Phalanx Neutral Newbie November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 ok..other than the 3's looks, i never really tot highly abt it. the 6 would be a different story though. guess for me, the astra is a no-brainer. wen i see it on the road, it has a pretty striking presence. i know opels WERE known to be boring, but things have been abit more exciting of late. the only reason i didnt get it was bcos i was poisoned by the serpent. but an astra anyday compared to a focus for me. The poisonous venom of the serpent more damaging leh. Still in my blood, just being recessive now...I wonder when it becomes active again. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 But you didn't tell him that he will go home with 4.5L of shell in his car boot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 Oops, miss that 1st line. Maybe she's selling you the current stock. New shipment will be downspec. As for mod, we prefer to keep it stocked due to warranty issue. Conti cars are different from Japz cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phalanx Neutral Newbie November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 Have yet to encounter that mah heheheh. Will see what happens when I bring my own oil again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phalanx Neutral Newbie November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 Just like I wonder why we can't purchase mod parts through them from OPC hah. Or at least, sell us the projector headlights lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 When is your next servicing? Me still at 2.5k only.. still long way to go and I think they are very strict on "bring your own" now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phalanx Neutral Newbie November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 My mileage just hit 10200 km. Next servicing at 20000 km as the first round I will follow the 15K interval. Subsequently after 20K, every 10K I will service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 I think our headlight is quite powerful liao, those in front of me at the convoy were complaining liao and my fog light is not even on yet. I'm more keen on the adaptive headlight leh... As for going to AE, i think we bring it in directly would be easier.., Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 So when did you have your 1st servicing? Since I assume you didn't do it at 10k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 Hey sony, would you be able to enlighten me on what the twinport is all about?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 yes.... astra 1.6 is a manual car.... even in its 'auto' mode, you need to release the accelerator to change gear. It does take a bit of getting use to...... hmmz... i didn't realise the easytronic had changed so much. in my mom's corsa other than moving off on a slope/incline, it was exactly the same as every other auto car i've driven. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 Any1 tried the astra 1.8l yet ? *Raise hand* i did, its not a bad car... seems better than the last astra in terms of ride comfort, and looks a lot better both on the inside and the outside. It also seems slower than the last astra (note: i'm in melb and i drove the manual version of both cars. 1.8 is the smallest of the astra range now and the only one in the previous astra). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 Hi Elfenstar, I think this article explain it better than using my own words. Cheers Opel's new Astra features the latest in engine technology from the German manufacturer. Called "Twinport", this latest development is used for the first time in the ECOTEC 1.6-litre engine. Intelligent variable valve timing and a high proportion of exhaust gas recirculation are at the heart of the technology. By varying the timing of the inlet camshaft and recirculating exhaust gasses, Opel engineers achieved a six percent fuel saving over the previous-generation ECOTEC engine. Detailed work achieved a further one percent reduction in fuel consumption. This engine meets the strict Euro 4 emission standard, and offers a substantial improvement in fuel economy. With the Twinport system, the ECOTEC 1.6 engine receives up to 25 percent of its cylinder charge from previously burnt exhaust gas, which is routed through a link to the exhaust manifold. By doing this induction losses under part load are significantly reduced as the engine does not have to work as hard to charge the cylinders on the intake stroke. The advanced design of the intake ports, there are two per cylinder as the name "Twinport" suggests, allows efficient combustion of a very lean mixture. Under part load one of the two ports is closed by a flap valve to ensure a high level of combustion chamber swirl and efficient mixing of the fuel/air mixture for complete and reliable combustion. Along with the new technology comes a host of detail changes to the engine 1.6 ECOTEC engine design. The design of the engine block has been optimised in terms of weight and vibration, and the valve gear is now smoother and has reduced friction losses. Auxiliary items such as the water pump have been relocated for easier engine assembly and enhanced overall quality in this new era engine that represents state-of-the-art technology in its class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 The release of accelerator is to prevent the jerk or "pull back" effect caused by the clutch. It's more like manual than an auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 It begs the question ; why doesn't the 1.8l have twinport if it's so good ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 I think only GM have the answer but hear say hear say that it will be having that technology in the 1.8L soon. As for why it doesn't have it in 1.8 at the same time as 1.6, I think most car maker like to take a step at a time. Like the previous generation of Mit Lancer MR, it comes with Mivec, the others in Mit range don't have, but slowly, it appear in the Galant and now, the Colt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phalanx Neutral Newbie November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 So when did you have your 1st servicing? Since I assume you didn't do it at 10k. Servicing done at 5K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 (edited) Interesting about the amount of gases the EGR uses... shows that the car is meant for economy rather than power (On the SR20DET, i've pulled off the EGR system and the power gains were instantly noticeable). The advanced design of the intake ports, there are two per cylinder as the name "Twinport" suggests, allows efficient combustion of a very lean mixture. Under part load one of the two ports is closed by a flap valve to ensure a high level of combustion chamber swirl and efficient mixing of the fuel/air mixture for complete and reliable combustion Advanced design??? Perhaps but they're about 20 years too late... toyota's 20 valve 4AGE has used this system since 1986 (or was it a lil later... def before nissan though), and so has nissan in its CA18DE and DET (88 onwards) and RB (89 onwards)series of engines. I;m not sure what/how opel considers part load, but both nissan and toyota used it when the vaccum was low (or before boost for the TC nissans) to generate more low down torque, thereafter they opended at higher pressure levels to allow a more sufficient flow for high end power needs. As for the jerk bit... it was only slightly noticeable from first to 2nd in my moms car and afterthat i never felt it... or maybe coz of all the "sport" conti cars my fam has owned that made me immune??? Edited November 3, 2005 by Elfenstar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...