Merz W210 Overheats

Gilahonda

Hallo Bros,need advice actually.My dad's W210 overheated during the public hols and now at agent's workshop in UBI.Stuck at 2nd link bridge and had to be towed to agent.Now agent asking for $6000 just to do repairs.Sigh!we had the car for 10 years skali now this has had to happen!At first they ask for $3000 just to change the cooling system (radiator)of the car from top to bottom then this evening call again have to top up another $3000 bcos have to change other parts due to car engine dying every now and then.I have a feeling that its bcos my dad told them to fix the radiator and not to change other parts since he wants to do it at a frens workshop.....now kena charge even more!Any1 can advise or have contacts in C&C UBI that can help me on this?they even advise to do top overhaul previously....total bill came up to $10k???sighhhhhhhhh.to think that its just radiator leaking due to overheating.pls advise.......

overheating can cause serious engine damage...

if that is the case,then the cost of repair will be alot...esp Benzy....

maybe send to outside workshop loh...shd be cheaper...

hmmm, this should not be the old overheating problems with conti cars liao. anyway, since after 10 yrs, maybe radiator due to change liao lar. how about trying the caltex at dunearn rd, before the mobil at newton. i used to bring my old merc W123 there for servicing. they specialise in mercedes' i think.

yeah,have decided to tow it back to jb since we stay there and sent it to our own mechanic.but still the bill have reached $3000+..aiyoh!!!!!!!

no,i meant C&C ubi oredi kapoh $3000SGD for the radiator change.now,they claim engine always die after the change....dunno why???have to add another $3000 if wanna repair and total cost will be $10k if overhaul also.so tomolow i tink betta head down and tow the beloved car out from the s**t hole.lucky thing,my dad AA member so towing no prob,i tink.......

ouch...

conti cars that overheat... the agent will take out the top cover of the engine and check piston dimensions etc etc etc... happened to me before... old car too... but they said have to do... painful financial lesson though that time...

C&C ar....my dad air con compressor cost $2600 jus for a change. believe workshop outside cost h alf the price...

Anyone know of a good workshop that specialised in Mercedes-Benz servicing?

I don't think I will go back to C&C for regular maintenance in the long term when warranty expires.

latest update.....guess wat?on wed.we made an impromtu visit at the agent and met the service advisor since he said that the car wont start and need to change other parts.(he was very surprised to meet us unexpectedly)......big bluff!!!!!!ask him to start,the car started like it always did ...only thing engine missfire so abit of vibrating during the first 2-3 mins.straight away,told him that we want our car back.my dad dun even have any probs.in driving it to jb after that.engine did not die and no stalling at all unlike wat the service advisor said.lucky thing,they provided free car wash if not i wud bang table.

now the car in jb workshop wif our reliable mechanic.....his shop is dedicated to repairing and serving conti cars esp.merz.....we are able to rest easy for now... [sweatdrop]....hoping no need to overhaul [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

In US the independent shops are pressing the goverment to pass law to prevent car manufacurers and agents from within holding service ,repair information and ssles of specialty dignostic tools. Without such law, independent shops will never ever be able to be competent in thier service and repair skills. Without the right information, tools and skills they can hardly compete with the agents who will continue to take advatage of the situation to burnt big holes in customers pockets so that they can ensure thier three meals will be service with iron rice bowls !!