Front bumper to ground clearance

Chiqinhan

my front bumper just crack badly due to a steep slope tat i encountered just now, sian. now gonna change a new one in jb liao.

cos my crack one is super low, i think oni about 4 inches off the ground. that is my first bk bumper. didnt know that will be so jialat, lesson learn.

so now got phobia, any bros here got any idea wats the distance or safe clearance of our front bumper to the ground to avoid any rubbin of bumper to ground, esp when goin down slope. cos i wanna go change a new one, therefore wanna ensure the new one is of safety clearance b4 i install.

btw any bros here got any good n cheap workshops tat do spray paint for bodykit??? n hw much it cost to spray the front bumper oni. alexandra there got any good spray paint shop? cos i live near there.

thks

CQH,

Did you slow down prior before reaching the slope?

Can't advise you on the height clearance.. But based on personal experience, I have to avoid a lot of places with mine too.. unimpressed.gif

had a front lip last yr installed....had the same problem....after few months...beh tahan , removed it.....

key is to go slow....but mine cracked when one wheel into a deep pothole in JB carpark..imagine the whole weight of the car rest on the fibreglass....confirm crack...somemore constant knocking on the front lip...will damage the original paint on the car...mine still got a faint marks of where the front lip was installed...

i think what the other guy rec...one coke can should be a good gauge...

or get those better material one should be more able tahan knocks...

well most road kerbs r 150mm high (6 inchs) but most ride has tat clearance except SUVs pickup and lorries. 6 inch but if it is protruding perpendicularly in front, i would say at least 8 inchs. if the protrusion is sloping upwards, then is not a problem. do ur maths using Sine, Cosine and Tangent.

the consequence is not as bad if u hv PU lips like mine

i hv scratches, some pretty bad ones, but no cracks on them. not bother to paint them.

oh I forgot.. the cheapest remedy for you is a big car sticker. yeah.. fix it up nicely at and sticker over with black sticker and some Fiery logo.

i used to have a friend who's ride's front bumper is just one ciggie length form the ground~~~ crazy bxxxxxd cant go into any MSCP at all~~ heh heh or underground car park~~ [laugh]

actually it is beri simple, just pick up specs of any car ground clearance. lower lips is neber recommended. (and did I listen to my own advise... nah.)

take it with a pinch of salt.. it wun kill so much if it is in PU. check out all bodykit fr INGS japan. always PU.

had a front lip last yr installed....had the same problem....after few months...beh tahan , removed it.....

key is to go slow....but mine cracked when one wheel into a deep pothole in JB carpark..imagine the whole weight of the car rest on the fibreglass....confirm crack...somemore constant knocking on the front lip...will damage the original paint on the car...mine still got a faint marks of where the front lip was installed...

i think what the other guy rec...one coke can should be a good gauge...

or get those better material one should be more able tahan knocks...

one of my friend even more steady, his one is u take a cigarette box n lay on the length rather than the width, so shorter than 1 cigarette length. dunno hw he survive

mine crack one is about 5 inches, more than coke can, yet still rub the ground like hell... when to measure a stock bmw, the clearance is about 9.5 inches, then check out another civic with front body kit. about 8 inches.

today went to get my bumper done. the guys there said 5 inches ok, but i insist tat i get 8 inches, though not as nice as 5 inches, but felt more secure n safer to go mscp n orchard area.

well most road kerbs r 150mm high (6 inchs) but most ride has tat clearance except SUVs pickup and lorries. 6 inch but if it is protruding perpendicularly in front, i would say at least 8 inchs. if the protrusion is sloping upwards, then is not a problem. do ur maths using Sine, Cosine and Tangent.

8 inches i think is a safe level, went to install today, saw another sunny owner, he installed a lower lip last wk, brought back to the workshop again, cos he said kept hittin the ground. saw a lot of getz there, a few clearance around 5 inches. wonder how they can avoid the downslope

not dun wan to slow down. a lot of pple always say slow down.... maybe they haven tried b4 themselves, cos sometimes i slow down like till not movin at all yet still kena the ground. then how??? can also imagine the car behind thought wat the hell this guy in front is doin, block up the traffic

agree with u bro.. [thumbsup][thumbsup] .. another method is let either ur left or right front wheel clear first.. don't go straight on with the ground..(m'sia car do that in Shopping Centre de Base C/P) [:)]

my front bumper just crack badly due to a steep slope tat i encountered just now, sian. now gonna change a new one in jb liao.

cos my crack one is super low, i think oni about 4 inches off the ground. that is my first bk bumper. didnt know that will be so jialat, lesson learn.

so now got phobia, any bros here got any idea wats the distance or safe clearance of our front bumper to the ground to avoid any rubbin of bumper to ground, esp when goin down slope. cos i wanna go change a new one, therefore wanna ensure the new one is of safety clearance b4 i install.

btw any bros here got any good n cheap workshops tat do spray paint for bodykit??? n hw much it cost to spray the front bumper oni. alexandra there got any good spray paint shop? cos i live near there.

thks

My advise to you is to leave your bumper stock and you will not encounter such problems.

Why pay money to mod and get headache later?

I agree with Vit4wd.

Why spend so much $$$ to make your ride almost flushed to the ground and every time u go on hump or go downslope, you gotta worry like hell. [:)]