Wat's the FC for alfa romeo 147 2.0 selespeed?

Minicooper

guys, am really have the itch for this car... now doing more research till i head down to test drive the car. anyone here own a 147?

Edited by Minicooper

Post: 10 - 11km/l? zhun ar? i tot it shd be worse.. something less than a 10? haha... if tt's the case...

That is definitely possible.. it all depends on how you drive.. if you whack it every day.. then should be ard 9+ else getting 10+ should not be a issue.

Sorry bro, totally disagree with u on this. In fact if FC AND power is wat u want, definitely can consider the Alfa coz its actually a manual transmission without the inefficiency associated with automatic transmission with torque converter. In fact, its even more efficient than my previous Ford Focus 1.6L Auto which returns 10.5km/l.

I used to drive the pre-fl 147 2.0L Selespeed. 60% highway and 40% start-stop driving. I average 11.5-12km/l and the best part is I only used 95 Ron petrol coz using 98 Ron doesnt improve efficiency. Although I do not red-line my engine all the time, but I will on a daily dasis drop 2 gears from 5th and then take a particular corner up an expressway slope. The Alfa engine just begs u to drive it hard anyway [nod] The amazing thing is this fuel consumption is achieved with 17in/215 tires. Thus I would say, u can definitely consider a 147 2.0L.

Just for info, I have recently sold my 2.5 yo 147 for $64k. There r a few similar age 147 for sale in the online sgcar mart. The dealers r asking for $69.8k so u can basically bargain some more. If u need more info, feel free to post ur query or pop me a pm. Glad to help [;)]

actually if i were to consider 147 2.0L selespeed. taking a stepronic or manual will be more advisable? hmmm... to come to think bout it, if i were to get a new one to a second hand one. the difference is quite big. i saw the one tt u're sayin (69.8k) ... wow i like the leather seat. now my only concern for 147 is how's the cost of the maintainance?

147 2.0 only comes with selespeed(in singapore).. a 2nd hand is definitely worth considering.... I think the cost of maintainence is pretty normal if not just slightly higher.. every 10k oil change should not exceed 200.. timing belt to be change at 60k, the cost even at agent had been reduce to ard 600+ if I am not wrong..

hmmm... say if i were to take 10 yrs loan with 0 downpayment and the cost is 63.8k or 69.8k... how much do i need to fork out monthly?

Ok, i'll be honest with u. If u're buying a used 147SS with above 60k km mileage or over 3 years old where the warranty is over, do set aside at least $3k of emergency funds for the change of new actuators. Having said that mine did not have any actuator problem even though i recorded 67k km and there r owners who drove up till 100k km and still do not have any symptons of actuator failure and i also did not hear of 147 owners experiencing major problems....those that i know of with actuator failures r all driving the 1-2 generation 156. 147 SS is 3rd generation.

Cost of maintenance is typical of conti cars. I recommend bringing the car back to EA (the agent) for any repairs or servicing. If not, Stamford tires also can do normal servicing like oil change. Expect to pay approx $280 for normal 10k servicing. Timing and all aux belts change cost $750 incl labour and its changed every 60km. I wouldnt recommend any other workshop even if they claim they have experience with alfa coz neither r they more competent than the agent nor r they cheaper. Thus might as well just go back to agent.

If u want to have peace of mind, I would suggest just go for the 1.6L Manual. But if u want to experience F1 ala Ferrari/ Schumi gear change, go for the SS. I have no regrets getting the SS and I must confess I absoutely enjoy shifting gears using the steering pedals.

