DIY tools

Genie47

I have been thinking of getting trolley jacks and jack stands but I think it is a bad idea or rather been thinking in the wrong direction.

Jacks are great for changing wheels. Jack stands on all counts look very unsafe so I thought why not use the car itself since I only change the car's fluids mainly. So I searched and found out about Blitz USA. Nope not the Blitz Japan with all the racing stuff. Blitz USA specializes in jerry cans and other home auto repair aids.

Blitz USA site.

The things I would say best suit me or rather us would be automotive ramps and automotive chocks.

The Blitz Rhino ramp.

rramps8000.jpg

Then you need to secure the rear wheels to prevent the car from moving even if you got your parking brake on. You need the chocks.

Tire_Hugger.jpg

Looks like a nice simple solution. Now I am spying on which auto discount store in the US can get it cheaply and ship it here. If I want to really spend, I will get the Blitz oil drain pan.

6qtoil.jpg

Now we are rocking! sly.gif

why don't you make your own wheel chokes? won't it be cheaper?

and how about getting some axle stands instead of the ramps?

just some thoughts...

Well, the chocks can be made but you want to be sure with strong stuff. You don't want accidents. If something happens, at least you can still sue. If you made it yourself, you are pretty much in the "serves you right" department. laugh.gif

I would prefer ramps because you use the car to raise it. I mean that is what the engine is for. scholar.gif

yah... jack stands will be better. at least that 1 cannot anyhow pray pray, will be dangerous if it fails...

chocks can DIY, or make use of whatever stuff u can find on the floor [laugh]

icic.. but here not like america.. cannot sue for big bucks.. [laugh]

but rams must be quite careful sia.. cos any mis-alignment siao liao.. [sweatdrop]

OK found out that Murray's Auto Discount Store in the US has partnered with Amazon. So I found a source that ships to here or at least to vPostUSA.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002YTN4...rchant&v=glance

Wheel chocks from AC Delco. USD5.99 per pair. Will need 2 pairs.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000A3L65...glance&n=553294

Ooh.....oil drain pan too at just the right price.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00004X14...glance&n=228013

Since you like axle stands, a complete garage set! Tell your wife or girlfriend you want this for Christmas! USD49.99! Shipping will be a killer. The creep looks big.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000A1AQ1...glance&n=553294

I'm looking around the Murray's Store on Amazon. The stuff is very uniquely American unlike the mostly Japanese, Korean, Taiwan styled stuff we get here. The Americans really love to eat and drink in the car, I see a heated travel mug using the 12V ciggy plug and a lunch tray for drive thru dinners! shocked.gif

Well, the chocks can be made but you want to be sure with strong stuff. You don't want accidents. If something happens, at least you can still sue. If you made it yourself, you are pretty much in the "serves you right" department. laugh.gif

I would prefer ramps because you use the car to raise it. I mean that is what the engine is for. scholar.gif

Haha hijack from lorry !!! thay have woodens ones ... very strong and good !

Next time go back reservist look out for wheel chokes for 5 tonners.i think all the armour tanks and engineer's bridging vehicles also got wheel chokes on em.

Edited by Wheeler

I have been thinking of getting trolley jacks and jack stands but I think it is a bad idea or rather been thinking in the wrong direction.

Jacks are great for changing wheels. Jack stands on all counts look very unsafe so I thought why not use the car itself since I only change the car's fluids mainly. So I searched and found out about Blitz USA. Nope not the Blitz Japan with all the racing stuff. Blitz USA specializes in jerry cans and other home auto repair aids.

Blitz USA site.

The things I would say best suit me or rather us would be automotive ramps and automotive chocks.

The Blitz Rhino ramp.

rramps8000.jpg

Then you need to secure the rear wheels to prevent the car from moving even if you got your parking brake on. You need the chocks.

Tire_Hugger.jpg

Looks like a nice simple solution. Now I am spying on which auto discount store in the US can get it cheaply and ship it here. If I want to really spend, I will get the Blitz oil drain pan.

6qtoil.jpg

Now we are rocking! sly.gif

rhino ramps are pretty nice. using them now. not too sure you need the wheel chocks.my oil pan is a simple tub with a spout.