Freezy 1st Gear October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 I went to Komoco today (10-10-05) to change my woodgrain central console panel for my matrix (claim warranty, because had cracks on my present central console panel). The technician fixed the panel in my presence... to my horror, in the process of doing so, he used a flat screw driver and damged my HU... he left two dents at the side of the HU, apparently he used the screw driver to pry my HU, so he can fix the panel. My HU was bought 9 days ago (the actual cost of the HU is $570)... I paid $420 after trading in my old HU... I spoke to the customer service assistant manager on the spot, he refer me to the manager of the sub-contractor who is responsible for fixing accessories. He said komoco is not liable for damages, but the contractor. My foot, my knowledge of law tells me that komoco has a duty of care, even he sub-contract the work to others! Anyway, the sub-contractor manager assessed the damages and apologised and agreed to pay $80 as settlement. I refused! I told him that he either gave me a new set or pay me $500. Nothing less, no compromise! He said he will get back to me tomorrow... Whats your opinion of this incident? I'll make sure I'll blow up this matter if they try to be funny... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stingerquek Clutched October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 Bro,I support you all the way,ask them to pay you a new set of HU or else make a fuss at their showroom or report the whole issue to CASE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear October 10, 2005 Author Share October 10, 2005 i will go all the way out if the settlement is not to my satisfaction... for the benefit to myself and others in future... a wake up call to them... not to be sloppy with their customer cars! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneshot1kill Neutral Newbie October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 (edited) walao i am surprise the assistant manager got the nerve to tell you that the contractor and not the komoco is responsible. any contractor or subcontractor that komoco hires represents komoco. its very obvious komocco pple trying to push blame n confuse u for you as consumer, it dont matter whether the sub-con, or con or wtf damage your HU... basically, u bring your car to komoco, komoco damage means komoco responsible... dont talk to the subcon- KPKB to komoco ... dont talk to the contractor, demand compensation from only 1 source - KOMOCO if cannot solve, complain to CASE la Edited October 10, 2005 by Oneshot1kill Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koren Clutched October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 get your HU replaced.. either that.. or get $500.. trade in your damaged HU.. get a much better HU.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 bang table leow!!!!! What kind of dumb explanation is that from the customer service manager... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear October 10, 2005 Author Share October 10, 2005 what damages should i seek for? please advise... $570, $500 or replace new HU? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneshot1kill Neutral Newbie October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 (edited) dont ask for $ 1st... just tell them u want the HU to be in same exact condition as when u brought it in, no more, no less Edited October 10, 2005 by Oneshot1kill Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adam251 Neutral Newbie October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 Demand from komoco cos you deal with them ... it doesn't matter whether the dealer sub-con the job to someone else ... as far as you're concern you are paying/dealing with komoco only ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ice34_y2k Neutral Newbie October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 yeah...correct... demand ur claim from Komoco, dun believe the crap they give u... they r juz trying 2 push the responsibilities. Whether who fix it, its Komoco u went and they responsible to service ur car. Any further damage done...of coz would goes 2 them. Like the juz completed renovation done in my company...some flaws but our planning side push 2 main con, main con push 2 sub con, then further pushing... problem haben settle for 2 mths... Tell Komoco...u'll go 2 NewPaper n CASE if no one is giving u a satisfying compensation. Can assure u dat they dare nt play play due 2 the high competition nw.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chimp Clutched October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 I agree with bros here. One thing needs to be clear - You should only deal with Komoco. Whatever the sub-contractor did is between Komoco and them only. - You should ask to talk directly to the customer service manager or whoever that assistant manager's boss is. - Your objective should be to get the HU back to its orginal condition. You should not be talking about money or compensation. Just ask them to get the damaged unit fix. Hearing from the damage that you have described. Komoco might only need to replace the HU face plate if they can get the parts from your HU distributor. At the end, once they fix the problem, you should demand an apologies from Komoco. I hope you can get this resolve quickly but I would suggest to give them a little time to fixing this problem. I would not suggest threatening them of going to the newspaper. The corporate wheel sometimes take a while to get moving as long as you get to the right people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear October 10, 2005 Author Share October 10, 2005 the faceplate cannot be detacted from the set... it comes as one whole unit... its time consuming and petrol consuming for me to travel up and down... i have yet to factor that into the compensation... bros, you are right, have to speak to komoco instead, why should i have to deal with contractors... komoco shuld deal with me directly and they can deal with their contractors later... why komoco has to put me to all these hassel... pushing responsibilties yes, whatever the compensation is, the HU should be made to be its original brand new condition, nothing more and nothing less... you know what, the sub-contractor still have the cheek to suggest putting 'putty' to touch up the HU bro, cosmetics defect HU can trade-in a not? or the HU is now zero-value? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ltcy Clutched October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 I went to Komoco today (10-10-05) to change my woodgrain central console panel for my matrix (claim warranty, because had cracks on my present central console panel). The technician fixed the panel in my presence... to my horror, in the process of doing so, he used a flat screw driver and damged my HU... he left two dents at the side of the HU, apparently he used the screw driver to pry my HU, so he can fix the panel. My HU was bought 9 days ago (the actual cost of the HU is $570)... I paid $420 after trading in my old HU... I spoke to the customer service assistant manager on the spot, he refer me to the manager of the sub-contractor who is responsible for fixing accessories. He said komoco is not liable for damages, but the contractor. My foot, my knowledge of law tells me that komoco has a duty of care, even he sub-contract the work to others! Anyway, the sub-contractor manager assessed the damages and apologised and agreed to pay $80 as settlement. I refused! I told him that he either gave me a new set or pay me $500. Nothing less, no compromise! He said he will get back to me tomorrow... Whats your opinion of this incident? I'll make sure I'll blow up this matter if they try to be funny... Write in to the forum and complain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 Any chance of taking a photo of the damage portion and show us so that we can better advise you on what other sort of remedy you can take if this case drag on further. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
K2000 Neutral Newbie October 10, 2005 Share October 10, 2005 what model of pioneer is that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear October 11, 2005 Author Share October 11, 2005 (edited) the model is FH-P4200MP i will charge up my digicam to take a snapshot of the damage today... but the damage is some dents and scratches at the left hand side (the surrounding frame) Edited October 11, 2005 by Freezy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 (edited) I fully agree with 1shot1kill. Komoco is responsible. Who cares who they used. Your point of contact for service is with Komoco. They are ultimately responsible. You should only accept a replacement to retify your HU. Either replacing the whole unit or the faceplate itself (assuming only faceplate damage) If monetary compensation is given, Please make sure you have these covered. 1) $ to buy the same HU (show receipt) 2) $ for installation 3) Goodwill $ for the inconvienence to get it installed. (time, parking and petrol) Personally, I wouldn't push them all the way (only replacement) if they say they are responsible rightaway. But since they don't know what is customer service, it will cost them to learn. make sure if they give you $500, they don't take the damage HU away, how are you going to buy an exact model with no trade in. Edited October 11, 2005 by Osiris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
K2000 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2005 Share October 11, 2005 if only some physical damage and the HU is ok, better take $500, can sell the damage one instead.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...