Mercuri Neutral Newbie February 6, 2006 Share February 6, 2006 An orbiter does not spin thus its speed is not measured in RPM, instead its OPM. Hi Garlic, I have an old Black and Decker DA polisher(i think). It oscillate and spin. Has a fixed rated 10K OPM. Any idea what this opm will translate to in terms of rpm? I managed to retrofit it from a fix speed to one that can be variable speed. But do not know what speed to use when polishing and when finishing? I believed your is the bosch GEX 270? what is the rated speed and what is the typical speed you use for both operations? Impressive work on all your cars! Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear February 7, 2006 Author Share February 7, 2006 Hello Mercuri, Yes, I'm using a BOSCH GEX270AE and its speed is between 7500-12000opm. I'm usually set the dial to 5 for polishing and 4 when applying my LSP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Defelio Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 Garlic, may i ask what is LSP? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steelblue Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 LSP = Last Step Product = Wax / Sealant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Defelio Neutral Newbie February 7, 2006 Share February 7, 2006 Thanks thanks. Is there a guide to all this abbreviations? I starting to pick up only.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear February 8, 2006 Share February 8, 2006 The GEX270AE uses a 3 pin plug and draws power from the mains. Was told by Hypercoat they will be bringing in a new range of cordless random orbiters very soon. Any idea is the cordless random orbitors here yet? And if so, any feedback? Keen to try using machine to polish/sealant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey02 Clutched March 11, 2006 Share March 11, 2006 Hi bro, so how to u find the GEX270AE so far? is it good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear March 11, 2006 Share March 11, 2006 i bought mine 2 wk ago use 2x so far not bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmatrix Neutral Newbie March 11, 2006 Share March 11, 2006 maybe we should organise a group buy for the 270ae?? Since so many ppl are gonna get this random orbit polisher, we might as well get together and ask for more discount.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey02 Clutched March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 i FINALLY managed to find one at home-fix. haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valjean Neutral Newbie March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 Cordless polisher will be great for those of us without a power supply. I guess the concern will be whether a battery-operated one will have enough power for polishing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 Good idea. Any lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_bon Neutral Newbie March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 Dun think the cordless type can work... you'll need to work on your car for hours... dun think the batt can last so long... no choice lor...have to find some ways to get electricity... i know of some pal who "borrow" MSCP electricity! hmmm..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmatrix Neutral Newbie March 12, 2006 Share March 12, 2006 Nope, I'm just a normal customer waiting for offers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ekae05 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2006 Share May 14, 2006 just got my 270 but find it very noisy. Anyone got this issue too? Or is it just me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey02 Clutched May 14, 2006 Share May 14, 2006 i find the noise quite acceptable larr but the neighbours in the estate keep looking at what's causing the racket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 14, 2006 Share May 14, 2006 daytime ok nite time..a bit noisy my cat keep peering out of window wondering wat going on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ekae05 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2006 Share May 14, 2006 my relatives living on the 4th floor can hear my DA rotating away.... they thought it was the monthly mosquitoe fumigation... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...