Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Hi all, Wondering if anyone can help me? Would like to know the diff betw disc brakes and drum brakes. Thinking of changing the rear drum brakes on my ride to disc brakes. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Difference between them is disc brake is more chia as compared to brake drums and it makes the outlook of your ride nicer especially with 16' - 18' rims However, heard that if the conversion from brake drum to disc brake is not done properly it will affect your ABS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 Thanks for the advice. Any recommendations 4 good workshop where i can do the change? what will be my damage $$ ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Pai seh, i got no lobang for this hence can't help you much Think be prepared to pay at least 800 bucks for it man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 No worries. $$ should be no problem lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Frankly, I prefer drums over disc, it is more practical and easier to maintain, contrary to many said otherwise. Drums have been superseded by Disc is because of the manufacturer cost and ease of making it. In term of strength, at least for a NORMAL sedan, they give similar braking power but cheaper maintenance cost and easier maintenance. There are better way to spend your money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 erhh? same braking power? i read around seems like more pple say brake disc better braking power leh? so who's right? but the lower cost of maintenance argument is definitely true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 What abt the weight? Won't disc brakes make your ride lighter? Or is the diff marginal? Anyone has the answer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 huh? i think another few hundred grams should be considered minute for a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 btw, if you can't start any threads yet, please don't spam other threads with irrelevant questions. If needed, contribute first. There is a reason for the rule... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 (edited) You might be probably right....I did cap the word normal sedan...Both use the the same method of stopping, yes, disc is probably cheaper to make, needs more maintenance(pads and rotor disc, good for manufacturer), lighter, looks better (good for superficial), it is a choice...my choice is drum...cheap and easy to maintain. Have a look at the below mentioned, might clarify a little on your question http://auto.howstuffworks.com/drum-brake3.htm Edited September 23, 2005 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 U r probably right! Thanks for the input, bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 btw, what's your ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 ok..but just curious why it only applies to normal sedan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Driving wifey's car, an Octavia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyfingers Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Author Share September 23, 2005 Ah, Continental car... That may explain why u prefer drum brakes. Parts expensive? Or hard to get? Just wondering... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Beats me...it got to do with the Japanese, who does good marketing on their cars. It has been a misconception but the esthetic is good for 4 disc then 2 drums. Imagine buying a fancy car, which is not fancy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sweeney 4th Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 Hi all, Wondering if anyone can help me? Would like to know the diff betw disc brakes and drum brakes. Thinking of changing the rear drum brakes on my ride to disc brakes. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Drum brakes are older tech- cheaper to make and maintain. Main disadvantage is brake fade when hot. Disc brakes resists brake fade better, have better stopping power. Looks dept: no fight disc wins hands-down. But frankly for our normal cars, front-disc rear drums are more than sufficient at the speeds we do around SG. Hope that helps. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...