Stary Turbocharged September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 I spent 4 hours detailing my car last night. Started with clay bar and the after effect is so unreal. Pardon me, but this is the first time doing it. The surface is so bloody smooth, I swear I want to touch my car more than my gf's skin.... But I find it hard to remove swirl marks....there seems to be plenty of these marks everywhere. How do I get rid of them? I have did the polishes, waxes, they are still there. And then Sratch X. I use this and nearly got a shock. The direction says wait till it dry then wipe it off. When it is finally dry, some parts of it stick like dried glue......I rub and rub also can't get it off. How do you actually use this? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 how bad is ur swril mark? i use turtlewax SMR, can help to remove ard 70% of those spiderweb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 (edited) The following thread should give you a pretty good idea how to remove swirl with ScratchX by hand but be prepare to . http://meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthrea...=&threadid=7011 Edited September 7, 2005 by Gen2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged September 7, 2005 Author Share September 7, 2005 damn....the thread says "no need to wait until it is dry", but the directions on the Scratch X bottle say wait until it dries.... PLEASE DON'T WAIT UNTIL IT DRIES. That bloody thing sticks like glue when it dries and u see dried patches that cannot be removed. I have to use lots of water to rub it off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged September 7, 2005 Author Share September 7, 2005 Bro, any better method to remove swirl?. i really dun want to use Scratch X to remove swirl because it is gonna take ages. I saw your work inhuman work on the other thread. what did u use to remove swirls? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 I would not recommand to use hand to remove swirl, it will take ages to get it done and not to mention planty of . In the process you might induce more scratches like the way you try to remove ScratchX if it is not applied properly. If you really keen in detailing than my advice is get a proper machine like Bosch GEX 270AE, a DA machine. You will find swirl remover a much easier job as compare to using hand. But a word of cautious, getting the DA machine is not the end of the story, you will need to get the appropriate pads, compound and polish to go along. If you still prefer to use hand than I think you should look for products that help you to hide the swirl and by doing regular maintainance, the swirls should be well cover up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steelblue Neutral Newbie September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 scratch X for spot swirl remover, not for the whole car..you need a machine for effective polishing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlim Clutched September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 yo bro Gen2, roughly how much are we talking abt with the DA machine, the pads and lotion for polishing, waxing, buffing? not scared of trying machine, only trouble is finding a place with power supply. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 I agree...... if only MSCP oso have a power point (pay 2 use). My elbow grease kinda dry up liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 The DA machine should cost you around $150 (I think so), the pads + compound + polish should be around $180 (minimum requirement) and not to forget good quality MF cloth and the wax or sealant you want to use. So for a basic start off, be ready to put aside roughly $500 for you to play around with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged September 7, 2005 Author Share September 7, 2005 for $500, might as well send it to the professionals right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged September 7, 2005 Author Share September 7, 2005 Yesterday did 4 hours for 4 layers.......dun say elbow grease dried up, think any water in my body also dried up. Lucky I never faint in front of my car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 But the difference is you get to use the tools over and over again, but as I said you have to be interested in detailing before you even consider buying them, otherwise after using a few times landed up in the store room liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey02 Clutched September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 ok, the machine costs $150. then where to buy the pads etc etc. like for example, i buy the machine, the pads can i continue to use products like SRP or must buy special products? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jlim Clutched September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 agree totally. only problem for me is time, got to juggle job, family, part-time study really no time for second wife (car) sometimes. even had to wash and wax in the night kaoz those equipment not beli the cheap,got to KIV liao, see year-end-bonus how good. heh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged September 7, 2005 Author Share September 7, 2005 talking about night, I wax until 2 am last night......even the security guard thought I was crazy.... then this morning, saw a lot of places never buff properly. At night cannot see clearly mah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 wats a DA machine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Randall Neutral Newbie September 7, 2005 Share September 7, 2005 i have actually use turtle wax to remove most of the scratches on my black car.... The trick is to use a DAMPed cloth and use the cream on the affected place....for me i use on the whole car...wah....shack.....but pls dont use everytime becoz in a thinned ur paint work.... Exert apporiate pressure....u aga aga lah... The best is after doing this, try to avoid swirl marks by proper washing... Actually washing is not the main culprit of marks....it is the drying with improper cloth. U have to make sure ur cloth is a bit wet... Hope this helps ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...