Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 Fortress & Acemundo: Thanks for all your inputs & advice. Gonna leave this thread cos it's getting rather hostile and territorial. C u guys around! Cheers!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 It is a myth that it is more expensive....In fact, in my view as I maintain and repair my own cars, Japanese is more costly due to the disposable parts....surely, if I throw away the parts, it will cost me more..moreover, you need to know where you get your parts and it will be cheap. Drove an Alfa 164 for 3 years on it 7th year, spent only S$250 on parts,of course, the mechanics quoted me S$3000 or more for them. They usualy like to project that perception, like what you have rightly said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 Thanks to Sweeney too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Where disc brakes have an advantage over drums is that the rotor is exposed to air and therefore cooled more easily. They do not fade as badly as drum brakes under continued braking. However, since 60 to 90 percent of the car's stopping power comes from the front brake, drum brakes in the rear would be more than adequate for normal cars. Performance cars would come with all round disc brakes for uncompromised braking performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 yup, that's what i read before too. i was kind of surprised when fortress said it is about the same but of course it could have been he was just referring to the rear wheels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2K_83 1st Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 (edited) The only difference I see between disc brakes and drum brakes on normal saloon cars is that disc brakes are more dirty hahaha performance-wise, I dun feel any difference between a Mz3 with all-disc and a Mz3 with 2-disc... Guess it applies more on more powerful cars Edited September 23, 2005 by W2K_83 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 you mean for cars with Front Disc and Rear Drums, when you brake, the rear Drums is activated meh?? I always tot only the front discs are working! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2K_83 1st Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 foot-brakes will activate all the 4 brakes one ma... if not mite as well dun want any brakes for the rear wheels hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Yep.. all 4 brakes are activated. It's only when you use the handbrake that only the rear brakes are activated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 sia la...how i know.... Cos last time late at night i tried pulling hand brake hard when moving... the stopping power is like non-existent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Perhaps only when on the very limits... you might see a difference. Drums can lock up more easily ... but probably not under normal driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fluffy Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 handbrake should be rear only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2K_83 1st Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 haha actually u can think of it from another perspective, when your handbrakes are on, u still can drag your car when depressing the accelerator, but by stepping on the foot-brake, your car generally does not move Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Downtownbabe Neutral Newbie November 10, 2005 Share November 10, 2005 yah he's right good comment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jyen Neutral Newbie November 13, 2005 Share November 13, 2005 anyone knows in general when do we have to change the brake disc? By mileage or other indicators? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 16, 2005 Share November 16, 2005 i think in the end of the day, tyre contribute more in the whole braking system performance... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cklasse 1st Gear November 17, 2005 Share November 17, 2005 Ever notice big cc cars tend to have rear disc and not drum? Of course, there are some 1.6l cars today that use all disc but all disc on 2l and above points to the fact that the faster your car can go, the more braking power you need to stop. My conclusion is, disc has better stopping power than drum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manfred_sg Neutral Newbie November 22, 2005 Share November 22, 2005 Not only faster car, bigger and heavy car too nee 4 disc. I think something to do with balancing or inertia thing when doing E-brake. Normal light Jap 1.6 or lower with ABS is more than enough with 2 disc. Braking power comes from the front disk, drum is only dragging to reduce the push force ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...