Manfred_sg Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Just installed PHD2200 driving Diamond Hexs600s with 2layer of Dynamet extreme and seem not good enough on stock HU 1)Sound seem too bright by can reduce treble 2)Right(driver side) is much louder than left(installer say is normal as your ear is nearer to the right). 3)When changes Fade amount rear speaker virtually no sound(so soft)My rear is driven by HU. What happen to my setup? Is it due to sucks installation, it cost me >2K! Installer ask me to go get the special discount PHD amp 4070 pro with MF speaker for rear and run active! Any advice? What can be done with the current setup and waht can be added to improve? Pls help, I am so ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 (edited) wat ur stock hu? don be desperate.. relax.. cos at this stage, normally pple throw money at the situation to solve it. firstly, for rear fill, no need to worry. but if u feel u need SOMETING in the rear, go get some cheap amp and coaxial speakesr to put behind... for your "sound too bright", your HU got any EQ on it? go and experiement and play with it. As for the one side too loud, check ur amp see whether got any gain switch to adjust the left and right (mine does). then u can even out the sound the way u like it. if don have or wat, just bo bian fade ur front more to the left lah.. going active is a personal choice. if u think u really want good sound , then by all means go up to active. but if u wnana go active just to solve ur problem, then.. no comments lah. oo yah.. if ur HU can support active, means its prob on the better side.. check out the EQ.. just tune it until u are happy with the sound... if still got problem (and u don intend to spend more $$$$), u come the meetup, we see what can be done to help you lah!) cheers! Edited December 20, 2005 by Headshok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
K2000 Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 whats your stock HU? maybe change a good HU first.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manfred_sg Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Author Share December 20, 2005 I am driving MZ5, cannot change the HU only addon, thus never change first round. Don think my amp can change gain doesn not seem to have any knob like the those audison one. My HU only got base, treble, balance, fade and ACF(don know wat). Installer also ask me to add Alpine processor+ controller $1200. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 who's ur installer? he tryin to tok ur head ah? bo nia put processor!! (or are u really serious into ICE), cos if u just wanna listen everyday and no need that good, no need processor. here's my opinion, if the sound really damm bright and u damm dulan, go Sim lim tower, look for a 7 band pre amp. it should cost ard $130 (thats the last time i checked with edison). get ur installer to rig up ur HU to ur preamp, then all the RCA cables from ur pre amp to ur amp. this way u can at least have more 'optios' to play with. thats the problem with MZ, the stock HU damm headache. this seems to be a cheaper way to solve ur problem. (rather than throwing another $1k to solve it). about the gain issue, u go and experiement with it. see whether got left and right one..give it a try.. or tmr just come down the meetup and we see how can help u b4 u get anything else lah! could u enlighten us who ur installer is? the stuff he recommend you really high end man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Is your installer AudioEdge? Who did the installation for you? If its too bright, you can reduce the treble on your HU. As for processor, it is a good way to go if you want higher end stuff and willing to part for the money, if not just follow Headshok method to add a pre amp to control the sound. If you using AudioEdge service, you can try the PHD speakers which are not so bright. You have a few options that you can evaluate. Talk to them to try to resolve the problem. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 if u intend to play more ICE, then its better to one shot wack everything (saves on labour charges).. but after u get the processor, you'll prob needa change ur HU.. then all hell will break loose liao.. hahahaha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manfred_sg Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Author Share December 20, 2005 Try not to put the installer name here you all know where my sets(PHD+Diamond) comes from and they are highly recommended by some of our forumner but jus don know why it jus doesn't comes out as expected. The bright/sharp vocal can be reduce by treble, but if do that than some vocal good and some bad. The thing I really Dulan is the right ear louder than the left didn't know it earlier but my stock no problem lah why after addin amp and speaker become like that? I see will go talk to my installer abt pre-amp, see how it goes. I cannot make it on week days night need to put BB to sleep he cannot sleep w/o me . I know you guys meet up every Wed,Will find chance to go down (arrange BB go to mother in law house to stay) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Bro, There is 2 possibility why your left and right speaker volume is different. One is that the balance of your HU is not at 0. Second one is that the gain on your amp for the left and right channel is not equal. Check this 2 option out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manfred_sg Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Author Share December 20, 2005 I compare PHD FB pro kit vs Diamond Hex found HEX much cleaner(nw to me know as brighter), whereas FB have tighter drum. I chose Hex in the end as I listen more to JaZz and vocal no regret but the left right thing is killing me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manfred_sg Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Author Share December 20, 2005 Have check the balance its "0", installer ask me to change it if I am alone and change it when siomebody sitting beside me, I him. The gain thing does not see any knob to change, will check with my installer. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 I am personally on FB Pro. When you listen at the shop at AE, the setting for EQ of the display set is at flat. Therefore it sounds a little dull. Once EQ is set (or in your case, treble is increased), it sounds much much better. Anyway since you already on Diamond, it will be best you check out the gain thingy. I am not very sure whether this can be the cause, but just check it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
K2000 Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 the gain thing may also look like sensitivity blah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Quote who's ur installer? he tryin to tok ur head ah? bo nia put processor!! (or are u really serious into ICE), cos if u just wanna listen everyday and no need that good, no need processor. here's my opinion, if the sound really damm bright and u damm dulan, go Sim lim tower, look for a 7 band pre amp. it should cost ard $130 (thats the last time i checked with edison). get ur installer to rig up ur HU to ur preamp, then all the RCA cables from ur pre amp to ur amp. this way u can at least have more 'optios' to play with. thats the problem with MZ, the stock HU damm headache. this seems to be a cheaper way to solve ur problem. (rather than throwing another $1k to solve it). about the gain issue, u go and experiement with it. see whether got left and right one..give it a try.. or tmr just come down the meetup and we see how can help u b4 u get anything else lah! could u enlighten us who ur installer is? the stuff he recommend you really high end man! dun add preamp, no need to do that~~~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Quote Just installed PHD2200 driving Diamond Hexs600s with 2layer of Dynamet extreme and seem not good enough on stock HU 1)Sound seem too bright by can reduce treble 2)Right(driver side) is much louder than left(installer say is normal as your ear is nearer to the right). 3)When changes Fade amount rear speaker virtually no sound(so soft)My rear is driven by HU. What happen to my setup? Is it due to sucks installation, it cost me >2K! Installer ask me to go get the special discount PHD amp 4070 pro with MF speaker for rear and run active! Any advice? What can be done with the current setup and waht can be added to improve? Pls help, I am so bro my advice to u is go for one of the meetup organise by Headshok and his buddies, he and some other guys at those ICE meetups can help you to solve your problem, and if the problem is solved , just buy them coffee, and u owe me one coffee for this advice~~ too when i come back~~ heh heh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarong1 1st Gear December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Bro, not all drink coffee, some does drink tea. Steady steady we don't solicit for free kopi and tea. But a nice gesture is always welcome...hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 hahahahaha true true, and some coke, and some green tea hor~~~~ heehee ciao guys, leaving office now~~~ going for din din~~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sucker Clutched December 20, 2005 Share December 20, 2005 Hmm.. 1. Do a blind man test with focus on the vocal, how does your vocal appear? a. In front of the windscreen b. At the accelerator c. To the left passenger d. On the right ear 2. If you have a test CD, test the phase with front speaker. A 180 degree out of phase sound is sound like background. With this info, you could guage the sound system. cheers sucker! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...