Firenza and Apollo Tyres

Fitvip

Just changed from the stock Bridgestones B391 175/65/R14 to Firenza ST-03 195/50/R15. The lower profile and wider tread increases noise noticeably though I must add the B391s are extremely quiet. There is a marked improvement in terms of grip and stability, partly due to the change in tyre profile as well as. Surprisingly the ride did not suffer, in fact was less bumpy than the Bridgestones which was surprising given its '65 profile. There is very good steering feel. I felt more confident going around bends, in the wet and dry. The Firenzas for the profile I used are among the cheapest Japanese made tyres you can find. Good value. Unknown factors - wear rate and I suspect in the long term, may experience increase noise as the tyres get worn. Have not experienced any performance tyres to place it in proper perspective but this is one tyre that is good value for under $100 each. Will I buy this tyre again. Hmmm... perhaps. But then again!

My 2 cts worth!

How much for 195/50 R15 Firenza?

I know Kumho and Hankook tyre have silica compound in them, and for the same tyre size, Hankook is available around +/- $75 each. sly.gif

share of this firenza....

noisy..after 10-15000 km....when u talked over the hp..the other party wil asked you"are you at the beach? why is it so windy over your side?"

grip.....when it new still reasonable for the price paid...after the same 10-15000km...raining days onyl slightly better the Yoko aspec db....only slightly better

will not use it again..

aiya.. u Hear the name Apollo means it sounds good lor. got Apollo curry fishhead, Apollo shock absorbers, Apollo choco waffles, Apollo tyres and Apollo condom.

Good lah... mai tu liaoz.

[laugh][laugh]

Hahaha, intereting. Are you referring to thee Apollo in MCF? [laugh] Wonder space shuttle use that for the moon or not?!

Edited by Fitvip

Ya, heard that too. Heard it has falken compound. Don't know it is true or not?

I believe Falken tyre, example ZIEX 512 and ST115 have better material, both having silica compound in them. nod.gif

Anyone care to comment on the 2 Tyres? Any review?

Thanks.

Firenza aquaplanes badly. U wont trust them on a wet day.

They also are noisy when worn. No silica compond at all.

I swapped to Hankook Ventus K104 and the differece was night and day.

Bear in mind I am also a sucker for cheapo tyres.

How much for 195/50 R15 Firenza?

I know Kumho and Hankook tyre have silica compound in them, and for the same tyre size, Hankook is available around +/- $75 each. sly.gif

Shd be around the same price.

Thanks Bro for the input. Now Hang Cheng not good, every $ counts. But must get reasonably good rubber lah!

dun get firenza ST-05 damn lousy especially in wet condition.... Ibang a BMW back side while driving at 60km/hr..... distance around 7~10 cars away.... tyre simply cant grip....

Edited by Tigershark1976