Sweeny's new IDEA

Tommi28

Aveo doesn't quite match up to its Italian counterparts

You telling me dude... first moment I step into TTS... phoawaaa... kena poisoned man.. [sweatdrop]

There is something about Ital-design that is enigmatic and irresistible. Even my wife got hooked on the class and presence of the IDEA...

Tot when stressed from driving u take a swish from the bottle ... [laugh]

u mean that bottle is always in ur car ?

No lah.... I was on a way to a house function, so brought it along. The pix of me driving the car was snapped by my 4-year old seating in the middle seat (car seat of course) and secured with the 3-point belt.

Hi guys,

This is my first report I posted on the Fiatitude Forum, reproduced here for everyone's reading pleasure. Will post the second one and then so on when they are written...

You can read the forum here.. http://s13.invisionfree.com/Club_Fiatitude/index.php?act=idx

Initially collected, my IDEA had 15km on the odometer. Driving off on Thursday night, had to refuel as there was only fumes left in the car. Stuck to auto as I was trying to figure out the handling. Turned on the lights, realised that it was very good, there were no spots in front without any lighting, so technically, the fog lamps are not necessary.

Pumped 40L of RON95 and drove (slowly) home. I tried to vary the speed, slow at about 40, then up to 80 but not above 90km/h. Smelling the new car was mmm... drove up the MSCP, chose a single lot, reversed (slowly) and left the car alone... Friday drove it to meet up of course,(Fiatitude's first meetup) still on auto... Realised the car has a blindspot that I need to be careful of, not helped by the smallish rear-view mirror. Now I cannot see the carpark lot lines when reversing.

The space inside reconfirmed my decision to take the IDEA. It is great, the front seat spaces are excellent, broader than even the matrix, good view ahead and good view to sides due to high ride position but have to be careful about A pillar due to its thickness. Seats are supportive, driver handrest useful. All instruments are clearly laid out and easy on the eyes. RPM meter on right, speedo on left. Multi-function display (MFD) easy to read too. Couldn't help but fiddle with the modes, switching between average consumption and instant consumption etc.

Ride is very quiet, certaintly the function of the new tyres and soundproofing. Brakes are still spongy as they have not been bedded properly. Driven gently, the NVH is negligible. But I opened her up on Saturday, but more on that later.

The 'E' mode makes the car jerky as the gears shifts up very quickly. So, for the time being, I decided to switch it off. Overall, I think the IDEA has vindicated my choice, despite its rather hefty price tag, the Italians DO REALLY have flair, something not commonly found in the clinical sushis and kimchis.

Ok, will post some more when I wipe the grin off my face....

Edited by Sweeney

trust me, no car is like this.

Bro... your words are spot-on! I have been suffering withdrawal symptoms since Monday, since my day-job does not give me the opportunity to drive, and I am home too late in the evenings to take my Italian [gorgeous] for a spin.... [smallcry] But tonight... ah ha... tonight.. tonight.... [inlove][inlove]

haha, im in the same nite and weekend situation as u. gd thing is bcos i drive a few days once, everytime i get into the car, it feels new. and if im on leave, i drive more. glad ure having fun with yr idea. its fun, versatile and def unique.

Thanks dude... enjoying every moment in the car... this evening had time to bring her out for a spin... even my small one says when we can go for spin! [laugh]

Is that a bottle of wine I see beneath the centre armrest ?? [jawdrop]

[laugh] i thought i saw that too..... it's a celebration to have a new car..... dun drink and drive arh.... [;)]

hey there, this is your WISP student here, anyway graduated from NP liaoz, now awaiting for enlistment.

congrats about ur new car there, was wondering why do u choose OPC, is it u awlays reach sch b4 7 and leave after 7?

or u park ur car at home and take public transport to work..so curious.

Edited by Ahdi

Thanks dude... enjoying every moment in the car... this evening had time to bring her out for a spin... even my small one says when we can go for spin! laugh.gif

must wait after 7pm...sweatdrop.gif

Yo. pm me your name lah at least... [;)]

No lah... changed job liao... now working in town, so no need drive car to work. Everyday take train, so buy OPC lor... use on some nights and on weekends.

Thanks dude... buy car in SG is always losing $ one.. but at least now can say I drive Italian passion.... this one cannot count $ & cts one...