Pollen Filter and Clean Air

Cbx750p

Just got my pollen filter changed after 20,000 km. Was shocked to see the condition of the used filter. I use the fresh air vent quite often ( 20% ) ! It is no wonder the Service Advisor recommended the change !

CBX

post-69-1137113733_thumb.jpg

The manual says it has to be changed in 10k intervals or 6mths. They are not joking. This filter is damn efficient. BTW, the Cairefresh version is so much more expensive than the original GMDAT version. No brainer which one should we get.

Wahhh....change every six months very expensive leh ! Never mind lah. Can live with a little bit dirtier filter. Only realised that I need to change it when I did notice that the air coming out at 1st speed seems very little. After the change, the air flow at 1st speed is much better. Smells better too !

CBX

Hummm pollen filter is made of paper like material. So if u use air gun to clean it might tear it. Pollon filter is not really that expensive if u get it from ur local stocklist...Max abt 20 dollars. I assume u have to pay to clean it right?

Cannot clean lah...the paper element is kind of porous and all the dirt gets stucked inside. Apply the air too much or hard, the paper tears.

No choice but to change new one unless you can tahan the reduced air flow !

CBX

sorry man not too sure about star autos (chevys).

Mine i got it for a megane...cost me less than 20 for OEM type.

But the trick is to get it from ur car's stock list instead of the agent. With no middle man cost involves, u actually save more [thumbsup]

10k is a over kill i feel...20k is good enough, 30-40k should be ok also. Depends on how dirty it is also. For me i just take it out once in a while...if very dirty will change it. [:)]

The filter cannot really be cleaned...all they can do is to help u flick away any dust etc...that is free [laugh]

The filter for my renault megane cost me only ard 20 from a local stock list. [nod]

Yeah, agree ! 20K should be okay. Mine is 20K but the air flow at 1st speed seems relatively reduced so I took it out to check. One look was enough to convince me to change the filter ! Better the filter than the cooling coil getting all caked up !

CBX