Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 Dear all Need ur advice. Thinkg of getting a Sage coilover (used 6 months) for front and then do lowering spring for the rear. Any1 has this config? Wat r pros n cons? (In the 1st place, r there wkshps that supply new n do lowering spring for rear only). Y only the front? Bcos the seller only bot the front pair of coilover to lower his front. BTW he's selling for $250 b4 neg (new front pair cost $550 from Option) . Reason for this setup: Cost effective. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dh6211 Clutched October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 Never heard of this type of setup and since I have never ever heard of this setup, I don't think it's recommended. Just imagine your car's front damping is hard and the rear damping is soft... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 It's fine, as long as the spring rates are matched to the car (i.e. in my car its 2kgs to 3 kgs lighter for the back, for the 300zx it has to be the same....). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 But front damping can b adjusted cos it's adjustable coilover. After lowering for rear shld b harder, how come softer as u said? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 (edited) Yes, i m looking for good spring to match. But my only worry is shop only sell in full set, ie front n rear (like APex - $320 whole set for my car). In this case I hv to buy the whole set then install the rear only. The front spring can then put on shelf for display at home or put below front passenger seat (ejection seat if front passenger got me annoyed) . Any1 got lobang just install rear spring? Edited October 11, 2005 by Mitevo8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 what are you trying to do???? life is cheap nowadays huh??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 U mean this is dangerous? care to elaborate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 Quote Dear all Need ur advice. Thinkg of getting a Sage coilover (used 6 months) for front and then do lowering spring for the rear. Any1 has this config? Wat r pros n cons? (In the 1st place, r there wkshps that supply new n do lowering spring for rear only). Y only the front? Bcos the seller only bot the front pair of coilover to lower his front. BTW he's selling for $250 b4 neg (new front pair cost $550 from Option) . Reason for this setup: Cost effective. errr just stick to the norm setup (all-round springs or all-round coilovers)... such stuff no pt risking it~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 I though you found the rear springs and front coilovers already... since you havent found the springs, dun waste your time... just get a full set of springs all around. It is perfectly alright to mismatch suspension bits, as long as they are the same on the same axle. Just make sure the spring rates are matched you your car. As for damping rates, just adjust them according to how you want your car to handle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 The mismatched coilovers are drift spec. As long as they are matched to the way you want your car to handle you're perfectly fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 I prefer all round coilover, but they r too ex for me. Hence this option. In future if got cash then change the rear to coilover oso. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 The front coilover got seller liao but the rear spring i prefer to get new if possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dh6211 Clutched October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 Spring works differently from the damper. It is used to control the bounce of the car while the damper is used to absorb the bounce. You didn't mention that the coilover is adjustable. But even if it's adjustable, it's only a 4 way adjustable type. There's no way it can even be adjusted near your original front dampers settings, therefore making the front unable to co-ordinate with the rear. Your tyres contact to the ground depends a lot on the setting of the suspension. If you want to lower your car, just get progressive springs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 IC.. just wana try this config. Anyway most prob i will get another whole set progressive springs. If the above config not good, i still can change the front with the extra spring and sell away the front coilover. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 (edited) dun ever try this lo...u mus haf read this from NEC. coilover would gives ur car a v low look plus goor cornering. the lwo spring would onli gives u a low look. both haf different tension and hardness...v dangerous lidat... if u wan go for whole set coilover, arbo go for whole set lwoer spring. half half u r onli risking ur life and i doubt SAGE coilover is really that good oso..this fella has been selling it for v long and no one wans it oso Edited October 11, 2005 by Ahdi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mitevo8 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 I m comtemplating. not confirm....hence am here to ask on feasibility. tat's the wonder of forum... So it's either full springs or all round coilovers. Thx. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 (edited) dun play la....use set of same product...... unless u really keep to 80km.h on highway and dun corner at all..this setup is worst than stock i believe if u dun intend to change ur car soon, wana play and mod ur car....invest in a set of coilover. 1.2k can get u a v decent one. Edited October 11, 2005 by Ahdi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 bro.. dun buy lah... last time got ppl wanna sell me his whole set... $300 bucks only man..also 6mths old... and dun try coilover front and spring back.. sound abit dangerous ya imho... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...