If not for family reasons, I wouldnt have sold my 147. Driving the 147 is such a great experience that I'm now having great difficulty finding a replacement car. In the past 4 weeks since selling it, I have test-driven countless cars incl new launches like Civic FD and Passat as well as 9-3 SAAB. None was able to stir my emotions the way the 147 can effortless even after 2.5 years when I sold it. I now hope the 159 can evoke in me the same emotions when its launched in the next few months.

glad ure looking into 147. i'd like to say it's a lousy car, dont buy so that Alfas can remain cheap. Can I? ok, if u're looking at a selespeed, i think u may want to get new or a new 2nd hand (ard 1-2 yrs). If not, be prepared for the actuators. Even new Alfas suffer from ss problems, it all depends. but if financially ure ready, then its ok.

next thing to consider is to get it new or facelift. if ure talking abt 2l, then its a tough one as both are pretty similar except the FL has a kinder suspension, but not compromising handling. it also has a new ss gearbox. so its a personal choice as far as looks are concerned. if i were u and going for 2l, i will get the new one as its abt 90k rite now as COE is low. Plus u get the rebate of 3 months instl. PM me if u want my SEs contact. He's one friendly guy so no worries.

As for the 1.6 manual, the old one is certainly better, much more features and most imptly, more bhp. there's always plus and minuses to this as being lesser endowed, the new 1.6 will always be a cheaper car to maintain. but the old 1.6 is too highly spec to be even thinking abt the new. wont go into details as its too wordy but can pm me also if u want some info.

so the idea is ss or manual? well, i think it really depends on what u like. i've always preferred manual drving that the only reason i didn't buy the 2l is bcos EA doesnt bring in. driving w/o my left foot just feels incomplete that no computer can replace. but that's me. a whole lot other ppl will have different taste. I suggest u test both the ss (new & old) and the old 1.6 to get a better feel. Gd luck and hope you get yr Alfa soon!

Er how do u take 10 year loan if its 0 d/p and 63.8/ or 69.8k, think u may have mistaken liao. Most likely u can take 7-8 year loan coz with 0 d/p, the px of a used 2 -3 yo 147 is ard $65k.

Base on used car interest of 3.5% (some 3.75%), u multiply by 7 years (7years x 0.0375=0.2625) + 1 = 1.2625 (x$69.8k) / 84 mths = $1,049 per month. Assuming u get my 2.5 yo 147 at $69.8k, after driving for 2.5 years, u will be able to get back approx $40k paper value. Thus the loss in pure depreciation terms is 12.1k.

I have also done further calculation...base on the above secenario, ur loan outstanding should be approx $49k after interest rabate and rule of 78 penalty. Thus if u drive for 2.5 years, expect to fork out $9k if u want to sell it when it reaches the 5th year. But of coz, if u drive for 7.5 years, ur depre is approx 7k per yr. And the thing is if not becoz of growing family needs, i'm prepared to drive this little hatch for 10 yrs or more.

Do try to bargain with the dealer. They probably paid $62-64k for the 2.75-2.25 yo 147. Bargain to abt $65k, afterall they must earn a bit also and also suggest to them since u're taking full loan, they could also earn finance commission....so maybe drop their asking a bit. Btw, the leather seats u like is called Sportivo leather seats [thumbsup]

Wah.. your FC is damn good leh.. no matter how I tried.. best I get is 11.5.. but I do constantly get 11 lah

Probably coz I dun red-line every 1-2-3 gears and i also drive 60% highway everyday. I also dun chiong from traffic lite to traffic lite but move of ah-pekish coz i feel its a waste of petrol and also stupid to reach the next red lites 1st and then soon after the rest of the cars will just catch up. BUT i do drop a gear or 2 when i approach a tight bend, esp upslope bend, loves the way the 147 takes such bends....this gives me much greater satisfaction and probaby is more fuel efficient.

Some die-hard alfsti will say that if drive alfa, y bother abt fuel efficiency? Well, guess I'm not a die-hard alfa fan yet [laugh]

Certainly did consider. Just 2 weeks ago almost paid deposit for the Ghia Focus sedan coz at $70.9k, its quite a bargain with a long list of std features like big boot, sun-roof [inlove] , electric seats, climate control, steering wheel audio controls and cruise control, rear folding seats, 5 year warranty....that is until I went to test drive the Mazda 6 2.0L SP [sly] At mid $70k, I must say the M6 is darn good value for $$...but i digress....dun want to OT the 147 thread [:)]