Eyke Supercharged August 19, 2005 Share August 19, 2005 (edited) ever wondered why there isn't a turbo+super-charged car? VW did, and they're coming out with a 1.4-litre turbocharged-supercharger Golf with 168bhp! but i guess it won't be cheaper than the already expensive 1.6 Golf... Edited August 19, 2005 by Eyke ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crv2004 Clutched August 19, 2005 Share August 19, 2005 YUP YOU ARE RIGHT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie August 19, 2005 Share August 19, 2005 at least save abit on road tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sillycar Neutral Newbie August 19, 2005 Share August 19, 2005 But not on insurance lor.. Insurance will be damn ex for TC/SC engine cars!!! some more this is 2 combined Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged August 24, 2005 Author Share August 24, 2005 more details: http://www.autoweek.com/news.cms?newsId=103048 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jack_jack Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 Engine can take it or not? Sekali rev too much and explode how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 how much more expensive is a turbocharged engine compare to a normal ??? are we paying too much for the turbo ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged August 24, 2005 Author Share August 24, 2005 in some cases, yes. take for eg. the Subaru WRX, check it's OMV and selling price (at www.onemotoring.com.sg), it's profit margin is quite high... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 Normally a SC+TC is used to eliminate turbo lag right, implying a big turbo is used where lag is substantial. But the 170HP rating seems a bit on the low side if a big TC is really used leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 (edited) you can read more detail of the technology here http://www.vwvortex.com/artman/publish/vol...96.shtml?page=1 Seems like it will be available in 2006, and comes mated with DSG. "In practice, the Edited September 5, 2005 by Voxy28 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 wow, this was the one i wanted to refer others to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 yup i found it too :p and no vw is not the first. Lancia, Nissan and HKS have all done this before... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 hehe...u faster than me. anyway, i think the factual error was made by the papers, not the uk mag though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 Yeah the uk one was right... but everyone forgets about the mass produced Micra/March SuperTurbo and the aftermarket HKS setup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 hehe....can i trouble u with my ignorance again? what is HKS setup? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 Ha you never read the article i copied in the other post right HKS had the Super-turbo conversion kit for the MR2 Turbo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 (edited) paiseh paiseh thought i read the full thing. perhaps didn't register long enough in my thick head yup, just read it. Edited September 5, 2005 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear September 5, 2005 Share September 5, 2005 Thanks for the link. Chipping this will be a challenge i think. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...