Nightfalls Neutral Newbie December 4, 2005 Share December 4, 2005 bro...distance between your car and the one in front is 10car length..n travlled at less than 70kph..... it's no longer a problem with the tire...maybe you would like to check your brakes but still...firenza is very basic..used it b4 n will never buy anohter set again anymore...i tried hankok blackbird...not bad for the price paid...definitely better than firenza in my own opinion.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 4, 2005 Share December 4, 2005 Its not my brake, its the tyre that just cant grip.... it just like "skating" on the road. I'musing 195/60 R15 Firenza ST05. If you wan, I can sell it cheap cheap to u. $40/tyre u want? just 2 weeks old, less than 1K km.... treat left at least 99.9% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic December 6, 2005 Author Share December 6, 2005 Bro, Noted. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robertoon Neutral Newbie December 6, 2005 Share December 6, 2005 Firenza is a house brand and you can see they are manufacture from different factory. The quality will be inconsistence due to different factory with differnt technology of producing and rubber compound use...so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear December 6, 2005 Share December 6, 2005 agree with ya...Im also using Firenza ST03.....now coming to 10K liao.....darn noisy .... & wifey is wondering how come car getting noiser by the days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F2006 Neutral Newbie December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 From my understanding, Firenza ST-05 and Apollo Azmaze are two budget tyres sold by Tyrehub (subsidary of Stamford tyres). Firenza from Indonesia & Apollo from india. There is another budget tyre called AMTEL Planet (made in Russia.. fierce man..) from Tyrehub. When to Tyrehub that day and was told by the mechanic that this is the best among all 3. Anyone care to comment on this tyre? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 Just changed from the stock Bridgestones B391 175/65/R14 to Firenza ST-03 195/50/R15. The lower profile and wider tread increases noise noticeably though I must add the B391s are extremely quiet. There is a marked improvement in terms of grip and stability, partly due to the change in tyre profile as well as. Surprisingly the ride did not suffer, in fact was less bumpy than the Bridgestones which was surprising given its '65 profile. There is very good steering feel. I felt more confident going around bends, in the wet and dry. The Firenzas for the profile I used are among the cheapest Japanese made tyres you can find. Good value. Unknown factors - wear rate and I suspect in the long term, may experience increase noise as the tyres get worn. Have not experienced any performance tyres to place it in proper perspective but this is one tyre that is good value for under $100 each. Will I buy this tyre again. Hmmm... perhaps. But then again! My 2 cts worth! That is a huge upgrade in tyre width. Is your car a Toyota Vios? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 dun get firenza ST-05 damn lousy especially in wet condition.... Ibang a BMW back side while driving at 60km/hr..... distance around 7~10 cars away.... tyre simply cant grip.... My friend got same problem with ST05 - he kissed a 323 ass as his Lancer GDI with ABS could not brake in time, on wet road, speed below 40km/h. he said his car just glided forward - practically no grip at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 Amtel Planet thread is good for wet weather. Apollo Amazer thread bears very close resemblence to Michelin MXV3A Pilot - Michelin has a 51% Stake in Apollo, so does Temasek Holdings, but a smaller stake. Based on this alone, I would go for Apollo, but I have not used either tyres before. Any coments? Which Tyre Hub outlet did you go to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F2006 Neutral Newbie December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 Yes indeed, Amtel Planet thread is directional and looks good for wet weather which is my main concern. Was on my Dunlop LM702 and had a close moment last week when i skid across a traffic junction on rainy day, lucky no car infront of me... so for me, i would go for Amtel instead of Apollo. Went to the Thomson branch but they only have Amtel as they say it's the better one, might want to try 2 front first. Anyway, at $50 per piece, it's really value for money lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 Go to the Balestier branch. It has a wider range - Amtel, Apollo, Firenza, Falken and many more. The Thomson br carries only Amtel, of course they will say Amtel is better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 Skidded? Does your car have ABS? What speed were you tavelling? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 Chk out the no of plys too. Amtel has 4 ply - 2 polyester, 1 nylon and 1 steel Firenza has 3 ply (confirmed, I saw it), but not sure about Apollo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 Nope, Honda City Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F2006 Neutral Newbie December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 No ABS lei.. i driving a Opel Combo at about 70-80kpm and braking for a traffic light. But i think even with ABS also no use lor, because i only applied normal amount of brake, the wheels not even lock up, so even with ABS also will not kick in. It's just a matter of rubber sliding on wet tarmac... i think that's what people call aquaplaning. Will go over to balestier branch to see see, not much choice for my tyre size lor, only AMTEL or Apollo, cos Firenza out of the question liao, don't wish to do stunt again lor.. haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F2006 Neutral Newbie December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 How to see? look at the tyre's cross section? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear December 11, 2005 Share December 11, 2005 rubber sliding on wet tarmac... i think that's what people call aquaplaning. Technically speaking, lousy wet grip and aquaplaning are two different thing. Aquaplaning is where the tyre floats on the water due to traveling at a higher speed and the water could not be evaquated fast enough, thereby resulting in no contact with the ground. Lousy wet grip is where although the tyre is in contact with the ground, but it still doesn't grip well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 12, 2005 Share December 12, 2005 thank you for supporting me... even got TUMASICK support sum more... Greek God powderful lah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...