Galactus 1st Gear October 18, 2005 Share October 18, 2005 Hi all, need help. my aveo is running on 15inch michellin preceda sports tyres. Alsmost 10 months liao. I notice that the tyres are wearing uneveningly. The passanger side tyres are wearing out more then the driver side. Also... the noise form the tyres are driving me crazy.... :( when i fist got my car, the stock rims and tyres are not so nosiy leh... anyone can comments / help? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie October 18, 2005 Share October 18, 2005 hv u done alignment, camber check n all that stuffs? looks like u r sufffering from that. u should though and i heard that sport tyres tends to be more noisier. is ur old tyres the same model? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched October 18, 2005 Share October 18, 2005 mine also passenger wearing out faster. mech says cos always turn 1 side more and also faster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched October 18, 2005 Share October 18, 2005 confirm wheel alignment. but nv nv go back SA. it scuks... go the the shop near pxx xxxg tyres. name of shop SUNDAY etc.. computerise 1.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knight_rider Neutral Newbie October 19, 2005 Share October 19, 2005 Mine too... 'Its like that one' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie October 19, 2005 Share October 19, 2005 I had the same situation ...aligned my wheels like 5 times, balanced like 3times ...still NOISE and Uneven wear...In the end = Trashed rear wheel Bearings...changed em ...now all is sweet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched October 19, 2005 Share October 19, 2005 i went to riverview. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie October 19, 2005 Share October 19, 2005 or a cheaper solution.....rotate tyres from left to right (& vice versa). muakakaka...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galactus 1st Gear October 20, 2005 Author Share October 20, 2005 hmm... u serious hah.. change bearing can liao??? i was thinking mayb the car was not very well insulated..thus the loud road noise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 Bring it to the mechanic. He can tell whether it is bearing damage or just plain tire rolling noise. If it is tire, then you are suffering what most of the Aveo drivers have by now. The soft dampers have produced uneven tire wear and is now giving tire noises. I'm having it right now. Tire quality does play a part. Mine is a hard wearing Kumho 712. Its even noisier. Until you change the dampers, the noise will return even after you changed tires. There is still a long way to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godfinger Neutral Newbie October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 ya. The noisy sound from Tyres. Agreed that our Dampers are too soft. And any bro whom have changed their springs will have a even greater sound unless dampers are renewed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanr 1st Gear October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 please send to yr workshop for assistance,cheers!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galactus 1st Gear October 20, 2005 Author Share October 20, 2005 can explain more on the changing of dampers? i know nuts about car btw.. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 Dampers are shock absorber loh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 uncle!! my tyres can only go front to back and vice versa hor!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 tyres noise v loud....compared to my family car swift well insulated v peaceful ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 hmm... u serious hah.. change bearing can liao???i was thinking mayb the car was not very well insulated..thus the loud road noise? ======================= Normally for worn bearing u get a "wong wong wong" sound when travelling. Next time, switch off hi-fi & listen carefully. Tire hum is just that. A "Hum" sound. If u do a on-wheel balancing, it sud b much easier to hear the sound when the wheel is spinning & u stand beside the wheel. Un-even wear prob means some alignment or balancing problem. Have your tire guy check it. Let's hope it's not misaligned chassis which is quite unlikely for a new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlim Clutched October 20, 2005 Share October 20, 2005 my mechanic told me mine is uneven tire wear. But i think I having that 'wong wong' sound which comes on more prominently during uphill drive. bad bearing will have what other kind of symptoms? oh ya, sharp turns like making U-turn will have loud 'tuck tuck tuck 'sound also, mine is basically a noise machine. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...