Nine_eleven 2nd Gear October 31, 2005 Author Share October 31, 2005 i bought my stuff liao! one box of Aerotape @ $6.50 and a sheet of Superlon 3/8" thick, ard 3X4 feet @ $8 from Asiatic Refrigeration at Owen Road will see when got time to cut and stick onto the airbox... the lady there damn funny... walk in only she know wat i'm looking for... seems alot of guys have been there liao... hahah she say:" see your dressing, so young, your 'pattern' sure come here and buy insulating sheet one!" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear November 1, 2005 Share November 1, 2005 No more worrying the petrol needle drop very fast when driving during hot weather. Goes very well with my LRF. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear November 1, 2005 Share November 1, 2005 (edited) Happy DIYing, and remember to post some pictures for use to see. The above pictures are for Stage 01 of my Heat Shield Project. Pictures for Stage 02 coming up later. Cheers Edited November 1, 2005 by Incom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear November 1, 2005 Author Share November 1, 2005 oki! have to set aside time to dismantle the airbox to do it... maybe thurs.... till then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear November 1, 2005 Share November 1, 2005 Ya, u need lots of time and water. I took abt 4 hours to complete the wrapping the air box. Additional 2 hours to wrap up the tube from air intake box to throttle body. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear November 1, 2005 Author Share November 1, 2005 ya... i was expecting as much lah... btw, what would be a good adhesive to use ah? aerosol type? or just 3M doubleside tape would do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear November 1, 2005 Share November 1, 2005 (edited) I am using 3M double sided tape, those dark grey material with red label one. Sticks very well for plastic materials. Stage 02 pictures below. Cheers Edited November 1, 2005 by Incom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear November 3, 2005 Author Share November 3, 2005 i managed to insulate the top half of the airbox... but for the life of me, i can't seem to detach the bottom half from the clip that holds on to the bumch of cables behind! i managed to unscrew the bottom 3 bolts holding it to the chassis, and pulled out the intake hose... i can't get the bottom half separated from the clip tho... am i being too much of an idiot?... hehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear November 3, 2005 Share November 3, 2005 Hmm, what model of car you are driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear November 3, 2005 Author Share November 3, 2005 Altis... same as urs! (even if urs is a G9 corolla) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 Oic, the clip should be quite easy to open. There are 3 screws which secure the bottom to the car body. Then u the bottom of the box abit, to release it from the air intake tube. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear November 7, 2005 Share November 7, 2005 now I know I'm not the only insane person around with neoprene all over the engine bay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Incom 1st Gear November 7, 2005 Share November 7, 2005 Hmm, you call that insane? As long as you are happy with what you have can liao. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 heat insulation is only useful if you channel your air into the combustion chamber externally. from others' experiences, it actually doesn't help much (ie you can't feel anything). no point wasting the money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear November 8, 2005 Author Share November 8, 2005 actually hor... ur quite right i opened up my airbox after driving ard int he hot day... the airbos is still hot! not only that, i think the insulation is keeping the heat in! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 then strip the damn thing out. its making it worse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear November 8, 2005 Author Share November 8, 2005 well... then i'm back to the idea of boring a hole in my bumper to let outside air in... i guess only outside air will cool the ducts and airbox better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 yeah without CAI, heat insulation is useless ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...