that you can do a step by step upgrade of your system. First, do the front component and add in amp. Then change the rear coaxial and HU. Then proceed to do the sub-woofer and sound proofing. I am following these steps as i got budget constraint. But if you are willing to spend, then can do all at once! Although i never go for any of the ICE meetups in this forum, i dont think the guys there will recommend you very expensive setups lah. Maybe just go there take a look at what they have lor. I saw in the hot stuff magazine King's Auto Sound Garage doing the ICE for a number of cars and they seem to be very pro (got win some competition in SGP and MSIA). They are just next to the Paya Lebar Sing Post at the industrial estate there. Got one car spend close to $100k which is more than the price of the car itself!!!!! I myself have no experience going to Msia to do setup but haerd that workmanship not as good. I think you do in SGP better if you r here for work and dont go back so often. Save the hassle to travel across the causeway if the workmanship got problem (touch wood). Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie January 24, 2006 Share January 24, 2006 so what's for sale?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 24, 2006 Share January 24, 2006 (edited) boss, ur RF spkrs, where u buy from, its the Fanatic X one rite? there's a bunch of fakes going around in singapore. Hope u kept the box to verify the serial number. cos there's a bunch of them which have the same serial number. drop me a PM if u wanna noe abt this be careful. those expensice HUs are those with all the internal processors, duno wat duno wat, but they produce really really clear and natural sound. like the clarion D1, total no function, no this no that, no mp3, no eq, no TA, but sound good.. some others got whole bunch of functions, but may not sound as good. it is not ethical to recommend pple expensive setups(unless the person wants one lah) what we do is ask the guy what he wants from his setup and most importantly, his BUDGET.cos this is the most important factor when shoppin wat. as for step by step upgrade, got pros and cons. pros: u'll learn abt ICE and can make better decisions. Then u upgrade accordingly. cons: u pay more for labour. each time someone takes apart ur car, cost ard $100 liao.BUT if u DIY, then step by step always better. best for pple: learn from what others say, ie pple online and forums.learn from their mistakes. some shops are also good. but if the shop recommend u something which burst ur budget by A LOT and sweet talk you to gettin it, there's something wrong liao.call it good PR skills or wat, but in my opinion, that shop aint that "honest".throwin large sums of money to solve a problem should be the first choice lor. just drop by the meetup lah.. we're there every wed. many have come and learnt and some kena poison. we always welcome the company. aniway.. that kingsway car, their stuff in the car cost MORE than the car.. madness man!!! hahahaha Edited January 24, 2006 by Headshok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyming Neutral Newbie January 24, 2006 Author Share January 24, 2006 keke..all got confused lah. My intention is that my budget will be 1500-2000 if i want to upgrade my system. Regarding brands and items, once I am ready, I will join the ICE meeting to get bros for ideas lah. Currently I am just checking which shop that got the installment plan and want to check on prices via C/C 0% interest installment and cash price only (Just want to see how big the difference - "pak gua" a bit here...keke ) So I am not looking into HU with LCD etc. For immediate usage, I am trying to find ways to play my ipod on my stock HU only. I am not keen on FM transmitter, but some bro here suggested pre-amp. So I am just looking into the possibility of using pre-amp (cheap ones)to play my IPOd via the aux function. I think I will only do the ICE upgrade if my current system is dead (or else my wife will be ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 24, 2006 Share January 24, 2006 actually, your upgrades steps are kinda wrong. first to be done is always SP togehter with spkrs.cos if u have good spkrs and amp, when u up the vol, everything will viberate, it will drive u mad.. then go for a 2 channel amp. as for rear spkrs, just leave them stock, its not worht spendin the additional $100 to install rear spkrs. then if got more $$, go wack a mononlk and sub. but for most pple who wanna start and end in 1 step, a 4 channel amp, 2 channels to spkrs, 2 channel bridge to sub is enough liao.. (also must have SP) those shops who tell u to shell out $$ for a processor and good HU which can run up till $1k+, its not really necessary if u are just a normally listener who wants something better than stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 24, 2006 Share January 24, 2006 hahha.. go pour water into the HU, confirm dead one.. hahahahaha.. actually even if u fix ice, can con honestly. Our ice meetup is not like others whereby we all open case our setups and hao lian. we normally just sit down and talk abt ICE and help out the newbies with their recommendations. pple are always welcome to audition each others cars. those with technical faults, we'll try to help out and see wats wrong. you can ask those arond who have attended our meetups. (pple like Darkness, Yoyo). just come down, we'll give u a consumer's point of view. its a view that you cant get from shops. tat is certain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyming Neutral Newbie January 24, 2006 Author Share January 24, 2006 keke...I understand...I just don't want to get poisoned now. So far my stock unit still Ok lah.... so I now I willing to spend S$100 for the pre-amp if can work. I will check in Malaysia during CNY holidays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skylander Neutral Newbie January 24, 2006 Share January 24, 2006 Thanks bro Headshok for the advice. Will go down and meetup u guys if time permits. As for my speakers thing, yes its the fanatic x one. But hor, i threw away the box!!! i kept the installation booklet though but it doesnt show any serial number. Die..... i scared gotten the fake one..... What you said true leh. Initially, I having big thumping sound when i put my HU bass boost as high. so now i put low and tune bass to 0. Still manageable lah. What is the SP you are talking about? Is it the HU? Cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...